Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars37
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 August 2012
I was given a timely copy of this book just before my puppy arrived home - my fourth in 20 years. Over that time how our relationships our dogs has changed - especially as regards puppy training books. It's 6 years since I last had a puppy and this was a great reminder of the 10 most important things I need to do with my new puppy in order for him to become the fantastic dog my 6 year old has become. I read it through once to get an idea of what 'Life Skills' were covered, and whenever I want to work on one of the skills, I go back to the book and see what it advises - it's particularly good at giving instructions on how to get started with each skill - especially loose lead walking! - with beautiful photographs giving a clear picture of what your puppy is feeling, so you know what his/her body language is telling you. I take it everywhere with me because you never know when an opportunity to train will present itself!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2012
This is a superb little book. It is easy to read and gives an insight into how your puppy would like to be treated as they are growing up. The idea is to give 10 basic life skills that will help your dog to understand the world and to enjoy life to the full. From 'I like to be touched' to 'I have the right to be a dog', this is a wish-list for all our canine friends.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2012
This is a great book written in simple laymans terms. It's content would suit any dog owner and will help them to learn how they can not only bring their dog up but also understand the needs that every dog has and how these needs can be met. There will be a lot less frustrated dogs out there now that this book has been published.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
Fantastic book I bought in preparation for our first puppy. It sets out the achievable skills very clearly and provides guidelines for your puppy's continued progress. Can highly recommend.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
This book was recommended by my vet. A good book if you have never had a dog. I have had dogs before and found a lot in it common sense. However it did have some interesting ideas.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
Life skills for puppies is a must-read for for first time puppy owners. I have never had a puppy before and this book made me feel a lot more confident about the big move to get the dog. It focuses on the behaviour of dogs and how you interpret and react to it. If you want a book about how to teach your dog to leave it, sit, stay, lie down etc. etc. I wouldn't recommend it however for first time dog owners who need a little bit of reassurance and guidance I would thoroughly recommend it. Life skills for puppies is well structured, easy to read and simple to dip in and out of as you wish. There is also an invaluable section at the end about loose lead walking but the rest of the book is brilliant as well with each chapter revealing a new life skill. It focuses not only on obedience but also the dog being able to control itself which helps in training and general dog life but as I said if you want a training or dog care guide this book isn't for you but I would highly recommend it for all dog owners especially first time ones like me. I am only 13 and I found this book really helpful. I hope this review helped. ;)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I like the way this is presented. It makes me think about how to introduce the wider world to my pup in associative a way as possible.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2016
I read lots of puppy books before we got our labrador pup and this is by far the best. A very easy helpful read. It makes a great deal of sense and helps you understand things from the puppy's perspective which must be a good thing! The book is also small, with beautiful photos and helpful tables you can fill in with your progress and not too long. Easy to dip in and out of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
This is a good book if you have just got your first puppy. Easy to read and concise with some great tips. It was handy to be able to get it on Kindle. If you want to do more advanced training you might want a more in-depth book but this is a great book to start with. Would highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
This is probably one of the best books i've read for anyone thinking of getting a puppy or for anyone who has a young puppy and wants to make sure they do the right thinks to ensure a long, loving and hopefully, problem free relationship.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse