Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars35
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 October 2012
I've had a slow cooker for about a year now but have only really used it for making soup, stock, and the occasional winter casserole. This book is excellent at showing what else we can do with a slow cooker and giving us imaginative and delicious recipes to try - it hadn't occurred to me, for example, to make sauces (tomato, apple, barbecue). This is also good for dessert ideas (cherry and kirsch compôte, poached pears, lemon pudding).

The introduction is good for those who are either new to slow cookers or, like me, have one but haven't been making the most of it. There are probably too many meat dishes here for me, but there are also some interesting vegetarian (pumpkin and dolcelatte risotto) and fish recipes too (kedgeree, gumbo, salmon and sweet potato chowder) - and I like that almost all are photographed in colour.

There's also a handy `basics' section at the end which includes how to make the best stock, as well as accompaniments to other recipes such as pesto, aioli, raita etc. So all in all, this is a good and very practical addition to any kitchen.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
As a newcomer to cooking let alone slow cooking I have been looking for a good looking for a good recipe book. The cooker came with three recipes. What some people call recipes for slow cooking will often mean a 2 hour casserole. It is a pity we do not speak with one voice or at least have the same definition of types of cooking.

This book is really great. There are many good and varied recipes and I have enjoyed cooking them and eating them as have friends and family. I can thoroughly recommend it for being excellent, straight forward and not complex to follow. A great book to start with and then continue
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 September 2015
One of the immediate observations about this book is the variety od recipes it contains. With dishes such as Asian-style poached chicken, a variety of curries, Chinese Hotpot, Cuban Ropa Vieja, German Sauerbraten, Greek Spiced Beef and Onion Stew, Iraqi Beef Daube, Israeli Sabbath Brisket, Italian Pork Stew - and more - this book is truly international and offers cooking options that you might not normally consider.

Most of the recipes in here are illustrated with photographs - mouth-wateringly good.

For the busy cook, there are really good options here that, once assembled, can be left to cook slowly whilst you get on with other things. It's a very good addition to anyone's collection of cookbooks.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Slow cooking is one of those things that comes and goes in fashion but for many it seems to always just be there. Like a comfortable chair or a pair of slippers, you know where you are with it.

The young thrusting hipsters are discovering slow cooking, perhaps due in part to the growing worldwide economic crisis. They are coming late to a party and a book like this is going to help get them up to speed and bolster their knowledge. You don't even need to have a slow cooker - but it helps! - although this book also gives a brief overview of the different types and sizes of machines available to help you make up your mind.

So you've got your machine (or soon will have it!), time to get cooking. No frills or fancies. The recipes are split into six chapters: soups & sauces; meat & poultry; fish & shellfish; vegetarian; desserts and finally basic recipes & accompaniments. In the nicest possible way this book is boring, dependable, trustworthy and down-to-earth. This is meant in a positive way. There is no arty-farty design taking over at the cost of the contents. There are no chefs or cooks prancing about dispensing their wisdom. Just a lot of good recipes. Quite formulaic and that, in this type of book is good. Generally speaking it is recipe, photograph, recipe, photograph, repeat, repeat, repeat.

Everything you need is here in spades. Clean design and typography. Prominent titling and a brief, helpful introduction. A clear overview of preparation and cooking times. Ingredients listed on the left, the instructions on the right. A textbook example of how a recipe should be presented. OK it hasn't been burdened with different pieces of nutritional information and how many pieces of salt can be found within it, but it is not that kind of book.

Many of the recipes wouldn't set the world alight or have Michelin-starred chefs champing at the bit. But again, who cares? The recipes are for us "everyday folk" to make in our kitchens as means to keep our family fed. There is a good variety and something for everyone, even though this reviewer did a virtual double-take at seeing "Cajun Chicken Liver Rice"!

So, to be clear, there are no negatives. Unless, of course, you have no plans of getting a slow cooker (but even then you could adapt the recipes). There are no negatives to the book. Just be clear what you are getting. A book that gets down to the nitty-gritty and does that very, very well indeed.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
Not sure I agree with the last bit of the title, but nevertheless there are some interesting recipes. This is good for beginners, as it explains how to use a slow cooker, and about the different types and sizes etc.

I really DO love my slow cooker, but don't like recipes where one has to fry onions or bacon first, before putting in the slow cooker pot. My reasoning is that if I'm going to use pans and the stove, and stink out the kitchen, then I might as well cook the whole dish that way. I thought there were rather too many of those, but I did find some simple 'chuck everything in and turn it on' type ideas. The recipes are a little different from the usual slow cooker type, with some interesting tweaks. It's clearly set out and with lovely photographs of the finished dishes.

Review of a preview digital copy from the publisher.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
This arrived yesterday & i made a superb paella in only 1 hr & 15 mins. I love that these are realistic everyday recipes & so easy to follow.
Delighted with my purchase!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
Sent this as a surprise present to a student house and they love it. Encouraged 2 of them to do more cooking and they are saving money. Good value, very tasty and easy to follow recipes from economical to more expensive. A good buy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
Fantastic book, lots of interesting unusual recipes. They tend to be european/ morrocan style rsther than the usual traditional stews. Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
Have only made one recipe yet but it was good. Looking forward to using it more. Would recommend it to any slow cooker owners.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
Lovely looking recipes in here, I have a list of things to try. I like how everything is explained so clearly.

Who knew you could make a fish chowder in a slow cooker?!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)