• RRP: £16.99
  • You Save: £2.11 (12%)
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Knights of the Hawk (The ... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Knights of the Hawk (The Conquest) Hardcover – 24 Oct 2013

4.5 out of 5 stars 53 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£14.88
£3.99 £2.79
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£14.88 FREE Delivery in the UK. Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Knights of the Hawk (The Conquest)
  • +
  • The Splintered Kingdom (The Conquest)
  • +
  • Sworn Sword (The Conquest)
Total price: £40.86
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Hardcover: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Preface Publishing (24 Oct. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1848093225
  • ISBN-13: 978-1848093225
  • Product Dimensions: 16.2 x 3.8 x 24.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (53 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 339,558 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

James Aitcheson was born in Wiltshire in 1985 and studied History at Emmanuel College, Cambridge, where began his fascination with the medieval period and the Norman Conquest in particular.

"Sworn Sword" is his first novel, and the first in the Conquest Series, featuring the knight Tancred and set in England during the tumultuous years that followed the Battle of Hastings in 1066. Tancred's adventures continue with "The Splintered Kingdom" and "Knights of the Hawk". James is currently working on his fourth novel.

Visit http://www.jamesaitcheson.com for all the latest news and information about James and his books, his official blog, and details of future signings and other events. Follow him on Twitter at @JamesAitcheson.

Product Description

Book Description

The third novel in the compelling Conquest series (1066: The Bloody Aftermath) from the author of Sworn Sword. Perfect for fans of Ben Kane.

About the Author

James Aitcheson was born in Wiltshire and studied History at Emmanuel College, Cambridge, where he developed a special interest in the Middle Ages. He is particularly interested in the Anglo-Saxon period and the Norman Conquest, a time of tremendous change that proved to be one of the biggest turning points in English history. Sworn Sword is his first novel, and the first in his Conquest series featuring ambitious and oath-sworn knight Tancred. Knights of the Hawk is the third in the seires and sees Tancred and his allies venturing beyond English shores for the first time. For more about the author and his work visit his website at www.jamesaitcheson.com


Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By JPS TOP 500 REVIEWER on 3 Nov. 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This is "episode three" of Tancred's adventures, a half-Breton and half-Norman knight who has taken part in the invasion and conquest of England and, as this volume begins, is with the Norman army and King William besieging Ely and trying to root out Hereward the Wake and the last "insurgents" (as the Normans would have seen them, of course).

This in itself is rather original for the story (1066, Hereward the Wake and all that...) has generally been told "ad nauseam" from the "Anglo-Saxon" (or more accurately Anglo-Dane) side. I admit I was also initially a bit concerned after having read the synopsis and when ordering this book because, once again, we were going to be treated to the campaign and battles in the Fens, a topic that has already been flogged to death by a number of other authors. However, I need not have worried. Once again, James Aitcheson has managed to come up with a rather original and compelling story, even for this rather well-known episode. Once again also, he has made his characters come to life and "look and feel" real.

The campaign in the Fens and the assaults on Ely are rather well told, from the Norman perspective. William's initial assaults were indeed repulsed initially, and with great loss of life when they tried to storm the well-defended and near impregnable island surrounded by marshes and the sea. Their supplies were also been harassed, as shown at the beginning of the book. Their morale was low and King William was getting rather desperate as his frontal attacks failed one after another while supplies for his army were running out.
Read more ›
Comment 6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
James Aitcheson's writing style is free flowing and eminently readable. It is easy for the reader to understand that the author is extremely comfortable with the period of history that he is writing about. The story flows off the pages and maintains the interest of the reader throughout the book. No boring long passages or superfluous chapters from this author.

This is the third novel by James Aitcheson, and also the third one featuring Tancred a Dinant, an ambitious Norman knight. The first book Sworn Sword begins the story shortly after the conquest of 1066. Tancred's star is in the ascendancy. He has fought many times, and almost died at the hands of English rebels at Durham, where his lord is killed.

In the second book The Splintered Kingdom everything is going well for Tancred. His new lord, Robert Malet has granted Tancred lands on the Welsh Marches in payment for the services he has rendered and he is now a Lord in his own right, having a manor to live in and knights of his own to command.

In this the third book it is 1071, five years after the demise of Harold and Tancred's fortunes or lack of them have come full circle. Now almost penniless and with the trappings of fame fallen away, Tancred is marching with other Normans to quell the band of rebels hiding in the Fens. The rebels are the last vestiges of resistance to William the Bastard's total domination of England. What was expected to be a mopping up campaign turns out to be anything but, and Tancred's fortunes take yet another twist.
Comment 6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Parm TOP 500 REVIEWER on 24 Oct. 2013
Format: Hardcover
Review

Once again James Aitcheson well and truly knocks the ball out of the park, his latest book Knights of the Hawk is an action packed thriller. There are very few let up in the story for you to take a breath and pause, you literally find yourself flipping to the next page then the next, just one more page, just one more chapter, and then suddenly ...its 3am... how did that happen. totally lost in the world of Tancred.

I cant say he is the most likeable character, and in this book possibly even less so, but he is well written , and allows the reader a rare first person view of what it must have been like for the Normans having conquered this wild and proud land of Britain.

As usual the mix of fact and fiction is so well done, so blurred i really don't know where one start and the other ends. I always feel i have learned something important by the end of these books, even if its just how the British as they are today were formed into who they are. This period of our history is so wild, so varied, so violent, so action packed, so full of change. Never again would this land be conquered, so its so important to understand how it happened, and how we all formed together, how people like Tancred became British, something James Aitcheson does so well, with an obvious love of the towns and villages of old Britain, and what they must have seemed like so long ago.

Every time i read his books i feel transported back to that time, the sights sounds and smells sounds so clichéd in a review, but it really is a relevant comment for his writing, because he brings them all to life.

Another fantastic novel, i look forward to the next. Very highly recommended

(Parm)
Comment 6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By IP TOP 1000 REVIEWER on 26 Nov. 2014
Format: Paperback
The perfect gift for all history buffs is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKER Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

James Aitcheson treats us to yet another cracking read in this his third novel in the conquest series. I shall not delve into the plot as so many reviewers have already done so. Suffice it to say the narrative, as usual, is fast paced with plenty of gritty action scenes, interwoven with historical fact and captivating sub plots, I find his descriptive powers of the period absolutely compelling. Highly recommended.

For those who would like further information on this epoch I highly recommend the OSPREY Campaign, Warrior, and men at arms booklets, with great overviews, excellent illustrations, and highly detailed maps.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Look for similar items by category


Feedback