Knights of the Hawk (The Conquest Book 3) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £6.99
  • You Save: £3.14 (45%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 7 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Knights of the Hawk (The ... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Knights of the Hawk (The Conquest) Paperback – 22 May 2014


See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£3.85
£2.08 £0.01

*Three Paperbacks for £10 Offer
This title is in our Three Paperbacks for £10 promotion. Click here to see the full range. Offer only applies to Qualifying Items dispatched from and sold by Amazon. It does not apply to purchases made from third-party sellers at Amazon.co.uk’s Marketplace platform.
£3.85 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 7 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Buy three paperback titles for £10 from the qualifying selection, when dispatched from and sold by Amazon.co.uk Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Frequently Bought Together

Knights of the Hawk (The Conquest) + The Splintered Kingdom (The Conquest) + Sworn Sword (The Conquest)
Price For All Three: £15.83

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Arrow (22 May 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0099558297
  • ISBN-13: 978-0099558293
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 2.8 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (44 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 21,442 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

James Aitcheson was born in Wiltshire in 1985 and studied History at Emmanuel College, Cambridge, where began his fascination with the medieval period and the Norman Conquest in particular.

"Sworn Sword" is his first novel, and the first in the Conquest Series, featuring the knight Tancred and set in England during the tumultuous years that followed the Battle of Hastings in 1066. Tancred's adventures continue with "The Splintered Kingdom" and "Knights of the Hawk". James is currently working on his fourth novel.

Visit http://www.jamesaitcheson.com for all the latest news and information about James and his books, his official blog, and details of future signings and other events. Follow him on Twitter at @JamesAitcheson.

Product Description

Book Description

The third novel in the compelling Conquest series (1066: The Bloody Aftermath) from the author of Sworn Sword. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwall, Simon Scarrow and Ben Kane.

About the Author

James Aitcheson was born in Wiltshire and read History at Emmanuel College, Cambridge, where began his fascination with the medieval period and the Norman Conquest in particular. Knights of the Hawk is his third novel. For more about the author and his work visit his website at www.jamesaitcheson.com

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By J. Chippindale TOP 500 REVIEWER on 19 May 2014
Format: Hardcover
James Aitcheson's writing style is free flowing and eminently readable. It is easy for the reader to understand that the author is extremely comfortable with the period of history that he is writing about. The story flows off the pages and maintains the interest of the reader throughout the book. No boring long passages or superfluous chapters from this author.

This is the third novel by James Aitcheson, and also the third one featuring Tancred a Dinant, an ambitious Norman knight. The first book Sworn Sword begins the story shortly after the conquest of 1066. Tancred's star is in the ascendancy. He has fought many times, and almost died at the hands of English rebels at Durham, where his lord is killed.

In the second book The Splintered Kingdom everything is going well for Tancred. His new lord, Robert Malet has granted Tancred lands on the Welsh Marches in payment for the services he has rendered and he is now a Lord in his own right, having a manor to live in and knights of his own to command.

In this the third book it is 1071, five years after the demise of Harold and Tancred's fortunes or lack of them have come full circle. Now almost penniless and with the trappings of fame fallen away, Tancred is marching with other Normans to quell the band of rebels hiding in the Fens. The rebels are the last vestiges of resistance to William the Bastard's total domination of England. What was expected to be a mopping up campaign turns out to be anything but, and Tancred's fortunes take yet another twist.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Kate TOP 500 REVIEWER on 12 Nov. 2013
Format: Hardcover
Five long battle-weary years have passed since the Battle of Hastings and Tancred, a Breton knight who won his reputation if not his fortune fighting by William of Normandy's side, has changed. In this, the third in James Aitcheson's fine Conquest saga, Tancred has moved further from his Norman and Breton roots. Now lord of Earnford in the Severn Valley he is beginning to think of England as home, his allegiances are becoming more complicated and his experiences of this new land are turning him into an increasingly fascinating hero.

In Sworn Sword (The Conquest Series) and The Splintered Kingdom (The Conquest Series), we watched Tancred's brutal fight to protect and avenge his lord, William Malet, while doing his duty by him. This most recently involved taking the sword to the men in the service of the Conqueror's most persistent rival, Eadger the Aetheling. In Knights of the Hawk Tancred's allegiance to the Malet family becomes much less straightforward and, despite his heroic efforts to beat William's English enemies from Ely and the fen marshes, Tancred is almost forced into becoming a knight with a personal mission of his own.

One of the great strengths of this series is the way in which Aitcheson brings to life the towns and landscapes of Britain as it was a thousand years ago. Saxon names are used (a full glossary is included) and this enables the reader to piece together a mysterious, ancient land which has tantalising touches of the familiar about it.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By JPS TOP 500 REVIEWER on 3 Nov. 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This is "episode three" of Tancred's adventures, a half-Breton and half-Norman knight who has taken part in the invasion and conquest of England and, as this volume begins, is with the Norman army and King William besieging Ely and trying to root out Hereward the Wake and the last "insurgents" (as the Normans would have seen them, of course).

This in itself is rather original for the story (1066, Hereward the Wake and all that...) has generally been told "ad nauseam" from the "Anglo-Saxon" (or more accurately Anglo-Dane) side. I admit I was also initially a bit concerned after having read the synopsis and when ordering this book because, once again, we were going to be treated to the campaign and battles in the Fens, a topic that has already been flogged to death by a number of other authors. However, I need not have worried. Once again, James Aitcheson has managed to come up with a rather original and compelling story, even for this rather well-known episode. Once again also, he has made his characters come to life and "look and feel" real.

The campaign in the Fens and the assaults on Ely are rather well told, from the Norman perspective. William's initial assaults were indeed repulsed initially, and with great loss of life when they tried to storm the well-defended and near impregnable island surrounded by marshes and the sea. Their supplies were also been harassed, as shown at the beginning of the book. Their morale was low and King William was getting rather desperate as his frontal attacks failed one after another while supplies for his army were running out.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category


Feedback