Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 June 2010
An excellent guide to lenses for the novice (like me). The prose style is clear and does not patronise. The book is in full colour with clear black and white diagrams where needed. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2010
this is the best book i have seen on Lens not only does it tell you which lens you should go for(depending on your interests)it also shows you how get the best from each lens
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2010
This is an excellent reference manual, well written and beautifully illustrated. Everyone should have one on their bookshelf.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2010
A very useful book for those who have just entered the DSLR arena. All those cryptic jargon one comes across , while trying to grasp the DSLR cameras and lenses are explained very clearly. The last few chapters on post-processing are very useful.
If you are planning to buy an additional lens for your DSLR, this is a definitive guide indeed.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2011
I was lucky enough to receive this book as a freebie for signing up to a magazine subscription. I am very glad I did as this book has really helped me to better understand photography as as a whole, as well as learning the importance of choice of lens. Very well written and easy to understand, yet I feel its not too basic in its information.
It highlights all the different types of photography and the best lenses to use for each. Unfortunately after reading it you'll need lots of money to invest in the lenses you realise you need for your own choice of style!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 November 2011
A camera's nothing without lenses and many books fail to cover this in enough depth. This is very nicely written and published with great photos and examples.

I think this is one book that every Digital SLR camera owner should own if they are serious about wanting to learn about photography.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
This book is small and valuable, as it gives expert views on lens selection and uses of various Techniques of buying and using SLR lenses I would recomend it to anyone interested in developing their use of SLR camera's and lenses!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2010
I have not been able to put this book down, it has so much information in it for a new photographer that i think i will finish it in a couple of days, but i will always keep it handy for future referance.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 November 2010
At last, a jargon-free book about lenses that everyone will understand. Okay, others have also been down this route but it's usually as part of an all-encompassing photography book, which might not be what people require. This isn't aimed at the professional, or the highly committed enthusiast, as they'll already know what's included here. No, this is for those either new to, or considering entering, the world of the DSLR.

Ah, but you may well ask why is a camera lens that important when there are hundreds from which to choose. If you need to ask that, maybe you're better off sticking with your point and shoot compact. The most entry friendly DSLR with a good lens will always take a better photo than an expensive high-end one with the poorest lens. Why? The product is only as good as the source.

Ross Hoddinott explains the different types of lenses - wideangle, standard, telephoto and specialist - as well as choosing the one to suit you, caring for your investment and lens craft (utilising camera supports). Along the way, you'll find out about filters and accessories, though don't be concerned about what might be lacking in this book, as it isn't about the actual taking of the photograph. It's concerned with what you need to do that - the lens! (I have to admit, the part on focusing technology did have my eyes glazing over, but it was only two pages.)

The author gets an extra star for not delving into the world of Photoshop too much, only venturing into that territory briefly in the last chapter. However, he loses that star because of the photographs he uses as examples. Whilst it may not bother most readers, other than on a couple of those examples, Hoddinott has omitted to tell us the locations. Each has the relative camera information included but he merely lists the photos as `Church', `Lighthouse', `Folly' or `Sunset and Silhouette', etc. It would have been nice to know where they were taken.

All in all, a well written book for the beginner. I'm off to buy his one on filters.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
This neat little book will be useful to beginning beginners, and as always Ross Hoddinot's photographs are spendid. Sadly, Hoddinot's writing nowhere near matches the quality and sharpness of his images. It conforms to the beginner's book format of one basic idea per page (more or less) and the information is almost standardised lacking really useful detail. I was disappointed that I did not learn much as an advanced beginner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)