Start reading LOST SOULS on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

LOST SOULS
 
 

LOST SOULS [Kindle Edition]

Neil White
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (70 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £1.88 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £5.11 (73%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £1.88  
Hardcover, Large Print --  
Paperback £6.99  
Audio, Cassette, Audiobook --  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.


Product Description

Review

Praise for Fallen Idols:

‘Fallen Idols has been hailed as a stunning debut’.
The Blackpool Gazette

‘Fallen Idols…has all the hallmarks of a great read for crime-thriller fans with celebrity killings, conspiracies, revenge and even a hint of romance’.
The Weekly News

’… a whirlwind of a novel…a serious contender to match the giants of the crime fiction world’
Crimesquad.com

Product Description

Sometimes the worst nightmares happen in broad daylight…

An utterly gripping novel for fans of Peter James and Mark Billingham, from a rising star in the crime genre.

A woman is found brutally murdered on a quiet housing estate, her tongue and eyes ritualistically gouged out.

Children are being abducted and then returned to their families days later without a scratch and with no knowledge or where they have been - or with whom.

If DC Laura McGanity thought moving from London to sleepy Lancashire was taking the easy option then she can think again. Already worried about uprooting young son Bobby to follow her reporter boyfriend Jack Garrett back to his hometown, she must quickly get a handle on these mystifying cases terrifying the people of Blackley - without putting the local officers' noses out of joint.

Meanwhile, restless Jack is itching to get back to his writing and the cases provide the perfect opportunity to do so. But as he delves deeper into them, he finds murky connections between the two crimes and skeletons buried in the most unlikely of closets.

Most astonishing of all, he meets a man who 'paints' the future - terrible events come to him in vivid dreams which he then puts onto canvas. This 'precognition' is not so much a gift as a curse and to Jack it becomes terrifyingly that many people, including his own family, are in danger…


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 497 KB
  • Print Length: 528 pages
  • Publisher: Avon (29 May 2009)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B002UZ5JMM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (70 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #13,511 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Neil White was born and brought up around West Yorkshire. He left school at sixteen but studied for a law degree in his twenties, then started writing in 1994. He is now a lawyer by day, crime fiction writer by night. He lives with his wife and three children in Preston.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback
This is the first Novel of Neil White's I have read and it most certainly will not be the last.
The book gives a thoroughly gripping read.
The characters jump to life.
It is based around 3 main characters.
Jack - (a Reporter)
Laura (Jacks girlfriend who just so happens to be cop who is also a mother)
and
Sam (a Lawyer)
A Spate of Gruesome murders take place.
Meanwhile there are Children going missing who are snatched in the street and then reappear unharmed and having no memory of where they have been.
An Old Man has dreams of the Murders - Is he the murderer?
You'll have to get the book to find out!!!

I have now started to read his first book Fallen Idols of how Jack and Laura Met and I can not wait for his third book to come out - you get a bit of a taster at the end of Lost Souls!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful...not to be missed 10 Aug 2011
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
The only problem I'm finding with Neil White's superb Garrity/McGanity series is that once you've started, you can't put the books down. And I'm going through them at a helluva pace!
This is the second one and is even better than the first. The plot is imaginative and intriguing, and unwinds with all the usual twists and turns to keep the reader guessing.
The writing is superb and the descriptions sometimes graphic. In fact, the whole structure of this book, even down to the completely error-free editing..unusual for a Kindle version..is quite incredible for a little known author.
But Neil White will not be 'little known' for long I suspect. His leading characters, so sensitively drawn, are good for a very long series indeed and the limit will only be the author's ability to come up with unique and fascinating story lines.
As I write this, I am already 50% into the next one..Last Rites..and I can tell you that things just get better and better.
Believe me, this is a series that you simply must not miss.
Was this review helpful to you?
29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent British crime read! 2 Aug 2008
By A. Douglas TOP 1000 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback
This is the first book I have read by Neil White and it will not be the last. I love books by Mark Billingham, Karin Slaughter, Tess Gerritsen etc and now I have another author to add to my most wanted list. This book sails along at a great pace. It isn't cheesy or predictable at all and kept me totally gripped. I think Jack and Laura and Sam are great characters and hope we see more of them!
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ., 23 Nov 2010
Format:Paperback
As I was going onto hospital I bought a few of Neil Whites books to stop me getting bored after my op I had never read anything by him before but a friend recomended him and I must say I enjoyed them imensley IThink the combination of romance and crime thriller really works well.I will certainly read him again
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like it when pot luck delivers! 11 April 2012
By rick
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I'm a big fan of crime fiction, particularly when there is a main character or characters who are defined well enough that you quickly grow to not only like them but are keen to join their journey. I picked this from a random "recommendation" here on amazon and was very pleasantly surprised!

the combination of detective and journalist is a good balance, and their distinctive characterisations completely believable, not only in how they chase the "bad guy" but how they interract with each other.

I think many have said already if you enjoy Mark Billingham; Kerry Wilkinson or Jo Nesbo's novels, you'll enjoy this too (and others by Neil White, I've now read a few!)

highly recommended by this happy reader!

Rick
[...]
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read in bed 17 Aug 2010
Format:Paperback
This is the first of Neil white's books that I've read and I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it. The interaction of characters took the story forward. I've got another title waiting on my bedside table. Should get round to starting that one sometime next week.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nearly gave up on this one. 12 Oct 2011
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I've read & enjoyed all of the Garret/McGanity series of books by Neil White, albeit not in the order they were written. I would recommend any of this series to anyone interested in a good, tightly plotted detective yarn. If you're a fan of Mark Billingham's excellent "Thorne" books, chances are you'll enjoy these too. However "Lost Souls" differs from the rest of the series by using a supernatural phenomenon as a plot device - there are characters in this book who seem to be able to predict the future, and the plot turns on this to some extent. I was waiting for it all to be exposed as an elaborate hoax, but it never is. It seems that we are asked to believe in "precognition" (as it is referred to in the book) as a viable scientific theory (it isn't). Now, if you are the type of person who believes in the supernatural you won't have a problem with this... but if, like me, you like your crime fiction to be based in REALITY and don't believe in mediums, psychics or fortune telling, because science has shown that no-one can actually do it under circumstances which preclude cheating, then you may feel this book is not up to the same standard as the rest in the series, by quite some margin.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!! 13 Mar 2009
Format:Paperback
This is my first review so bare with me.

This is the 2nd in the Jack Garrett series. A Lancashire based crime reporter who fights crime with a little help from his friends. I really enjoyed this, it was a fast paced and thrilling novel...had me sitting of the edge of my seat at times...and jumpy when I was home alone reading it. You can pick this up and read from this book but I'd recommend starting with Fallen Idols which is just as good.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category