Start reading The Last Four Things (Left Hand of God Trilogy Book 2) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Last Four Things (Left Hand of God Trilogy Book 2)
 
 

The Last Four Things (Left Hand of God Trilogy Book 2) [Kindle Edition]

Paul Hoffman
3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (115 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £3.59 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £3.40 (49%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £3.59  
Hardcover --  
Paperback £5.99  
Audio Download, Unabridged £7.95 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial
Unknown Binding --  
Earn a Free Kindle Book
Earn a Free Kindle Book
Buy a Kindle book between now and 31 March and receive a promotional code good for one free Kindle book. Terms and conditions apply. Learn more


Product Description

Review

"Paul Hoffman's newest novel, "The Left Hand Of God", certainly delivers the terrible goods. . . .There's gloom aplenty here, but it's tempered by a sly wit, complex characters, and a narrative engine that grinds all objections to dust. . . . [An] epic tale, full of grand passions that twist in the hand like a knife blade." -"The Onion A.V. Club" "Clever phrasing and innate humor . . . this novel will make a rousing next step for fans of Terry Goodkind, R. A. Salvatore, and their ilk." -"Library Journal" "A riveting tale of pursuit, derring-do, battles, and death...a rousing trilogy-opener...a sweeping tale of intrigue and warfare-for teens who like that sort of thing (many)." -"Booklist"

Review

"Paul Hoffman's newest novel, "The Left Hand Of God", certainly delivers the terrible goods. . . .There's gloom aplenty here, but it's tempered by a sly wit, complex characters, and a narrative engine that grinds all objections to dust. . . . [An] epic tale, full of grand passions that twist in the hand like a knife blade."
-"The Onion A.V. Club"

"Clever phrasing and innate humor . . . this novel will make a rousing next step for fans of Terry Goodkind, R. A. Salvatore, and their ilk."
-"Library Journal"

"A riveting tale of pursuit, derring-do, battles, and death...a rousing trilogy-opener...a sweeping tale of intrigue and warfare-for teens who like that sort of thing (many)."
-"Booklist"

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1130 KB
  • Print Length: 380 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0525952187
  • Publisher: Penguin; Re-issue edition (28 April 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0141042397
  • ISBN-13: 978-0141042398
  • ASIN: B004V2WRBI
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (115 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #13,313 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review from The Word Fiend 30 May 2011
By Shelagh
Format:Paperback
**Warning: As this is the second book in a trilogy this review may contain spoilers for those who have not read the first one, The Left Hand of God.**

I had mixed feelings after finishing the first book in this series, The Left Hand of God. I enjoyed the world that Paul Hoffman has created and was intrigued by Thomas Cale, the violent and unpredictable young man at the heart of the story. But I wasn't entirely sure I liked how The Left Hand of God had ended. So I was very excited when I received The Last Four Things for review to see what had become of Cale and his friends.

But first a note on the book's cover - I like it. The blue light backlighting the hooded and armed warrior as he advances into the darkness of the foreground fits in well with the Redeemers' outlook. And especially with their view of Cale as God's wrath incarnate.

Paul Hoffman has created a fantasy world that draws strongly on the "real" world for its names and culture. But it's the way he has combined these elements that makes this world different. Medieval culture exists beside ancient Greek and so on. I found that the references to civilizations and places I know made it easier to submerge myself in Hoffman's world. His writing style is easy and there are some great turns of phrase throughout The Last Four Things.

The religion of The Hanged Redeemer plays a crucial role in this series. It shapes the characters and many of their decisions and actions in one way or another. Again Hoffman has drawn on the history of Christianity and used elements to create something familiar, but dark and unsettling at the same time. The politics and infighting that is an intrinsic part of any such large organisation allows Hoffman to introduce subplots and greater complications.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Unique 11 Jun 2011
By Parm TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Hardcover
"The Last Four Things"
So how does the sequel to "The Left Hand of God" fare? I think for a lot of people it will have a similar marmite effect, it is one of those books that leaps and bounds around the imagination, pulling references from the literary world willy-nilly EG: Edmund Spencer's A view of the present state of Ireland, to show a description of starvation (which Hoffman does in gruesome fashion), the king James bible, a Boer war training manual and many more. As well as ideas from historical references and a geographical elasticity that just boggles the mind, Spanish Leeds being just one example a story that is laced with cynicism at so many elements of society and religion. In this book there is also a heavy dose of cynicism aimed at the ease of propaganda and its use in society to tip the balance of power to any intended use.

I have read reviews that state the characters are flat and some of the prose ill formed, I personally have to disagree, I have found that the characters are growing well with the books, there is a very dark dangerous brooding character to Cale, and Vague Henry and Kleist really are growing as individuals in this book with unique characters that really shine out from the page, if they are less dynamic than Cale it feels deliberate to me because what else could they be when this attention black hole enters the room/ page.

For me this is one of the most original fantasy series in many years, I have been put off fantasy in many ways since the death of David Gemmell, and this is one of the few authors able to drag me back.

I highly recommend this to anyone who likes their fantasy, their dark novels, and also to those fans of Historical fiction who like to dabble in fantasy...but you MUST read left hand of God before this book, it is the one weakness that the books really cannot be read in isolation. (Parm)
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Filler 15 Jan 2014
Format:Paperback
In case you hasn't got the message in TLOFG, Thomas Cale is an Angry Young Man. He pulls lots of angry faces and gets so angry, he turns into a fifteen year old military genius in battle. In all fairness, he has been trained for his entire life to be a military genius, so if he wasn't, OFSTED would surely be placing Redeemer Psychopath school, or The Sanctuary, in Special Measures for not ensuring students were set challenging enough targets.

I'm going to restrain myself somewhat, because I have to remind myself that this is a YA book, therefore can't really be subject to the same criticism adults books receive. The prose is very simple and falls into the same trap writers of 1000 page plus novels often fall into: repeating the same ideas/plot over and over again. Except this isn't 1000 pages, so it really doesn't need to.

I read the book fairly quickly, so apologies if there was more to it than an endless round of battles and some half-arsed attempts to develop intrigue. I keep feeling that Hoff has enough material for a much longer novel, as nothing is ever developed: Oh, so in this quasi-mediaeval society you've discovered atoms, have you. WTF? Tell me there's a proper explanation for that in book 3.

We don't see so many descriptions of the girls this time, although being pregnant they appear to have lost their sexuality and personailties entirely. Way to put women firmly in their place; cheers. Again, I get the clumsy redemption ideas at play here: fatherless, abused boys becoming fathers in turn, but it still feels as though too many ideas are being thrown into the pot and not developed.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Lovers this book
Published 15 days ago by iris
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly amazing.
It completely lived up my expectations. Incredibly amazing.
Published 16 days ago by antolin
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, as was part one
Very good, as was part one...part three is sitting on my shelf waiting for me to get time to read it!
Published 24 days ago by Madwilf
5.0 out of 5 stars but really enjoyed this series and found it easy to get caught ...
I can't seem to stop reading Historical Fiction, but really enjoyed this series and found it easy to get caught up in. Read more
Published 29 days ago by Mr. B. Garrod
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a good series for fantasy fans
This is a good series for fantasy fans. There are three in the series. An excellent read. Surprisingly I found myself really liking the main character in this book despite the... Read more
Published 2 months ago by H Butcher
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Good Read
Published 2 months ago by JohnT
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
History great, only lacks a bit in the writing
Published 3 months ago by Pedro Esteves
1.0 out of 5 stars Unfinished
After thoroughly enjoying the first book in this trilogy, I was astounded by the disconnected indeed unfathomable storyline. Read more
Published 3 months ago by rod
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Spiffing
Published 4 months ago by Dr Mark
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Trilogy
My sister asked me to acquire this book for her so it must be good
Published 4 months ago by Seligor
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category