Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars16
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2010
I have just returned from a liveaboard trip diving around the Komodo National Park in Indonesia. It was a 6 day, 5 night trip and we did 4 night dives. I used my latest version of the LED Lenser Frogman torch as my main light and it was more than adequate. In clear water such as Indonesia can have, or the Red Sea you would be perfectly safe having this as a main torch. It only takes 4 AA batteries - available everywhere - and they will last a whole season, not just the holiday or even one dive as with some main torches. It is also small and light - so no problem with the ridiculous 20kg baggage allowance on most airlines these days - and it will easily fit in a BC pocket.

Make sure you get the latest version, the early ones had a twist on/off switch. You had to untwist the silver front housing a little to turn it on which could be difficult at depth and you risked going too far and flooding the torch. They then bought out a new version with a top mounted magnetic switch which was also twice as bright as the old version (now 75 lumen) but the fixing screw rusted. They have now replaced this screw in the most up-to-date version with one that doesn't rust.

I have used my torch for a full season as a back-up light and then used it all winter as my main cycle light and it is still going strong at the start of the next season.

I was even thinking of buying another two torches and strapping all three together to make a main light for UK waters. This would then give me 75, 150 or 225 lumen options.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2012
thought the torch was excellent, very bright and great for both day and night use...but it leaked after around 10 dives
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
Got one to use as a backup torch, which it does brilliantly. Small enough to stash in a BCD pocket, plenty bright to use as a backup and on shallow night dives in good visibility (think Red Sea or something) it's good enough to use as a main light, thus saving a couple of kg of precious luggage weight from lugging the Green Force umbilical to Egypt (other umbilical torches are also available).

This was all fab and groovy until the switch sheared off. Although the body and switch are plastic it looks like there's enough metal in the screw holding the switch on to corrode and jam up the switch, so it's back to the trusty Ikelite PCa for me. Anyone got one of these and want a spare LED module?
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
I found one on these in a cave underwater. It still had the original batteries in it and worked. Couldn't trace the original owner so ended up keeping it and buying four more for cave diving with. The switch gave me concern that it might be vulnerable but after lots of abuse it hasn't given me any problems. Highly recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2012
friends, this light is it! i love it! it is easy, light and reliable, great to travel with, seems to live forever and not loose its brightness as it looses its charge, which may not be the best thing when you suddenly run out, but that's what the back up is for. buy 2 of these and you are good to go anywhere anytime, also the box it come in makes a great travel case for other things, i carved out a shape of my folding dive knife in the foam and the two travel together well protected and immobile.
the switch tends to stick when the cap is screwed on tightly, specially below 20meters, but it sticks in the 'on' position so not so bad..you can tap it a few times and it goes off.
or like the man says, don't screw it as tightly as i did, and you will not have the opening problem or the switch problem.
compare to other lights that we used on the same dives, the beam is brighter, more concentrated and reaches further, because of its concentration it has very little back scatter and fog-like reflections. make it work well in low visibility conditions. don't shine it into any diver's face (a good diving etiquette, anyway) it is blinding!
get it, and have a great many dives. :-)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
I have four of these torches and use them regularly both for pleasure diving and when teaching.
they are fantastic in clear water and outshine torches that are twice the cost easily.
They work extreemly well in green water and I recommend them to both my recreational and technical students. I cannot praise these enough.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2011
Perfectly packed, impressive bright, insanely light and quite small.

I don't think that more adjectives are needed for this little "precious". Coming from a Kowalsky underwater light (halogens, 2,5 kg, and with a big charger neede for not more than 2 hours of full light) this is a big inprovement in both technology and design.

Don't even bother to go for the "chinese clones" it's unviable and uncomparable.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2012
Did exactly what it said on the box. 30 meters was no problem for this little but powerful torch. Used as a main diving torch was perfectly sattisfactory. Great product for all walks of life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2015
It's been used on many dives as a back-up torch. The switch is easy to operate, particularly with gloved hands.
Ideal for peering into nooks and crannies on a daylight dive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2012
Well built, impossible to miss, very bright, light enough to carry, water proof... What more could you want from a torch.

1 word of warning, be very careful not to over tighten the lens cap as the waterproof seal acts as a locking thread. Vice, Pliers, swearing.

I use this for diving and on Duty as a special constable. Much brighter than mag lights etc and far easier to carry.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)