Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars33
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 May 2014
I was worried when this came out. Primary Colours and Skying had pretty much cemented The Horrors as my favourite current UK guitar band. When recent single So Now You Know hit the Radio 1 daytime playlist with it's repeating synths and subtle guitars I thought that this may be Horrors-lite pop, losing the dark, psychedelic edge in order to grasp mainstream success... Thankfully I was wrong. Although Luminous probably has more in common with Skying than with Primary Colours, this band have lost none of their edge - from the 7 minute pop wig-out of I See You to the bendy Jealous Sun, this is not a band going pop, more of a band who've honed their songwriting skills and sound resulting in an album which hasn't got a bad track on it. So yeah, I'm giving it 5-stars (and being bothered to actually write a review) but I still think that The Horrors are still working towards their magnum opus. In the meantime, this will do very very nicely thanks!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
Building and continuing to improve Album to Album these guys entertain from the get go.
I found the 1st 2 albums to shrill and dark in places for my liking but there are some beautiful tracks tucked away there but
'Primary Colours' was a great album, if a little sombre, 'Skying' was an excellent album I found myself putting on repeat regularily and was an easier listen, this album has the 2 blended perfectly.
Obvious highlights and certain hits 'I see you' and 'So you know' are great tracks, but the whole album buzzes along with a certain Indie rock/80's /60's blend!
It just works.... I look forward to seeing their careers continue to bloom.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
The Horrors have really carved themselves out great career for themselves with a succession of strong & fascinating records, which continues with their slightly out of focus Indie rock offering "Luminous".
Cranking up the complexity, but with enough diversity to stop the record falling into the trap of becoming just another Drone-rock album.
Perhaps not the bands masterpiece, but not far from it, besides if you make the perfect record it's usually down hill from there on.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
The Horrors, in my view one of Britains best young bands, return with Luminous. After the brilliance of their previous album, the Shoegaze summer-like Skying, the expectation was high on my behalf. I'm happy to say that after giving the album a few run-throughs im very impressed. The hectic, psychedelic guitars of previous albums have be toned down and instead we have a lot of colourful synths and dance inspired drum patterns. This may worry some, but its actually a nice change to a more subdued and Synthpop sound.

Opener 'Chasing Shadows' has a wonderful 3 minute build before Faris Badwan's deep echoing vocals appear, and it must be said that he sounds excellent here as he appears to on every album.'In and Out of Sight' is completely different to anything the band has every done but just as good, sounding like a car crash of The Chameleons, Ultravox and French House music. 'Jealous Sun' wears its My Bloody Valentine influence proudly, whilst 'Falling Star' is the most straight-forward rocker on here and rocks just as it promises.

'First Day Of Spring' is a superb song with the catchiest tune on the album and has a great climax, the noisier 'Mind and Yours' follows a similar pattern. Both of the early releases are brilliant, 'So Now You Know' has a wonderful synth tune and a really infectious warping chorus, whilst 'I See You' is 7 minutes of building Psychedelic Dance with more catchy rhythms and another excellent climax. The slower 'Change Your Mind' is a nice change of pace, whilst the Industrial Dance closer 'Sleepwalk' is an effective way to close proceedings

So The Horrors continue to churn out exciting releases, with their third excellent album on the bounce. They have a massive amount of potential and its interesting to see where they go next.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
When The Horrors hit the music scene with their first album 'Strange House' back in 2007 I immediately dismissed them. An appearance on The Mighty Boosh did little to convince me of their status other than being hipster posers without the tunes to back it up. Fast forward to 2009 I hear 'Sea Within A Sea' playing at a record store. I immediately go up to the owner asking who the hell is this, it sounded awesome. The chap tells me it's The Horrors. I couldn't believe the improvement and from that day on I haven't doubted them. I pre-ordered 'Skying' in 2011 and was amazed with the progress and yet again in 2014 they are hitting new heights as serious music makers. These guys genuinely do put a lot of effort into their albums and they work fantastically as one piece of art which many bands struggle with today. Whether they are grinding out tunes with distorted shoe gaze guitars or a-washing us with dream pop synths every tune hits the mark. Where from here? With more experimentation, edge and focus they'll have a legacy to be proud of.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
A work should be judged on its own merits. This is, however, easier said than done for The Horrors, who since 2009's stunning Primary Colours have had an albatross around their neck as they try to ultimately move on from and better such a seminal work. This problem plagued their 2011 follow up album, Skying, which is an excellent album when looked at on its own; the issue at hand is that, when played live, out alongside tracks from Primary Colours these songs are too similar and not an improvement. There has been no sense of progression. On this knowledge, how does the five piece's fourth album, Luminous, hold up? Have they been able to finally move on from Primary Colours and step out of its shadow?

The early signs have been positive. In late February, "I See You" arrived on the scene with a groove borrowed straight out of the Donna Summer handbook; it was enough to make you wonder if The Horrors were about to unleash a full blown disco album on the world.

They haven't, but it's not far from the reality. On Luminous, The Horrors have created an album full of tracks you can dance to. This might seem surprising for a band, who are generally associated with such raging tracks as "Who Can Say?" and "New Ice Age". However it's actually the logical next step from the krautrock that characterised The Horrors' two most recent albums: krautrock is made up of pattern-based psychedelic jamming. This pattern based jamming in turn leads to repetitive grooves, which is the fundamental ingredient of music to dance to. You wouldn't have expected it from The Horrors, but in Luminous they have created several tracks, such as "In And Out Of Sight" and "First Day Of Spring" that you can dance to. It's moody dance music, but it's dance music regardless.

Elsewhere on the album, The Horrors have mellowed out and created some dreamy tracks. The majority of these tracks don't sound dissimilar from some of the tracks on Skying, but they're still a sonically majestic set that compliment the more dance based tracks perfectly. "Change Your Mind" is the strongest of these tracks and is a far cry from the mediocre garage punk of the quintet's debut album, Strange House.

The Horrors are a band that continue to surprise. You would never have expected them to go on to become treasures of the alternative UK music scene after 2007's Strange House. Then just when you think they're stuck in a rut creatively after delivering two very similar sounding albums (Primary Colours and Skying), they refine their sound and deliver a mature album that yields fresh joy with every listen.

Read more reviews like this one: http://www.drunkenwerewolf.com
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
I spotted the Horrors a while a go when they were on Jools Holland and was impressed. After they appeared again and featured some tracks off this album I thought I would take the plunge and buy it. While the influences may sometimes be obvious the sum is always much greater than the parts. I am the wrong side of 60 and I think I even heard some Syd Barratt's Pink Ffloyd and The Doors in there somewhere. A really enjoyable record which gets better with each play.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
LUSTROUS

BY ROB JONES

The Horrors Luminous album is a joyous journey full of luscious landscapes. The band has certainly developed from their early incarnation where gothic garage grooves were the route of exploration.
The current manifesto mixes beautiful arrangements wed with off-kilter electro enhanced alt. rock. The sonics bond the influences of 60’s Syd Barrett led Pink Floyd with 70’s Kraftwerk and their stamp on 80’s experimentation. Those forces then unite to head off to a faraway future.
This is progressive pop for now people and it is good to see that The Horrors are not resting on their laurels. The bands of today cannot avoid the past and without the likes of Simple Minds, Gary Numan and Ultravox this record would not be possible. However, any nods to nostalgia are utilised to break fresh boundaries amongst the younger breed. However, those older folk who admired the aforementioned aural architects will find a great deal of satisfaction from the lustre of Luminous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
The Horrors have done it again. You're never quite sure what direction they will take next but this is a great progression, bringing dreampop (shoegaze to us Brits) into the 21st century.
Definite nods to MBV, Chapterhouse, Slowdive but sounds so now with the top quality production.
Great listen start to finish
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
A welcome antidote to the dross that is to be found at every turn on popular radio or tv music channels. The highlights for me are the first four tracks and I See You which is a gem in its own right. The Horrors appear to lack mainstream popularity which is a shame as it means that many people are missing out. Looking forward to seeing the band live at the end of September.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)