Last to Die: (Rizzoli & Isles series 10) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
£9.59
  • RRP: £11.88
  • You Save: £2.29 (19%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Last to Die (Rizzoli &... has been added to your Basket
Trade in your item
Get a £0.29
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Last to Die (Rizzoli & Isles Novels) Audio CD – Abridged, Audiobook


See all 28 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Audio CD, Abridged, Audiobook
"Please retry"
£9.59
£4.54 £4.92
CD-ROM
"Please retry"
£14.08

Trade In Promotion

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Audible.co.uk, an Amazon Company, is home to more than 100,000 audiobook downloads. Start a 30-day free trial today and get your first audiobook for FREE.



Frequently Bought Together

Last to Die (Rizzoli & Isles Novels) + The Silent Girl: A Rizzoli & Isles Novel (Jane Rizzoli and Maura Isles) + Ice Cold (Rizzoli & Isles Novels)
Price For All Three: £28.15

Buy the selected items together


Trade In this Item for up to £0.29
Trade in Last to Die (Rizzoli & Isles Novels) for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £0.29, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Audio CD
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio; Abridged edition (25 Jun. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1423392469
  • ISBN-13: 978-1423392460
  • Product Dimensions: 12.7 x 1 x 14 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (292 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,022,340 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Bestselling author Tess Gerritsen is also a physician, and she brings to her novels her first-hand knowledge of emergency and autopsy rooms. But her interests span far more than medical topics. As an anthropology student at Stanford University, she catalogued centuries-old human remains, and she continues to travel the world driven by her fascination with ancient cultures and bizarre natural phenomena. She started off her writing career with romance novels, now published by Mira. But in 1996 she switched to writing thrillers with her novel HARVEST, inspired by the anger she felt about the illegal trade in human organs. It was her first New York Times bestseller. Since then she has become an internationally bestselling author of crime novels, and her thriller series starring Boston detective Jane Rizzoli and medical examiner Maura Isles is the basis for the hit television series "Rizzoli & isles." She lives with her husband in Maine. For more information on Tess Gerritsen and her novels, visit her website: www.tessgerritsen.co.uk.

Product Description

Review

"Intelligent and unrelentingly realistic . . . Be warned: Last To Die can feel like the real thing" (Sunday Express)

"The detectives are on top form" (Daily Telegraph)

"Intelligent and unrelentingly realistic...Be warned: Last To Die can feel like the real thing." (Sunday Express)

"The detectives are on top form" (Telegraph) --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Book Description

It’s gory. It’s gripping. It’s Gerritsen. The page-turning new thriller featuring series heroines Detective Jane Rizzoli & Dr Maura Isles. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and Kathy Reichs. --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful By S. Finch on 27 Sept. 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
A good read which is difficult to put down although it may be necessary to suspend disbelief from time to time. In addition to the regulars - Detective Jane Rizzoli & forensic pathologist Maura Isles- there are a couple of other returning characters.
For this reason I would recommend you first read the Mephisto Club which introduced readers to the somewhat unbelievable, but powerful, secret society fighting evil - led by the mysterious Anthony Sansone. Also The Killing place which introduces Julian 'Rat' Perkins + also has Sansone heading to the rescue of Dr Isles. Of the three I enjoyed this latest book the most.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
41 of 43 people found the following review helpful By Warnie Wombat on 21 Aug. 2012
Format: Hardcover
You can always depend on Tess Gerritsen for a thrill a minute storyline, gripping characters and an ending that will leave you well and truly satisfied - Last to Die is no exception. Slick, commanding and powerful the book once again draws on the colourful relationship between Boston ME Maura Isles and Detective Jane Rizzoli who still can't escape - no matter how hard she tries to ignore their calls - her weird and unhinged family. Although we don't get to hear much from her parents and Frankie - her brother - it's more than enough to help set the tone for the entire book. Desperate to move on Rizzoli can't escape the clutches of her parents and the detective is called in yet again to help resolve critical familial issues.

That aside the relationship between Maura and Jane develops nicely and although the pair are separated for large chunks of the story Gerritsen still manages to put the two in danger and their personal relationship evolves as a by-product.

The characters are colourful and inviting, I don't think there was one character I didn't like. As with any good murder mystery you spend enough time wondering who will turn out to be the guilty party and why, Last to Die will not disappoint. There are a number of red herrings along the way to steer you down one path or the other - only time will tell if you are walking down the right one. I know I wasn't!

Characters and relationships aside it was the setting that won me over. A former private castle, Evensong is a magnificent building. I was completely blown away by Gerritsen's descriptive powers and the building had quite the effect on me.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By OEJ TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 16 Aug. 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Tess Gerritsen is an unusual if not exceptional writer, in that she's been around for a long time but unlike many of her peers she actually seems to be getting better with age. No way can you accuse her of resting on her laurels; she really tries to write a great story every time - and while I admit there have been some 'so-so' efforts now and then, generally speaking she's still at the top of her game.

So how about her latest, Last to Die?

Detective Jane Rizzoli and Medical Examiner Dr Maura Isles must protect three orphans whose foster families have each been murdered. Now hidden away in the mysterious Evensong boarding school, these three children may still be in danger, pursued by a relentless killer. In New York, young teen Claire Ward survived a car crash that killed her foster parents. In New Hampshire, 14-year-old Will survived an explosion that killed his aunt and uncle in their farmhouse. In Boston, 14-year-old Teddy has already survived a massacre a couple of years earlier, one that wiped out his whole family. Now, unbelievably, history repeats itself and his foster family is killed and he finds himself orphaned once more. Rizzoli steps in to investigate, and then Teddy is almost killed yet again. For Rizzoli all thoughts of bad luck and coincidence go out the window - someone is pursuing this boy in the most sickeningly violent way. So she hides him away in what should be the perfect sanctuary, but still someone seems to know where he is. Not only that, but she learns that there are other children whose past lives somehow manage to resemble Teddy's. Rizzoli teams up with Isles to protect him and the other orphans from an unspeakable secret, and catch a psychologically obsessed killer.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Brett H TOP 50 REVIEWER on 15 Oct. 2014
Format: Paperback
Generally I enjoy Tessa Gerritsen's work and this is certainly eminently readable if, perhaps rather unlikely. The plot revolves around three youngsters who, having each seen their families slaughtered then witness their foster carers suffer a similar fate a couple of years later.

It seems there must be a linkage between the three in some way, but Rizzola and Isles struggle to establish what it is. For me this was the best part of the story, but the truth, when it was revealed, was so far fetched as to be almost farcical and the conclusion was all rather glib and superficial. The shady Mephisto Club operating in the background added a further dubious layer to the whole story without throwing the CIA into the mix for good measure!

So overall it's a book which is easy reading but hard to take at all seriously and certainly not up to the author's usual high standard.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback