Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-18 of 18 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 31 May 2010 22:16:33 BDT
chads_mad says:
I have had my TZ-7 since July 2009 and I love it. However, the lens has acquired a scratch recently and I think it's down to a design fault with the lens cover. Despite the fact that I keep the camera and lens spotless (I am a professional TV Cameraman so used to caring for lenses), the leaves of the lens cover appear to have damaged the coating on the apex of the lens as they actually make contact with it. There is a resulting small scratch in line with the doors which causes flare in the middle of any picture taken towards a light source or the sun. Has anyone else experienced this? I'm trying to get it repaired under warranty since it really isn't misuse of the camera that's caused the damage.

Posted on 2 Aug 2010 13:37:56 BDT
Mnason says:
Hi, Yes I have. It started with a microscopic mark which I thought must be my fault, but as time went on it got worse and worse and close examination shows there are many thin vertical scratches - aligned in the direction the cover moves as it opens and closes.

Posted on 9 Aug 2010 23:05:19 BDT
A. Browne says:
Yes I have the same problem, It looks like a scratch and blurs the center of my photos, especially in direct sunlight. I have recommended this camera to a good friend who after 6 months has the same problem. After doing some research on th net it is obvious there is a substantial problem with the shutter mechanism. Please keep me informed of any outcome and i will do the same as I plan to contact Panasonic directly.

In reply to an earlier post on 9 Aug 2010 23:58:40 BDT
chads_mad says: