Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars33
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£13.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 October 2007
As Lionel Richie confirms in the interesting `extra' behind the scenes this is the first of his world-spanning concerts to be recorded live. He chose Paris, as it is undoubtedly regarded as the city of love and he felt a particular connection to the French people. They rewarded Lionel warmly, responding to all his beautifully crafted music and lyrics; he truly was at one with the audience. It was especially poignant during his almost solo performances of `Still' and of course, `Three Times a Lady'. The audience listened, spellbound, as Lionel delivered every emotion of these songs in the way that we expect them to be sung, from the heart and to each and every one of us as an individual.

I believe that Lionel is without peer when it comes to this kind of music, he has been an icon of the love song genre, since he began, few can touch him and thankfully, none have tried to imitate his unique style. As you would expect his backing musicians are all accomplished musicians and it's a welcome bonus to rest assured that they also contribute so much to the overall performance. Moving through Lionel's repertoire, all the classics are here, delivered with the sheer professionalism you expect however there is a further delight in store. Lionel asks the audience to play the part of Diana Ross on `Endless Love' - the result is perhaps the finest example of `audience participation' since Freddie Mercury and Queen at those Wembley Concerts. Truly moving, although I had expected lit flames, an emotional moment unfolds.

Considering that many fans may already have `The Greatest Hits' videos, sadly this issue makes that DVD virtually redundant, few would play that after listening to such perfection, beautifully performed and delivered. Incidentally, it's perhaps and after-thought to mention that this is also a superb DVD, filmed in HD and recorded in 5.1 sound which captures Lionel Richie at his absolute best.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2008
Beware: The Blu Ray was not produced carefully enough. The main menu totally fails. Certain Players crash (Samsung, Sharp, Pioneer). Some Sony player can make it until there, but show only fragments of the graphics and a few pixels!!

If you are lucky enough, you can start the concert by navigating "blind" through the menu if the player loaded the control buttons correctly.

The concert itsself looks very nice, much better than on DVD. Still, some segments appear to be a bit blurry, here and there is a bit white noise visible. Finally, you get a working pop up menu while in the concert and now two sound options (PCM, DD 5.1)
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2007
I have been to three of Lionel's concerts and have always wanted to have a DVD so that I could recapture the experience. This DVD really achieves that. You can see the sweat pouring off him as he performs with more energy than you get from performers half his age. His band are amazing too.
There are all the tracks you would expect, plus some of his recent material and Commodores material. Though Lionel is best known for his ballads, the more upbeat tracks , All Night Long, Dancing on the Ceiling and Running with the Night are particular highlights.
This DVD is a must have for any Lionel fan.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2012
Un Blu-ray del GRAN Lionel Richie ¡Wow!. Para los amantes de este magnifico cantante es imprescindible tener este Blu-Ray musical. Lionel nos demuestra una excelente forma física y vocal en este concierto. Lionel Richie "Live In París" es la única grabación en Blu-Ray de Lionel a la que podemos acceder y aqui podemos escuchar todos sus grandes éxitos del ex componente del grupo Comodores y autentica leyenda de la Motown Records. Aquí tenemos todos esos hits que tan grandes momentos nos hizo pasar. Ademas vemos en el concierto que es uno de esos artistas generacionales, ya que puedes ver gente de todas las edades en el concierto. Es una lastima que en España no hayamos podido disfrutar de este cantante en la gira, otra vez sera. Al menos nos queda poder disfrutarlo en HD

En cuanto al Blu Ray hay que decir que el concierto esta grabado en HD 1080p con formato 1.78:1, pero únicamente el concierto. Todos los extras y los vídeos no están en formato HD. Tiene subtitulos en Ingles, Francés, Español, Portugués y Alemán. También hay que decir que no se puede acceder al menú principal ni al pop-up menu hasta que empieza el concierto ya que tienes que ver primero una entrada con fotos y música de la que no es posible salir hasta que empieza el concierto y si le das al menú principal empieza desde el principio, a nivel de navegación por menus es algo que a mi no me gusta.

El Tracklist del concierto es este:

1. Just for You 2. I call it love 3. Penny Lover 4. Easy 5. Ballerina Girl 6. Running with the Night 7. Still 8. Oh No 9. Stuck on You 10. Dancing on the Ceiling 11. Three times a Lady
12. All around the World 13. Sela 14. Endless Love 15. Sail On 16. Fancy Dancer 17. Lady 18. Brick House 19. Hello 20. Don't Stop / Angel / Destiny 21. Say You, Say Me
22. All Night Long

Y los extras son:

Videos: I Call It Love, Just For You

Behind The Scenes: Un documental/entrevista sobre la música de Lionel y el concierto el parís que podemos ver subtitulado en español.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2007
Not only did I go to this concert but I sat on the front row.Lionel Richie sounded a lot better live than on this dvd. I know there have been problems with the 5.1 sound in the USA, at first listen it sounds like the original vocal has been dubbed over with a recorded track. During Penny lover and Easy the sound does not match Lionel Ritchie's mouth movements. Being a huge fan I am very disappointed with this dvd.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
I own this dvd too.....absolutely amazing....off to see lionel for the 3rd time in two weeks....cant wait!!!
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
I'll be brief. Despite not being a Lionel Richie fan (I bought the DVD for my wife), I enjoyed this more than I expected. The video quality is variable and that's being generous. However, the DVD does a great job of capturing in around 90 minutes what the concert must have actually felt like and the sound quality is great, with Lionel at somewhere near the top of his game. Very entertaining!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2009
good sound the pictures can at times seem to jittery and funny to look at
but sounds ok
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
Absolutely superb. Lionel Richie at his very best and I have seen him several times. I had seen part of this on TV some time ago, but the full concert.is a joy to watch and listen to. His energy is amazing. Loved the variety of songs mixed with Commodores songs and backing musicians so talented. Will watch and enjoy for many years to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
Yes, I loved it, actually I brought the dvd from Amazon first, I am waiting when the price come down on Blue Ray, same I got the
dvd of Eric Clapton & Bee Gees as well. They are all very good concerts, can't miss it on B/R. Amazon always do the best service.
for me, many thanks. Frank
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)