Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 July 2013
Just finished reading this book and was enthralled by the explanation for time keeping and method of learning. I'm far from the best for remembering long passages so this will help and I will put it to the test. I've just passed to 2nd degree & will start on the 1st degree charge just so I know it. As you can imagine it's a fairly long piece and when you're standing there it's a bit daunting

Thank you for writing this and now I can use this method for future reference

Regards

Mr G
0Comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
This is quite different from other Masonic books I've read, which seem to be very traditional and frankly ramp up the already high fear-factor. The author clearly knows his subject, and his book is very clear about planning and organising oneself properly. Some of the techniques may seem a bit obvious at first glance however, once one understands the learning structure, they give a complete picture of what it takes to become competent at learning and delivering ritual. His tip on using cellphone alarms to remind one to practice is clever. This book would be great for a new member who's trying to understand what's going on and how to take part. It's also surprisingly motivational which is most unusual in this neck of the woods. I actually believe I can do it if I stick to the book's system.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
This review is not from Ilse but Anthony(husband)who this book was purchased for: I found Rick's book to be a great guide especially for the novice or 'lazy' mason. I would say that it helps get to the bottom of the subject by presenting an understanding of time, process and commitment, within the sphere of ritual learning. The workings of the lodge whilst intricate are fascinating and require much understanding and certainly commitment. The book develops nicely in its delivery of a methodology which I must say is very credible. I am not a Kindle fan so I would have taken it as a pocket-book paperback version (my personal preference for such books) however I do recommend it to anyone who has a needs to gain some momentum in the art of masonic ritual.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
I bought this book after reading the Look Inside preview, because the author seems to have put aside all the old advice and concentrated on the central issue of becoming competent at ritual. He says it's important to understand and learn from ritual, but he thinks that the best way to achieve that is to learn how to do it well, which I would agree with. Freemasonry takes on a new meaning when you are really involved in the meetings, and this is a good way to get there. I use a lot of his techniques already, but there are some new ones in the book that I'm going to try. At this price, it's definitely worth reading.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
As a mason, that loves ritual and is just going into the JW chair, this has not only helped me draft a plan regarding learning times , I now have a great method in place to learn the ritual that is working! Thoroughly recommend to any brother .
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
I love this book I found it very helpful.
Would recommend to a friend great work mr smith hope there's more to come
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
It gave me upmost confidence to stand up in front of my brethren in the lodge and repeat the ceremony.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
Yes its an excellent learning method very similar to my own way of learning but using a few different. Tools to what I've used in the past .i have tried the. One's in the book 📚 which do enhance the learning process I highly recommend it to all learning masonic ritual
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
So far I have found out what I had been doing wrong in trying to do ritual,
I have now changed the way I learn using the cuide
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
No, I didn't think much of it, it was a book about teaching oneself to learn, using different methods, it said very little about masonic Ritual
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.