Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
11
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 August 2011
I bought this because the reviews sounded good, but was disappointed. This book tries to cover all aspects of Sri Lankan wildlife in just 135 pages. It provides an interesting general read, but it's far from being comprehensive and far from being useful for identifying the wildlife you're likely to see in Sri Lanka.
E.g Sri Lanka has 446 species of birds - the book covers birds in 24 pages and shows pictures of 34 of them. Sri Lanka has 243 species of butterfly - the book covers butterflies in three pages and shows pictures of 5 of them. People have their own reasons for liking or disliking a particular book, but for me it wasn't very useful, and it's quite costly. I'd have been better off getting one of the field guides (e.g. maybe one by the same author)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
Interesting book, with a good set of facts, but not many varieties of animal in here. We went on a game drive and saw a lot of animals not included. I could have done with more pictures of more animals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
Perhaps a good book to read before you go. As a handbook to aid identification lacking in pictures detail and content and absolutely useless for this purpose. The wonderful Photographic Guide to the Birds of Sri Lanka is unavailable anywhere, but every local guide seems to have one, borrow theirs
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2011
This is a short though well produced book is a bright, colourful overview of the fauna of the beautiful island of Sri Lanka and therefore an excellent non specialist tourist guide.

The book goes beyond the basics of wildlife in that it provides a good guide to the climate zones and habitats of the country and offers practical advice on what places to visit and what species to look out for. The text is accompanied by generally very good photographs. The author's knowledge and enthusiasm shine through the pages as he takes the reader on a tour.

The specialist bird or animal watcher needs to look at other books of that genre, but as a general guide, the book does a great job in conveying the beauty and excitement of Sri Lanka. I found it a great companion on our trip and would recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2011
A nice guide, but would have expected some more for the money. Like detailed guidance maps and more on the suggested itinerary.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2010
You can always rely on Bradt guides for clear and concise information. This book is well illustrated and contains a lot of information for such a compact book. The size of the book is key if you hope to take it away with you on hols, and this one will easily fit in a handbag or camera bag. It is well indexed so you can find what you're looking for pretty quickly, hopefully before the animal disappears round a corner as if often the case!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2009
I have found this book to be invaluable. Take any car journey in Sri Lanka and you will see wildlife! You may even find the odd lizard or gecko in your hotel bedroom! This handy little guide is light in your luggage and small enough to pop into your handbag. It has great photos and clear descriptions so you can identify all of the wonderful creatures you will see.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2010
Very useful book and covered just about everything I needed for a wildlife trip to Sri Lanka. It does appear a little thin but then again Sri Lanka isn't a large country.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
A good book if you are visiting and want an idea of what you might expect to see, not a definitive referrence book but a good guide.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
An easy way to know what you're seeing in Sri Lanka's national parks - a great addition to your packing - we found it invaluable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)