Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
26
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 August 2011
Venerable Geshe Kelsang Gyatso is a fully qualified Buddhist Master, and this becomes immediately obvious when reading his books.
Joypath of Good Fortune is wonderfully comprehensive. Not for the absolute beginner (in my view) but and excellent next step for someone who whishes to understand Buddhism in greater depth. This book sets out the path to enlightenment in clear logical steps in a way that is clear and easy to read. This is profound subject matter, prepare to have your mind expanded!! (Awesome!)
No one, in my experience, explains the wonderful intricacies of Buddhist Philosophy in such a clear and simple way. This is a truly a masterful book that I feel very fortunate to have encountered.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
One of the best books on Buddhism I've ever read ! The book is set out in a very detailed way , broken down into parts from the beginning of the Buddhist path to the ultimate goal , enlightenment . It's a very practical book for anyone to follow in modern times , well worth reading and memorising . You could think of this as the Buddhist 'Bible' .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2011
The learning evident in this book is evident in its condensed lucidity. If someone knows their stuff really well they're then able to present it to others without obscuring the topic in technicalities. That's what the author of this book has done in regards to the presentation of the Buddhist Path known as the 'Lamrim' (Stages of the Path). He has done this to an even greater extent in books such as 'Modern Buddhism' & 'Transform Your Life', the latter of which is particularly accessible for complete beginners. For those who want a more complete presentation of the whole Buddhist path this book delivers. Geshe Kelsang always writes his books as working documents, by which I mean they're meant to be utilised in meditation practice. You could read and benefit from it academically, but that's not why it was written. This means the presentation is designed to be contemplated & absorbed, with the reader bringing as much to it as the author. Geshe Kelsang provides everything the reader needs as a platform for their own practice, including how to prepare for meditation & how to apply meditation in your daily life. It is a very nurturing text and for the practical reader at any level of interest it will provide a very enriching experience.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
This is quite simply the best book on Buddhism available. It presents the complete Lamrim path to enlightenment. All 21 meditations are covered. The book ranges from simple practical instructions - for example setting up a shrine - to advanced topics such as emptiness. It is beautifully written. Clear and authentic Dharma. Don't rush it. Take it a bit at a time and you will gain immensely in your practice. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2012
This amazing book by Tibetan meditation master Geshe Kelsang Gyatso is incredible. I have read lots about Buddhism over the years, but this presentation makes everything easy to understand and presents Buddha's teachings in a very logical manner. It is full of anecdotes, examples and stories. my favorite bit is a detailed explanation of how to develop perfect concentration (tranquil abiding).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2011
Well what to say about this book! Firstly, what it is not. It is not a book full of fluffy stories about Buddhism. It is not a light read. What it is, is a comprehensive explanation of the Lamrim presented by Atisha, faithful to the texts produced by earlier Buddhist masters. (Lamrim is a special presentation of Buddha's teachings in 21 linked meditations)
It is a book to be studied and referenced. Every question you could ask about the Lamrim will find its answer in this book. For those who wish to practice Lamrim meditations and truly understand their objects of meditation, this book is perfect. It goes into great depth and detail about the meditations, and as such could be considered quite heavy going. This is not a fault - simply the natural result of a close examination of the subject matter.
The author has produced other books which are more suited to the beginner or casual reader, such as 'Transform your Life' which is an exceptionally clear and readable book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2001
This is an important book for Buddhists and those interested in becoming Buddhists. It is a practical manual on how to change your life and your attitude to life. But a note of caution: It is heavy going if you try to read the book without any guidance. The New Kadampa Tradition offer courses both at their meditation centres and via correspondence. The courses are based on the book and will help you progress to enlightenment (hopefully!).
11 comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2000
Geshe Kelsang Gyatso presents the complete Buddhist path to enlightenment in this wonderful book. He explains clearly all the essential teachings of Buddha from the point of view of the Tibetan Gelupga tradition. The basis of the book is 'Lamrim', a system of 21 meditations that incorportate all the stages of the path to enligthenment. Through engaging in these meditations sincerely and trying to apply the insights we gain to our everday lives there is no doubt that greater peace of mind and happiness can be achieved. Venerable Gyatso (who is a fully accomplished Tibetan meditation master and scholar) presents these teachings in a logical and lucid manner, making the book a joy to study. He gives helpful advice on how to handle and ultimately solve all our day to day problems. I can personally guarantee that, if practised sincerely, following these wonderful teachings will bring greater joy and happiness to one's life. However, I would not recommend this book to someone unfamiliar with Buddhist thinking and meditation. Although Venerable Gyatso explains and presents beautifully Buddhist teachings, it would be better for someone unaccustomed to Buddhist thinking to begin with a simpler book. The author has also written 'Introduction to Buddhism' which I have also read and commend. Highly recommended to those who are already familiar with Buddhist meditation and wish to find greater peace of mind and true happiness. A wonderful book.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2004
Geshe Kelsang Gyatso's explanation of Lamrim is extraordinarily clear. The strict, logical and eloquent use of English enable the reader to gain unmistaken understanding quickly.
If you have made a determination to practise Lamrim in Je Tsongkhapa's lineage, I would say this book is essential. For a beginner or someone with passing interest, I would say Transform Your Life by the same author is more suitable.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2001
I have been a student of meditation and eastern religion and philosophy for a while now but this is the first time I have come across such a comprehensive text on buddhist meditation, practice and philosophy. In this work the author presents a series of 21 meditations known as 'Lamrim' which is the main meditation practice of Kadampa Buddhists. The author also explains essential doctrines such as karma and emptiness in a very symtematic, clear manner. An essential text for those interested on eastern practices in general and Tibetan buddhism in particular.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)