Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

Tell the Publisher!
I’d like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Leaf Storm [Paperback]

Gabriel Garcia Marquez
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover --  
Paperback £7.98  
Paperback, 1 May 2008 --  

Book Description

1 May 2008

Nobel Laureate Gabriel García Márquez,, author of the One Hundred Years of Solitude and Love in the Time of Cholera, portrays a food company violating a small Colombia town in his vivid and powerful novel Leaf Storm.

'Suddenly, as if a whirlwind had set down roots in the centre of the town, the banana company arrived, pursed by the leaf storm'

Drenched by rain, the town has been decaying ever since the banana company left. Its people are sullen and bitter, so when the doctor - a foreigner who ended up the most hated man in town - dies, there is no one to mourn him. But also living in the town is the Colonel, who is bound to honour a promise made many years ago. The Colonel and his family must bury the doctor, despite the inclination of their fellow inhabitants that his corpse be forgotten and left to rot.

'The most important writer of fiction in any language' Bill Clinton

'Márquez is a retailer of wonders' Sunday Times

'An exquisite writer, wise, compassionate and extremely funny' Sunday Telegraph

As one of the pioneers of magic realism and perhaps the most prominent voice of Latin American literature, Gabriel García Márquez has received international recognition for his novels, works of non-fiction and collections of short stories. Those published in translation by Penguin include Autumn of the Patriarch, Bon Voyage Mr. President, Chronicle of a Death Foretold, Collected Stories, The General in his Labyrinth, In Evil Hour, Innocent Eréndira and Other Stories, Living to Tell the Tale, Memories of My Melancholy Whores, News of a Kidnapping, No-one Writes to the Colonel, Of Love and Other Demons, The Story of a Shipwrecked Sailor and Strange Pilgrims.

Frequently Bought Together

Leaf Storm + Of Love and Other Demons (Marquez 2014) + Chronicle of a Death Foretold (Marquez 2014)
Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Product details

  • Paperback: 128 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin (1 May 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0141032561
  • ISBN-13: 978-0141032566
  • Product Dimensions: 0.7 x 12.4 x 19.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 227,683 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description


The most important writer of fiction in any language (Bill Clinton)

About the Author

Gabriel Garcia Marquez (1927- ) was born in Aracataca, Colombia. His most recent book, Memories of My Melancholy Whores, is his first new novel to be published in a decade and is available as a Penguin Paperback. He is the author of several novels, works of non-fiction and collections of short stories, including Leaf Storm (1955); One Hundred Years of Solitude (1967); The Autumn of the Patriarch (1975); Chronicle of a Death Foretold (1981) and The General in His Labyrinth (1989). He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1982.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
The book contains Marquez' first novella Leaf Storm, published in 1955, and six short stories. One of these, "Monologue of Isabel Watching it Rain in Macondo", was written the same year as Leaf Storm and can be largely considered as a post-script to it. These, with Nabo (1951, represent the author's earliest work, written while working as a journalist in Bogota.
The four other short stories, published in 1968 are stylistically different and illustrate the impetus thar Marquez, influenced by Borges and Kafka, gave to the phenomenon of Magical Realism. These, such as "The Handsomest Drowned Man in the World" (which interestingly first appeared in Americam Playboy) and "A Very Old Man With Enormous Wings", both display a simplistic power in their story-telling which is combined with a mythical, Freudian imagery that enables Marquez to break down the confines of conventional subject matter.
However, in Leaf Storm itself, we encounter another foundation of Marquez' later development; the town of Macondo. We find it at the turn of the century in a state of social upheaval caused by the arrival of the banana companies. Against this background a mysterious doctor appears in the town and lodges with a colonel and his family whom he later scandalizes by making their servant pregnant; in addition he becomes a pariah, enraging the townspeople by his refusal to treat them.
Some years later the Doctor, now a recluse, hangs himself, leaving the Colonel, to the resentment of the local people, to take responsibility for his burial. It is at this point that the narrative begins; as the Colonel and his daughter cast their minds into the past to come to terms with the nature,not only of the Doctor's life and manner of death, but also with their own existence.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it 16 Sep 2008
First this one doesn't have the six short stories only the story 'leaf storm'. This was my first introduction to Márquez's works and it wasn't the last. It is the perfect book to start off with as it can take a little time to fully understand magical realism. This book also introduces the characters from 'one hundred years of solitude' which is my favourate book.

If you do buy this book you'll see reviews from papers on the front, first two pages and on the back. I'll quote one from the Observer 'A single sentence of García Márquez often has more meat to it than many whole novels'
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth reading 16 Sep 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is a very good read for anyone who has read or preferably going to read 'One Thousand Years of Solitude' as it gives illuminating information about the village. A must for all Gabriel Garcia Marquez enthusiasts and an excellent example of his early work.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star 15 July 2014
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Not sure what the book was like: arrived in such poor condition as to be virtually unreadable.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick deliver and a good read 27 Aug 2013
By J.
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Marquez is a good author, definitely recommend his books. This one, I ordered for my boyfriend, he is a big fan of his works and he loved it. The delivery was quick.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category