Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars8
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 June 2001
Do you find yourself wanting to create your own website but not sure where to start or even how to do it? This book is then a good way for beginner's and shows you how simple it really is!
By reading this book the boundaries of making your own footprint on the web are broken down into clear and concise sections. From the very beginnings of the web and how it actually works, through to the steps to take in planning, designing and publishing a site.
Basic HTML is explained clearly tag by tag, together with use of popular web authoring tools such as MicroSoft FrontPage, Macromedia Dreamweaver and Adobe GoLive to create the same steps.
Discussions on site navigation, graphical creation and general advise and tips on what makes a good site work, all give you confidence to give it a go yourself!
Now that I have read this beginner's guide I will be looking to read her more advance book 'Web Design in a Nutshell'.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2001
I recently bought this book because I wanted to learn the basics of website design. It is very clear and makes for easy reading. I would recommend it to anyone who would like to start web deigning. For those of you who do not like reading pages and pages confusing text this book is great, it has an excellent layout and explains thing with decent examples in simple language.
0Comment|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2003
Having recently decided that my personal web page really wasn't up to much, heavily reliant on the functionality of an online authoring tool, I opted to take the plunge and do the job properly.
Jennifer Nierderst's book is a revelation. I've read other beginner's guides before. Some treat the reader like a moron, others like an expert. This book strikes the perfect balance and is helping me to achieve a better looking personal website.
Added to that balance is a wonderful smattering of humour and personal insight and I would recommend this to anyone looking to get into web design - be it for professional reasons or just for pleasure.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2003
It is a truth universally acknowledged that a person in possession of a software manual must be in need of help - and I couldn't have got to grips with the graphics package or web authoring tool I used to construct my web site without this book to see me through. There is an art to writing a text book, and very few people producing instructions manuals are able to put themselves in the position of the user, yet Miss Niederst has this talent in abundance. She is clear, informal without being folksy, and the book is well structured. It is an essential tool for anybody venturing out into the wonderful world of web design, and useful too for those with some knowledge who think they know what they're talking about and will have to explain it to those who don't.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2007
While this is a good, well written book it is now too far out of date to be of any use to anyone wanting to learn modern web design. It's main flaw is teaching table based layouts for webpages. While some web designers hold to this method, it it generally accepted that CSS is now the best solution. If you're looking for a good beginners guide check out the Sitepoint book "Build Your Own Website The Right Way Using HTML and CSS" by Ian Llyod.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2006
One of the most comprehensive books on the market about web design. No matter what your experience level is, you are gently guided through every step of the way. Quite simply, brilliant.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2007
This is a clear and concise breakdown of the basics (and more) of Web Design, whether for an absolute beginner or for the intermediate web designer, this book offers clear step-by-step information making what can be a difficult design discipline, simple. Excellent!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2012
Learning Web Design is a great book to read if you have time. But if you live in London and you don't have a lot of time then here's a tip for those who are non-technical and wants to learn how to create and manage their website, Facebook and Twitter pages: book a one day workshop with Luckywebs for £89. They teach you all about choosing the right domain name, setting up web hosting, the website, site monitoring via web analytics, SEO & PPC along with web security, social media pages & social media plugins.

Their workshops are usually held close to Bank or Mansion House tube stations and sell fairly quickly but you can always look out for the next one.

Good luck!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)