Start reading Legends of Rock & Roll - The Grateful Dead on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Legends of Rock & Roll - The Grateful Dead
 
 

Legends of Rock & Roll - The Grateful Dead [Kindle Edition]

James Hoag
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: £2.63 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: At least 60% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.


Product Description

Product Description

"What a long, strange trip it's been."

Welcome to another in the Legends of Rock & Roll series.

The Legends of Rock & Roll series is about the music we have listened to over the past fifty years. This is a mini-biography of the band The Grateful Dead, but even more importantly, it's about the music that they created; the songs that affected a generation.

The Dead were the most important band of the psychedelic era (the last half of the Sixties) and, arguably, one of the most ground breaking bands in the history of Rock & Roll. They gradually increased their fans until hundreds of thousands would show up for a concert. The Grateful Dead are almost single-handedly responsible for keeping the spirit of the Sixties alive through the next twenty years.

This is the story of The Grateful Dead.

This is an unauthorized fan tribute.

In this book you'll discover:

  • Introduction - My feelings about The Grateful Dead in general and a kick-off for the book.
  • Before The Grateful Dead - An introduction to how the five guys came together to form the band.
  • Jerry Garcia - A look at the life of Jerry Garcia before The Grateful Dead.
  • Phil Lesh - A look at the life of Phil Lesh before The Grateful Dead.
  • Bob Weir - A look at the life of Bob Weir before The Grateful Dead.
  • Ron "Pigpen" McKernan - - A look at the life of Ron "Pigpen" McKernan before The Grateful Dead.
  • Bill Kreutzmann - A look at the life of Bill Kreutzmann before The Grateful Dead.
  • Acid Tests - "Can You Pass the Acid Tests?"
  • What's in a Name - How did the Dead come up with the name and what does it mean?
  • Summer of Love - 1967 was the famous Summer of Love in San Francisco. What part did the Dead play it that?
  • Mickey Hart Joins the Band - The band gets a sixth member.
  • "Anthem of the Sun" - How their second album came to be.
  • "Aoxomoxoa" - The third album. What does it mean and how do you pronounce it?
  • First Truly Live Album - They finally get a chance to record a live album and everything changes.
  • "Workingman's Dead" - The story of a Grateful Dead classic.
  • "American Beauty" - This album contained one of their most famous hits.
  • A Classic Concert - The story of a classic concert in New York City.
  • Deadheads - Who were Deadheads and where did the name come from?
  • Keith and Donna Godchaux Join the Band - The band grows by two more people.
  • The Death of Pigpen - The loss of one of the founding members deeply affects the band.
  • The Wall of Sound - The famous wall of sound that highlighted each live performance.
  • "Blues for Allah" - Another famous Dead album. Who is Allah?
  • The Eighties - Drugs threatened to end the band in the Eighties.
  • Jerry Goes Through a Rough Patch - Jerry Garcia goes through some tough times trying to get his habits under control.
  • "Touch of Gray" - The story of their one hit single.
  • The End of The Grateful Dead - The loss of Jerry Garcia signals the end of the Grateful Dead.
  • After the Dead - What happened to the band members after the band broke up?
  • Legacy of The Grateful Dead - Every Legends book has a Legacy section where we review the awards and contributions of the artist or band.
  • Afterword - My closing thoughts.
  • Selected Discography - A list of the major works by The Grateful Dead.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 229 KB
  • Print Length: 84 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00F3J60XO
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #428,713 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating biography 30 Sep 2013
By Michael Finlayson TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I've lost count of the amount of books that I've got from this author, but I keep reading them because he brings the bands and the singers to life. I like the way that the author uses the individual band members as the starting point and charts their journey together. This is a fascinating read from someone who clearly knows what he's talking about and I highly recommend it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I have downloaded several books in the Legends of Rock & Roll series and this book is another winner. James Hoag is a true fan of this genre and reading through the pages of this book, it's clear to see that a lot of thought and research has been put into the creation of 'The Grateful Dead.' Fans of Legends of Rock & Roll series will not be disappointed. Get your copy today.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.7 out of 5 stars  12 reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Grateful Dead 11 Dec 2013
By Lori J. Fedele - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I really didn't listen to the Grateful Dead very much but I did find this book interesting. If you are a Grateful Dead fan I am sure you will like this book.
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting insights about a historic band! 8 Dec 2013
By Cliff Harwin - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
It was great to get a personal perspective of the Grateful Dead from a fan. I loved the biographies of the founding members. The personal anecdotes throughout the book added to the content. Interesting stories about how the Grateful Dead's name came to be and the trials and tribulations that the band faced. Provides life lessons to kids about the long term effects of illegal drug use. Highly recommended!
5.0 out of 5 stars Great band book 20 Oct 2013
By Lynn Bryan - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
My son is a huge deadhead so I got this book for him. He has been a fan of the Grateful Dead for a few years now. I read it myself and learned a lot- this book is filled with lots of info about the band, and a lot of things that I surely didn't know. I enjoyed it - I would recommend this book to all fans of the Grateful Dead.
5.0 out of 5 stars The Grateful Dead 14 Oct 2013
By Timon - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Another great Rock & Roll Legend "unpacked" by James Hoag. I just cannot get enough of all the stories and insights one finds in the books of the Legends of Rock & Roll series. This book about the Grateful Dead is no exception. Great research and a wonderful entertaining and easy to read style of writing makes this book a must have for all fans.
5.0 out of 5 stars Grateful Read! 8 Oct 2013
By S. Cox - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Here's a great read about one of rock & roll's most legendary bands. Deadheads are notoriously detail-obsessed when in comes to concerts details and anecdotes, and, happily, Hoag's book is long on both. Hoag also tracks the status of all surviving members, and offers up a discography.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category