Start reading Love's Hurdles on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.
OR
Read for free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

Love's Hurdles [Kindle Edition]

Emma Lee Potter
3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: £1.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for £0.00 and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

  • Length: 62 pages (estimated)
  • Prime members can borrow this book and read it on their devices with Kindle Owners Lending Library.
Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Unlimited
Kindle Unlimited
Enjoy unlimited access to over 650,000 titles and thousands of audiobooks on any device for £7.99 a month, including this one. Learn more

Book Description

Mimi Carter is the youngest member of the British showjumping team for London 2012.

Fiercely competitive and a brilliant rider, she’s desperate to win an Olympic gold medal in front of her home crowd.

But as injury threatens and an enigmatic old flame arrives back on the show jumping circuit, can she put her feelings to one side and realise her dream?

And can she win her man and a gold medal for her country - all in the same day?

This sparkling romantic novella mixes love, horses and the Olympic Games to create a story that is moving, funny and inspiring - and is sure to keep you hooked until the very last word.

It is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jane Green and Jilly Cooper.

'Love's Hurdle's' was originally published as 'Olympic Flames'.

Emma Lee-Potter is a novelist and journalist. She has written three novels, Hard Copy, Moving On and Taking Sides, and is the author of House With No Name, a blog about life, books, teenagers and France.

Her books have been widely praised.

'A pacy expose… tightly written, with snappy dialogue,’ Daily Mail

‘fast and furious,’ Daily Mirror

‘Couldn’t put it down’ Best

‘If you enjoy pace, dialogue and a glimpse of life behind the headlines, you’ll love this’ Belfast Telegraph

‘An authentic witty insight into life behind the headlines’ - Books Magazine

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading publisher of digital books.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 345 KB
  • Print Length: 62 pages
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press Ltd. (11 May 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0082M9B2Q
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #243,240 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Emma Lee-Potter spent ten years working as a hard news reporter for the Evening Standard, Sunday Express and Today before becoming a freelance journalist, book reviewer and novelist. She was a judge for the Costa First Novel Award in 2011.

She has written three novels for grown-ups - Hard Copy, Moving On and Taking Sides - and five romantic novellas, Olympic Flames, School Ties, White Christmas, Lessons in Love and Beach Combing. Her children's book, The Rise and Shine Saturday Show, was longlisted for The Times/Chicken House Children's Fiction award in 2015.

Her first three novels, Hard Copy, Moving On and Taking Sides, are all available as ebooks on Amazon.

Emma has two children and spends her spare time daydreaming about escaping to the south of France.

Read Emma's award-winning blog on life, books, films, teenagers and France at www.emmaleepotter.com or follow her on Twitter @EmmaLeePotter.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A short, very relevant romantic story 10 Aug. 2012
By Rachel
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Perfect for chick-lit lovers, Lee-Potter's `Olympic Flames' is a short but enjoyable story focusing on a romance between two Olympic competitors. As the main characters are well developed and the description is so well formed, you may feel as though you could be watching this story unfold on the big screen. A unique and heart-warming story showing a fresh perspective of the games, perfect for book lovers that want to connect with the London Olympics in their own way.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, short, lighthearted read 5 July 2012
By gj
Format:Kindle Edition
This is a good , short, lighthearted read. Perfect for getting you in the mood for the Olympics. If you like Jilly Cooper you will like this.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and fast moving read 23 May 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is a fun and fast moving read with a touching love story at the heart of it. I wasn't particularly interested in the olympics till now but it has definitely sparked my interest and I will be looking out for the show jumping
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romance at the Olympics 13 May 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
With the Olympics looming it's easy to imagine that with so many sportsmen and women in one area romance may blossom. This novella is a lovely exploration of that, however will Olympic stress, intense competition and strict rules cause true love or just broken hearts? A fun and well written page turner, it's a perfect book to add a human and vulnerable side to sportsmen and women.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor even for light reading 1 July 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I thought this might be entertaining but it asn't even that. Prdeictable. Poor thin story line. At least it was free.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars Obvious story line 11 Mar. 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I was quite looking forward to this book, but was a bit disappointed unfortunately. The book had the potential to be a really good story, as short as it is, but the story was too obvious and clichéd.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy memories 7 Feb. 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
The Olympics are now history but when I read this I was right back there, on the edge on my seat willing the horses over the fences, groaning when the poles fell and cheering when the medals came home. Emma captures the atmosphere perfectly and I galloped though this book. I reckon Ms Lee-Potter scored a perfect clear round with this one. I can wait to read the others in her stable
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time 10 Jan. 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
What a, thankfully,short waste of reading time. Can't even bring myself to give 1 star. Predictable, boring and in my opinion as a reader, badly written!. Apparently, have to give a star rating.ju
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category