Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2008
The book does not teach you HOW to apply the technique, it merely SELLS it to you. Rather disappointing as I did not pay £5 (not bought from amazon) to be encouraged to attend a £35/hr lessons!! That said, it does sell it well, but let me save you the hassle of buying this book (and from the looks of it, many other books on this topic...) If you want to correct your posture, perform better, feel better, and look better, learn this technique. There, £5 please !
33 comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2007
The Alexander Technique works on so many levels that it can be quite tricky to explain what it is and how it works to the non-initiated. Joe Searby's book does this extremely well. The chapters are short, succinct, cleverly divided up allowing readers to quickly grasp how relevant the technique is to virtually every aspect of our lives.

Once people start learning the technique, the benefits are immediately palpable, so the difficulty lies in getting people to take it up in the first place - especially in a world full of osteos, physios, and a whole host of other hands on manipulative / massaging therapies. I think this book goes a long way to encourage people to take that initial step of 'the first lesson'.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2008
One thing I know about the Alexander Technique is that you are very unlikely to learn it from a book. If changing our habits were that easy, we'd all do it right away and life would be perfect. It takes time and motivation to change habits. What Mr Searby does is give a clear explanation of what he understands the technique to be, and the supporting photos and quotations are well chosen.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2007
Joe Searby's new book is refreshingly easy to follow, doesn't take forever, makes you think, makes you read on, and makes you want to try lessons in the Alexander Technique. The layout is colourful and user friendly, and the succinct chapters are peppered with inspirational quotes. A must have for all interested in reading about how to improve general health and well-being.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2010
An excellent introduction to the technique with clear explanations of the discipline. What I really like about this book is the beautiful illustrations and the inspirational quotations from a variety of sources including Ghandi, the Buddha and St Augustine.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2012
This "book" is simply a long sales pitch describing how impressive and effective the Alexander Technique is.

It doesn't contain any content about how to learn the technique, instead it explains how the technique cannot be learned from a book and can only be learned via one on one lessons. Why someone would write a book to make this point eludes me.

If you want to learn the Alexander Technique this book will not help you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
Would not recommend - pretty pedestrian though it did give the basics of the Alexandet technique - but perhaps you can't expect much more from a small book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
this book is clear and well written. I would recommend it to anyone wanting an introduction to how Alexander Technique can help you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)