Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars10
3.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2012
You'll probably buy this simply because there isn't another Malaga guidebook on the market. This is a pity, because the book is not really worth the money. It runs to just under 90 pages, but only around fifteen of them are specifically about the city of Malaga. The remaining pages comprise general background information on Andalucia (and Spain) plus a fairly superficial(and selective) 'dash' through the various towns and resorts within a (roughly) 30-mile radius of Malaga. If you wanted this, you might just as well buy one of the excellent guidebooks to Andalucia. It's also unfortunate that the book was published last year, before the opening of a major Malaga attraction: the Carmen Thyssen Museum. I never use guidebooks for restaurant and hotel recommendations (they're invariably out-of-date and often questionable) and the remaining information in this book could almost certainly have been obtained (free-of-charge) from the Internet. Footprint has a good reputation, but it puts it at risk with guidebooks like this.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2012
Handy small size book which fits in the pocket. Title is misleading as it doesn't just cover Malaga but other nearby coastal and inland locations. And if you are only visiting Malaga (very worthwhile) over 2/3 of the content isn't relevant. However, what is included about the city is helpful and concise though the one street map is pitifully inadequate; it doesn't cover anything like enough area and references in the text to places of interest can't be related to the map. Also, it lacks any suggestions for walks around the city, unlike the excellent 'Insight' guides (who don't, I think, publish a guide to Malaga) Finally, though the guide was published in 2011, there is no mention of the attractive new US style harbourside retail and restaurant development 'Muelleuno' which must have been at least under construction if not completed that year. It was heaving with promenading locals and tourists on our visit at end May 2012.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
I bought this book because it was called 'Malaga' which is where I am going. I did not expect that of 88 pages only 14 are actually about Malaga. If I had wanted a book about the Costa del Sol, I would have chosen a book called 'Costa del Sol'. To be fair, if I had read other reviews, I would have realised it was a waste of time. The only good thing anyone has to say about it is that it is small and fits in your pocket - true but in order to achieve that they have made the point size of the type so small that it is impossible to read unless you are under 20! Mine has gone in the bin!
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
I used this in a recent trip to Malaga. Ok it's not hugely in depth, but it's Malaga your going to - not Madrid or Barcelona. It did the job well. And a handy size too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2012
A pocket sized gem of a travel guide. Includes places to stay, suggests good eateries
and which sites are worth a visit. It includes a background history of Malaga and its
close environs.

Excellent choice for your backpack, handbag or beach bag. Very lightweight and easy to
handle so will not weigh you down.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
Most of the Book is about the surrounding area and there are no pictures in the book. However the only book I could find on Malaga.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
A quick browse indicated that the book would not tell me anything I did not know, but it seems fine in its class.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
Maps too small and not much on actual city of Malaga. Would not buy again. Good point is size, fits in pocket.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2012
Used this for a city break to Malaga, it was OK and I couldn't find another Malaga specific guide, but it's not brilliant. Get it if you can't find anything else, but if you have a choice, try the other one. The map was quite good, but I would have liked it to cover a bigger area. I also used the free map from the tourist office, which wasn't as good but was bigger.

I probably used Tripadvisor more, as people put useful advice on their recommendations.

Malaga is a nice city to visit, it's very pleasant and don't miss the botanical gardens, well worth the trip out.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)