Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Shop Suki Ad Campaign Pieces Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Discover more Shop now
Start reading Last to Die: (Rizzoli & Isles series 10) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Add Audible Narration
Last to Die: A Rizzoli and Isles Novel, Book 10 Narrated by Tanya Eby £10.89 £3.49

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

Last to Die: (Rizzoli & Isles series 10) [Kindle Edition]

Tess Gerritsen
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (345 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £7.99
Kindle Price: £3.66 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £4.33 (54%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Audible Narration

Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £3.49 after you buy the Kindle book.


Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £3.66  
Hardcover £18.99  
Paperback £3.85  
Audio Download, Unabridged £0.00 Free with Audible trial
MP3 CD £11.52  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Book Description

Three children, strangers to each other, are brought together by seemingly motiveless and extreme acts of violence. Orphaned and alone, they are taken in as students at Evensong, a boarding school for emotionally traumatized children in the remote Maine wilderness.


Forensic pathologist Maura Isles already has a connection with the school - Julian 'Rat' Perkins, the 16-year-old boy she met during a previous case, is now living there. But she suspects that the Evensong founders may be using the school for their own agenda. And her concerns grow when Detective Jane Rizzoli is asked to investigate yet another attempt on the life of one of the orphans at the school . . .


What both Jane and Maura soon discover is that even a school protected by locked gates and acres of forest cannot shut out a gathering threat. When three blood-spattered twig dolls are found hanging from a tree, they wonder if the threat comes from outside the school . . . or from within.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Page of Start over
This shopping feature will continue to load items. In order to navigate out of this carousel please use your heading shortcut key to navigate to the next or previous heading.

Product Description


"Intelligent and unrelentingly realistic . . . Be warned: Last To Die can feel like the real thing" (Sunday Express)

"The detectives are on top form" (Daily Telegraph)

"Intelligent and unrelentingly realistic...Be warned: Last To Die can feel like the real thing." (Sunday Express)

"The detectives are on top form." (Seven, Telegraph)

Book Description

It's gory. It's gripping. It's Gerritsen. The page-turning new thriller featuring series heroines Detective Jane Rizzoli & Dr Maura Isles. Perfect for fans of Kathy Reichs and Karin Slaughter.

(Rizzoli & Isles 10)

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2358 KB
  • Print Length: 353 pages
  • Publisher: Transworld Digital (16 Aug. 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B007T8XWAG
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (345 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #3,081 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?

More About the Author

Bestselling author Tess Gerritsen is also a physician, and she brings to her novels her first-hand knowledge of emergency and autopsy rooms. But her interests span far more than medical topics. As an anthropology student at Stanford University, she catalogued centuries-old human remains, and she continues to travel the world driven by her fascination with ancient cultures and bizarre natural phenomena. She started off her writing career with romance novels, now published by Mira. But in 1996 she switched to writing thrillers with her novel HARVEST, inspired by the anger she felt about the illegal trade in human organs. It was her first New York Times bestseller. Since then she has become an internationally bestselling author of crime novels, and her thriller series starring Boston detective Jane Rizzoli and medical examiner Maura Isles is the basis for the hit television series "Rizzoli & isles." She lives with her husband in Maine. For more information on Tess Gerritsen and her novels, visit her website:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another solid read 21 Aug. 2012
You can always depend on Tess Gerritsen for a thrill a minute storyline, gripping characters and an ending that will leave you well and truly satisfied - Last to Die is no exception. Slick, commanding and powerful the book once again draws on the colourful relationship between Boston ME Maura Isles and Detective Jane Rizzoli who still can't escape - no matter how hard she tries to ignore their calls - her weird and unhinged family. Although we don't get to hear much from her parents and Frankie - her brother - it's more than enough to help set the tone for the entire book. Desperate to move on Rizzoli can't escape the clutches of her parents and the detective is called in yet again to help resolve critical familial issues.

That aside the relationship between Maura and Jane develops nicely and although the pair are separated for large chunks of the story Gerritsen still manages to put the two in danger and their personal relationship evolves as a by-product.

The characters are colourful and inviting, I don't think there was one character I didn't like. As with any good murder mystery you spend enough time wondering who will turn out to be the guilty party and why, Last to Die will not disappoint. There are a number of red herrings along the way to steer you down one path or the other - only time will tell if you are walking down the right one. I know I wasn't!

Characters and relationships aside it was the setting that won me over. A former private castle, Evensong is a magnificent building. I was completely blown away by Gerritsen's descriptive powers and the building had quite the effect on me.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good mystery thriller from Tess Gerritsen 16 Aug. 2012
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Tess Gerritsen is an unusual if not exceptional writer, in that she's been around for a long time but unlike many of her peers she actually seems to be getting better with age. No way can you accuse her of resting on her laurels; she really tries to write a great story every time - and while I admit there have been some 'so-so' efforts now and then, generally speaking she's still at the top of her game.

So how about her latest, Last to Die?

Detective Jane Rizzoli and Medical Examiner Dr Maura Isles must protect three orphans whose foster families have each been murdered. Now hidden away in the mysterious Evensong boarding school, these three children may still be in danger, pursued by a relentless killer. In New York, young teen Claire Ward survived a car crash that killed her foster parents. In New Hampshire, 14-year-old Will survived an explosion that killed his aunt and uncle in their farmhouse. In Boston, 14-year-old Teddy has already survived a massacre a couple of years earlier, one that wiped out his whole family. Now, unbelievably, history repeats itself and his foster family is killed and he finds himself orphaned once more. Rizzoli steps in to investigate, and then Teddy is almost killed yet again. For Rizzoli all thoughts of bad luck and coincidence go out the window - someone is pursuing this boy in the most sickeningly violent way. So she hides him away in what should be the perfect sanctuary, but still someone seems to know where he is. Not only that, but she learns that there are other children whose past lives somehow manage to resemble Teddy's. Rizzoli teams up with Isles to protect him and the other orphans from an unspeakable secret, and catch a psychologically obsessed killer.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Latest in the Mephisto Club series 27 Sept. 2012
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
A good read which is difficult to put down although it may be necessary to suspend disbelief from time to time. In addition to the regulars - Detective Jane Rizzoli & forensic pathologist Maura Isles- there are a couple of other returning characters.
For this reason I would recommend you first read the Mephisto Club which introduced readers to the somewhat unbelievable, but powerful, secret society fighting evil - led by the mysterious Anthony Sansone. Also The Killing place which introduces Julian 'Rat' Perkins + also has Sansone heading to the rescue of Dr Isles. Of the three I enjoyed this latest book the most.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite crime thriller of 2012! 29 Dec. 2012
This was, without a doubt my favourite crime thriller of 2012, in fact my favourite in a long long time - and I read a lot of crime thrillers!

I though 'Ice Cold' was going to be hard to beat, but this latest installment from duo Rizzoli & Isles was simply un-put-downable!

Set in a castle / school deep in the Maine countryside. 'Evensong' is a school run by the dark & mega-rich character Anthony Sansone, whom we met in the earlier Mephitso Club books. The school houses 'damaged' kids, who have all at some point in their short lived encountered death of those close to them.

Three children, somehow connected are transferred to the school and are being tracked down by unknown killers, who have already wiped out their families.

It is down to Maura Isles & Jane Rizzoli to keep them safe and find out who is trying to kill them & why.

I just loved the characters in this book and the setting in the castle felt like a real old fashioned murder mystery.

Five stars Tess!
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category