Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars46
4.3 out of 5 stars
Platform: Xbox 360|Change
Price:£11.24+ £2.05 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 April 2014
I loved all the quests and open plan. The reason only gave t four stars is the whole time you are on a timer and I felt like I had to rush all the time rather than just sitting back, relaxing and ejoying the game.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
I'm one of the few people that enjoyed Final Fantasy XIII and XIII-2, so I'm going to do this quick to give fans and non-fans an idea of if they'll enjoy it or not.

Fans
-Returning cast of characters
-Lightning has tons of outfits
-Ends the Trilogy on a high note
-Nice callbacks
-Best Story of the three

Non-Fans
-New Battle System is actually really good.
-All the outfits you dress Lightning in add a whole lot of depth to the gameplay
-Lots of Weapons to pick from
-Interesting time system which is similar to Majoras Mask

So there you go there's everything Non-Fans and Fans will enjoy with this obviously if you hated the last two you're going to hate this unless you're a sucker for good gameplay!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
I've enjoyed playing Lightning Returns, although admittedly I've had to use a walkthrough to help seeing as there's so many mini quests to complete in a set time limit. You are free to explore the world in just about any order that you wish, saving souls by completing quests.A new twist on typical storyline of FF games. Much better than FF13.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
Before starting, I just want to point out that I purchased the Limited Edition from GAME.
I also recently created a PlayStation 3 review for this game (since the reviews are for separate console formats and not shown together on amazon), but I have also updated this review, so while the wording is not exactly the same, they do reflect on the same points.

I have so many things that I want to say about the Xbox 360 version of this game. I really do love this game, but at the same time, I hate this version so much... So where do I start?

The best part of the game by far is the gameplay. Even though this title departs from the traditional gameplay you would expect from the series, as well as this trilogy, it's fast-paced, it requires strategy and fast thinking instead of just pressing an "auto attack" button like in the previous games, and it's also easy to screw up (draining the ATB gauges too quickly from using powerful attacks too often, for example), making you want to get even more involved. Unlike the previous games, you only have Lightning in battle for the majority of the game, but the battle system is similar to both the Paradigm Shift system from the previous titles in the trilogy, and the Dressphere system in FFX-2.
Now I have noticed a major performance flaw with the Xbox 360 version of the game (and I suggest you read my PS3 review if this is an issue for you, and you actually own a PS3). During certain battles, the frame rate drops so low, that it looks like the game is going to crash. It seems like it goes at about 5fps at times, and it even seems to slow down slightly. It makes the game feel like it is unresponsive when it happens, and it is just unbearable at times. It only occurs with a couple of monsters, but when you think about how many times you'll be engaged in battle with these monsters... Well let's just say it'll get old really quickly.

The story is okay. Unlike FFXIII, Lightning Returns is not linear at all. You have 5 main quests, numerous side quests and then the "Canvas of Prayers" quests. To level up in this game, you have no choice but to complete these quests, as they grant you stat boosts, and so are the only way of leveling up. The quests are spread throughout the world, so you shouldn't be stuck in the same area for the majority of the game. The only bad thing I would say about this game (although it very much depends on taste more than anything) is that the religion theme almost feels like it's being shoved in your face during certain parts of the game. I personally don't have a problem with it, but I have seen a lot of people who have been pretty upset or annoyed by this.
Some people may also consider the time limit a bad thing, but I actually like it. Yes, it does mean that you have to use a guide to get the most out of the game, but it makes the world feel alive. Every day, quests open or close, which can be annoying, but shows that the world is constantly moving. Even if the time aspect affects how you are progressing, there is an ability in the game, which allows you to stop time for a short amount of time, which is very helpful when travelling between places. Although I should add that this ability can be easily abused in Easy Mode. I completed the majority of the quests in the first few days of the game. If you do want a challenge (and believe me, it is) go straight to Normal Mode. Believe me, it's harder than you think...

Like always in this series, the soundtrack in Lightning Returns is amazing. The sound is so diverse, unlike the FFXIII soundtrack, and if you're like me and enjoy listening to these soundtracks over and over, you'll love this one. As well as the new tracks, Lightning Returns also borrows a few tracks from the XIII and XIII-2 games, which I feel makes the game a lot better to play, since it means you don't listen to the same track over and over again. Some great tracks include "Equilibrium", "The Dead Dunes", "The Glittering City of Yusnaan", "Sneaking In" and "Nova Chrysalia". The sounds and styles for each of them probably couldn't be any more different, but that's what makes the soundtrack so enjoyable. It's definitely one of my favourite soundtracks in the entire series to date, even if it doesn't sound like what people have come to expect from the series.

The graphics does actually seem worse in this title though. Whilst character models look decent, some of the scenery looks like something from a PS1 game. Some walls and textures just look flat and look like they've been poorly painted over, making them look unrealistic. Having said that, this is a minor (very picky) flaw, and doesn't affect the game too much.

There is also a large amount of DLC "garbs" (dresses) available from the PSN/Xbox store, ranging from outfits specially made for Lightning, to fan favourite costumes such as Yuna's FFX and X-2 costumes, and Cloud's FFVII costume. Not only do these look pretty on Lightning, but they also prove to be very effective early on in the game, giving a considerable boost to Lightning's stats early on in the game.

Overall, this is a good game which I personally think uses some interesting concepts, and I think that even though it has it's flaws (both minor and serious in the Xbox 360 version), it seems that Square-Enix have really tried to make this as best as they can. While I can't say the story is amazing, the game is probably the best one in the FFXIII trilogy, and the gameplay does make up for it. Having said that, the framerate issues in this version really doesn't give a good impression, and makes the game so frustrating to play, especially if you're dealing with the same monster over and over again, causing the issues to happen over and over again.
I wouldn't go as far as saying I'd recommend this to anyone, but if you enjoyed the previous titles in the FFXIII trilogy, or if you generally enjoy games in the Final Fantasy series, then it's possible that you may love this. I loved it so much, I bought a PS3 copy to play at Uni, which I think kinda speaks for itself...
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
I, unlike a lot of people, really enjoyed 13 and 13-2, but this was flogging a dead horse. And not even making a good showing of it. Think of the most boring grind missions you've ever had to play to scrounge up those last few Gil or EXP points. That's now your EVERY mission. Collect this many pelts, be at this place at this time, kill EVERY SINGLE ONE OF EVERY SINGLE SPECIES LEFT ON THE PLANET (is an ACTUAL mission)
The story made next to no sense and though the events clearly had an order you aren't prompted for it, so I ended up doing story events out of order and being confused when characters I hadn't tracked down yet got involved.
Just an over all let down, which is a shame because I was excited for it.
If you're in it for the story just watch the cutscenes on youtube.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
I pre-ordered this game 9 months ago, i was that excited.
It really is a huge improvement , it's miles ahead of XIII and XIII-2.
XIII was alright, the second one was a huge improvement and now LR is a completely new game.
The combat is very nice, not lack lustre like the others before. The costume system is quite fun even if people look at and sigh at the thought of Light showing more skin than Yuna in X-2, keep in mind 90% off the outfits barely show any skin and aren't girly at all. They're a substitute to the party members that are no longer there.

Another advantage is that this game is *hard*. It actually offers a chalenging experience to the player unlike before. You can only carry a limited amount of potions/healing items and fleeing from battle will result in you being penalised.
The music is great, it has a theme and it isn't all over the place like 13-2.
Flaws: the religious theme can be quite in your face, but bear with it. It gets better.
Hope, who became one of my favourite characters in 13-2 has now gone back to being an annoying little kid. He treats Light like he is the always present parent. Very annoying.
You no longer level up by beating monsters, now you must do quests. It makes killing monsters a bit of a chore
The story is all over the place, you can go to new places but it will start that place's mainquest and it can be hard to keep track of what you're doing. But i think thats part of the HUGE freedom you have in the game.

Locations are beautiful, there are light hearted moments which make up for the depressing tone of the game and it's fun to play. Story is very interesting too. I definitely recommend it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
This is the game 13-2 should have been. Improving on the things that fell short in the original 13 game while getting a proper ending for all the characters (after all, 2 of them were just left to rot at the end of the original game). It still has lovely graphics in the cut scenes and makes you want to finish it (whether that's because you care about finding out what happened to Lightning and Serah or to feel the achievement of doing all possible quests is up to you; and will likely depend on how much you liked the characters in the first game).

In short, if you liked the original Final Fantasy 13, I'd definitely recommend this one regardless of thoughts on 13-2.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
i love these type of rpg's. i'm especially happy that this game got delivered to me soon. i would really recommend it to anyone so that they can try it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
The game play is much improved since the first ff13 in my opinion and i think the story sums up the trilogy perfectly!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
Good points are, lightning’s costumes are a novelty as you change your attacks, and she’s nicely voiced, the fans of the series asked for a changed from the first game because it was to linear, and they took this to heart, and misinterpreted more exploration and freedom, for totally boring non-intuitive side missions, for a totally confusing story, and I know let’s just throw in a time limit, so exploring goes out the window. The graphics go steeply downhill in the trilogy, character models always look good, but mediocre environments start creeping in, play number 1-3 and number 1 is far around better visually. The combat system changes that much through the series, it feels like going from Tales of Graces f, to call of duty. Maybe they should revaluate what the series is now, and where it’s going.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)