Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2012
This is a great read for Blake's 7 fans, consisting of a thorough coverage of the episodes and featuring in-depth analysis of each. There's some great trivia and interesting background to the making of all four series plus the various follow-ups.

The literary criticism of the scripts will not be to everyone's taste. Any deep analysis of subtext can be given to cod psychology and pretension, and the authors fall into this trap. They can also be a bit selective in the facts they base their analysis on, and so they leap to some rather exaggerated conclusions about the characters. In fact, if the scriptwriters were so clever as to build in all the layers of subtext and character development the authors discuss, why did they keep making all the elementary plot blunders that Liberation's authors so delight in pointing out? The more plausible explanation might simply be down to cheesy and hasty scriptwriting to meet production deadlines.

However, don't let this put you off. I'm sure there's more than a little irony at work here, and it's all somehow fitting for a series that had pretensions way above its budget. This was a golden era of British TV sci-fi, with dodgy SFX and actors delivering technobabble as though they were on stage at the RSC. If you take the book's character analysis with a sense of humour, it's fun to read the retelling and explanation of the stories. Blake's 7 was an intelligent, groundbreaking series, dealing with sophisticated and grown-up themes. The authors are clearly fans, and do a good job of laying out its themes and setting them in context. Meanwhile, they don't hold back in teasing the show's shortcomings with affection and a wry sense of humour.

So if, like me, you're a fan of Blake's 7, this is a great book. It inspired me to start working through the DVDs again and, as another reviewer notes, it lends the characters a different light. Great stuff!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
A very entertaining and informative book. This book made me re-think what I had previously understood about the character's motives in the series. Highly recommend if you are a fan of this classic TV series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
This is a great read for Blake's 7 fans, consisting of a thorough coverage of the episodes and featuring in-depth analysis of each. There's some great trivia and interesting background to the making of all four series plus the various follow-ups.

The literary criticism of the scripts will not be to everyone's taste. Any deep analysis of subtext can be given to cod psychology and pretension, and the authors fall into this trap. They can also be a bit selective in the facts they base their analysis on, and so they leap to some rather exaggerated conclusions about the characters. In fact, if the scriptwriters were so clever as to build in all the layers of subtext and character development the authors discuss, why did they keep making all the elementary plot blunders that Liberation's authors so delight in pointing out? The more plausible explanation might simply be down to cheesy and hasty scriptwriting to meet production deadlines.

However, don't let this put you off. I'm sure there's more than a little irony at work here, and it's all somehow fitting for a series that had pretensions way above its budget. This was a golden era of British TV sci-fi, with dodgy SFX and actors delivering technobabble as though they were on stage at the RSC. If you take the book's character analysis with a sense of humour, it's fun to read the retelling and explanation of the stories. Blake's 7 was an intelligent, groundbreaking series, dealing with sophisticated and grown-up themes. The authors are clearly fans, and do a good job of laying out its themes and setting them in context. Meanwhile, they don't hold back in teasing the show's shortcomings with affection and a wry sense of humour.

So if, like me, you're a fan of Blake's 7, this is a great book. It inspired me to start working through the DVDs again and, as another reviewer notes, it lends the characters a different light. Great stuff!

[Full disclosure: this is copied from my review of the Kindle edition.]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
A fantastic guide to a fantastic series. Recommended. The reviews of the episodes are in depth and insightful. I read it as I watched the series again and the book complemented the viewings very well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
One of the best reference books about Blake's 7. For each story there are technical details & in depth analysis. Also overviews of the production of the series and some of the audio adventures ( though not the new Big Finish range unfortunately). Don't buy this expecting full colour glossy pictures, there are just a few small ones in black and white. A thoroughly enjoyable read and though I may not agree with all of the hypothoses, they certainly give food for thought. Highly recommended for fans of Blake's 7.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
Interesting and chalenging to the ideas i held about a beloved show. Recomended and thanks for writing somethjng so in depth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2016
fantastic, if you into Blake7 then its a must
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
One of the worst Blakes 7 books I've read. Not much information in it. Just has a page for each episode of the tv series and that's it. Don't be conned by the smart cover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.