Buy Used
£2.80
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

King Arthur: Warrior of the West Hardcover – 1 Oct 2009

4.1 out of 5 stars 22 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£999.11 £0.01

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Hardcover: 512 pages
  • Publisher: Headline Review; 1st Edition 1st Printing edition (1 Oct. 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0755348680
  • ISBN-13: 978-0755348688
  • Product Dimensions: 16.2 x 24.1 x 4.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (22 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 749,068 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Book Description

The second book in a dramatic trilogy about the legend of King Arthur sure to appeal to fans of Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

M. K. Hume is a retired academic, who is married with two grown-up sons and lives in Queensland, Australia. Having completed an MA and PhD in Arthurian Literature many years ago, M. K. Hume has now written a series of magnificent novels about the legend of King Arthur. For more information visit: www.mkhume.com.


Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
The remarkable sequel to Dragon's Child continues the tale of Arthur, king of the Britons whose legendary tale is one cherished by so many readers. The story picks up from where it left off with Artor crowned High King and whose blood-soaked reign has lasted twelve long years. The Saxon scourge has been banished, replaced by a united Celtic Britain that has conquered external threats standing now at its zenith. M. K Hume captures the exquisite depth and intricate detail of the times, presenting you with a realistic, well-researched vivid account of the age - thus the myths and legends are brought to life once more. As Artor's kingdom is threatened unknowingly from within, he makes the ultimate choice with Wenhaver becoming his Queen and second wife. It is her deep-rooted bitterness, her longing for the untouchable that poisons those around her, as she attempts to betray the one individual whom trusts her utterly and completely. Artor must make that sacrifice for his kingdom, for if not then a terrible fate may ensue that could threaten all that he has fought for...

(Quote) `...Artor will be the greatest of men. When the stars fall, and all we know is forgotten, Artor will be remembered. We, too, will become creatures of myth, as insubstantial as ghosts, because we were a part of his life here on Earth. Some men were born for burdens, and one of those is Artor. Some men were born for tears, and Artor is one of those men...'

This exciting, compelling and truly magical tale is a historical masterpiece and outstanding achievement of such great scope thought impossible. MK Hume outshines all other authors who have written works based on the Arthurian legends and tales of Merlin; including Camelot, Guinevere, the round table and the Knights such as Sir Gwain and Sir Lancelot.
Read more ›
Comment 5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This review is based on the Atria Books edition.

M. K. Hume's Warrior of the West continues the story of King Arthur in an exciting and entertaining way. Dragon's Child was an intriguing introduction to The King Arthur Trilogy, but this novel reveals the true vastness of the epic story arc that the author has created.

Just like Dragon's Child, Warrior of the West is a gritty, mesmerizing and well written historical novel with a few fantastical elements. The fantastical elements include casting bones and prophecies etc.

Here's information about this novel:

- The events take place a few years after the events of Dragon's Child.

- Warrior of the West has been divided into two parts. The first part tells about Artor's battle against the Saxons. The second part tells about Artor and Wenhaver and what happens at Cadbury Tor.

- This novel begins with a meeting between the Celts and the Saxons. This meeting ends badly. Artor is at Cadbury Tor and awaits news of the possible truce, but receives different kind of news. A war council is held and the Celts decide to go to war against the Saxons, because the Saxons are brutally attacking against them. The war against the Saxons takes a lot of Arthur's time, because they have to win the war. Times are desperate, so the Celts must fight for their country...

- When the battle is over, Artor knows that he must soon take a new wife. He still misses Gallia, but he knows that he must marry somebody soon. Artor takes Wenhaver as his wife, but their life together isn't happy. Life at Cadbury Tor changes a lot with the coming of Wenhaver...

That's all I'll write about the story, because I don't want to reveal too many details and happenings.
Read more ›
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
As I said when I reviewed the first book in this trilogy "Dragon's Child", I have read and enjoyed Bernard Cornwell's Arthurian stories and Mary Stewart's somewhat whimsical tales of Arthurian Legend. However I have to declare that M. K. Hume's Arthurian legend is a superb unorthodox account of one of the most treasured of British legends, she is up there with Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

I find that her style of weaving a story is somewhat distinctive and brimming with detail and creativity. Her talent to place images of bloody battle scenes in your head and then to explain the subtle involvedness in her characters interactions is simply inspirational, furthermore if you are searching for a story weaver who can give you images of bloody battles you won't be let down.

It's always good to come across another great historical series and this new trilogy from M K Hume looks set to be one. The first book follows the story of Arthur from childhood into manhood. Exciting, violent and bloody and full of historical facts to keep you gripped throughout.
This tale includes all the time-honoured elements of this legend but this weaver of tales presents us with an original, unsentimental and most crucially a quite plausible tale.
I'm not saying it's perfect it's different, a bit darker and if you want to read of Arthur of the Britons beneath the customary legend then M. K. Hume has given us that choice.
Anyhow to the book;
M K Hume grasps this legend by the scruff of its neck and arranges the story based on realism and logic by producing a young man who struggles to accept the fate that is his by heritage in a brutal and bloody age.
Read more ›
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback