or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Amazon Add to Cart
7.95
Includes (What's this?)
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Available to Download Now
 
Buy the MP3 album for 7.49
 
 
 
 

Kicking The National Habit

Grand National Audio CD
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
Price: 7.95 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock.
Sold by Giant Entertainment and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 30 July? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details
Buy the MP3 album for 7.49 at the Amazon Digital Music Store.


Amazon's Grand National Store

Visit Amazon's Grand National Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Frequently Bought Together

Kicking The National Habit + A Drink And A Quick Question + The B Sides And Remixes
Price For All Three: 34.11

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product details

  • Audio CD (24 May 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Sunday Best
  • ASIN: B00024755M
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  Vinyl  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 132,106 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         

Samples
Song Title Time Price
Listen  1. Drink To Moving On 3:190.99  Buy MP3 
Listen  2. Talk Amongst Yourselves 4:250.99  Buy MP3 
Listen  3. Playing In The Distance 4:000.99  Buy MP3 
Listen  4. Boner 4:200.99  Buy MP3 
Listen  5. Peanut Dreams 3:150.99  Buy MP3 
Listen  6. Cherry Tree 3:120.99  Buy MP3 
Listen  7. Coming Round 4:200.99  Buy MP3 
Listen  8. Daylight Goes 4:010.99  Buy MP3 
Listen  9. North Sound Off 3:520.99  Buy MP3 
Listen10. Litter Bin 3:570.99  Buy MP3 


Product Description

Amazon.co.uk

The revival for all things early 80s shows no real sign of abating--but as long as there continues to be records made as fine as Kicking The National Habit, the debut LP from Grand National, it's easy to be convinced that a spot of nostalgia is no bad thing. Whereas bands such as the Rapture and Radio 4 resurrect the darker side of post-punk, this north London duo--comprising multi-instrumentalists Rupert Lyddon and Lawrence Rudd--hail back to the genre's more tuneful outfits: think less the abstruse death disco of PiL, and more the melancholy neo-pop melodics of XTC, the Police, and Talk Talk. Still, this is no out-and-out retro piece. Grand National's main skill lies in their ability to twin their fine songs to tight electronic productions, striking the perfect midpoint between live organics and cool digital sequencing: hear how "Playing in the Distance" hooks a weighty club beat to robust live bass and shrieking brass, or "Cherry Tree", which builds its sad rock elegy on a foundation of chic disco beats. --Louis Pattison

Product Description

I will ship by EMS or SAL items in stock in Japan. It is approximately 7-14days on delivery date. You wholeheartedly support customers as satisfactory. Thank you for you seeing it.

Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album I've Heard This Year 13 July 2004
By A Customer
Format:Audio CD
I've just been rolling through what are supposed to be the pick of the crop of this summers talent (Franz, Killers, Scissor Sister, Ordinary Boys) and I've discovered this gem.
The feel of the guitar from the early tracks is something new to me and while I haven't gone to deeply in to the lyrics, the vibe I get from the first few listens is huge.
Deserves to sell in large numbers.
Excellent.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to blend Pop and House music 28 May 2004
Format:Audio CD
Just in time for the summer!!! This album is a little gem. It's totally a new sound but yet it sounds like a classic.
It's a mellow and inspired blend of pop riffs, funky and heavy clubbin' basslines and dicso beats.
It sounds a bit like Air covering the Rapture...Simply fantastic.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!! 15 Nov 2004
By Jekyll
Format:Audio CD
I bought this album the other day after hearing alot about it recently and reading some of the reviews on here. And I must say, I was not disappointed in the least. Every tune is funky, fresh and fab. My weekend was spent playing the album at high volume, getting drunk and dancing round the lounge with a few mates, was just doing the usual setting ourselves up for some weekend antics. Buy it now!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars simply beautiful 21 May 2004
Format:Audio CD
this album is the perfect album for those chilled out days in the summer. funky and mellow tunes that get better with each listen.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.6 out of 5 stars  13 reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just for Kicks 29 Aug 2004
By altmalta - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD
I have to admit it, this year I have been thoroughly spoilt rotten with all the great releases that I have had the privilege to review. Just when I thought things would dry up ANOTHER new band has turned up. This time Grand National.

Grand National consist of two very talented multli-instrumentalisits: Rupert Lyddon and Lawrence Rudd and together they create a very exhilarating and refreshing type of music.

`Kicking the National Habit' has all the elements of great British bands. In these brief 38 minutes one can hear New Order, Joy Division, (Coming Round, Daylight Goes) Blur, Happy Mondays (Boner, North Sound Off) and Early Primal scream. Also there is a ska-ish track (Peanut Dreams). `Kicking's...' musical diversity can make someone react to music in different ways. Some bits make you want to dance and some just to chill out to and the great thing is that you don't feel exhausted. I would say that when the record finishes you want to press play again. An album that deserves to be hailed as a classic.
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictively Kicking 8 May 2006
By Adiro Patten - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD
I just heard this album at a friends house. It burrowed into my brain-squirrel like a fresh box of chewties - I couldn't tear my fists away from it. I took the highway home with the windows down going way too fast and I didn't notice the cops chasing me until I sat down to write this. I'll leave it playing on my stereo...
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should be 4.5 stars, more on that in a tic... 27 Sep 2004
By THE_DUCK - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD
Alright, what we have here are some genre bending, diverse and absolutely wonderful musicians. It's almost impossible to essentialize just what kind of music this duo plays; some say it's the Police if they made it out of the 80s, while others compare it to about every English rock band of the last 20 years. I'm not even going to try to compare them to anything, the only thing of substance that I can bring to the table is that on a track to track basis Grand National never has trouble delivering. There is song for every mood, whether you want a crazy ska like horn section (Boner) or some bass laden mellowness (Peanut Dreams).

My only complaint is that in total the 10 tracks add up to about 38 minutes or so, which isn't enough, I would like to see some more length, and that's the only reason I can see not to give it 5 stars, because these blokes are top notch and its worthy of anyone's hard earned buck.
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Hipsters Unite! 27 May 2006
By Zengrrl - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD
Look no further for your next "too cool to ever be played on the radio" find. This album simply begs to be added to your probably already envy-inducing music collection, if you:

1. Were raised during the 1980's and think that popular music from 1990 onward has, for the most part, disappointed,

2. Wonder whatever happened to 80's new wave, pop, or punk, or

3. Are an electronica fan(atic) looking for something off the beaten trance/house/triphop path that will still appeal to your tragically hip and sophisticated sensibilities.

All of these three apply to me, and I hope that this album is a sign of things to come on the music scene. I imagine that this album will be in incredibly heavy rotation for some time to come. My summer soundtrack is certainly looking up these days! Thank you Grand National! May we hear much, much more from these guys in the future.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faboulous 11 Sep 2006
By J. Wahlgren - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
This cd has made me an instant fan of grand national. Pick this one up. It is faboulous. Great music and vocals. The funky disco like style on a few tracks takes some getting used to but once you get it, you get it. This is right up there with Air-Talkie Walkie. Happy music. There are four really good tracks: Drink to Moving On, Talk amongst yourselves, Cherry Tree, and Talk amongst yourselves (sasha mix).
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Look for similar items by category


Feedback