Start your 30-day free trial

Quantity:1
Johnny Cash - Music In Re... has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller with over 3 million feedback ratings, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
£6.99
& FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20.00. Details
Sold by: Love-Your-Books
Add to Basket
£8.26
& FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20.00. Details
Sold by: hifi-media-store
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
Colour:
  • Johnny Cash - Music In Review [2007] [DVD]
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
      

Johnny Cash - Music In Review [2007] [DVD]

1 customer review

Price: £6.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
27 new from £1.50 4 used from £0.19 1 collectible from £8.31

LOVEFiLM By Post


*Buy Any DVD or Blu-ray and Get £1 Off Amazon Instant Video
Enjoy £1 credit to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Instant Video when you purchase a DVD or Blu-ray offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 credit per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 BST on Tues, June 30, 2015. Learn more (terms and conditions apply).
£6.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Enjoy £1 credit to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Instant Video when you purchase a DVD or Blu-ray offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 credit per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 BST on Tues, June 30, 2015. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)
  • Check out big titles at small prices with our Chart Offers in DVD & Blu-ray. Find more great prices at our DVD and Blu-ray Bargains Store.

Frequently Bought Together

Johnny Cash - Music In Review [2007] [DVD] + Presents A Concert Behind Prison Walls [DVD] [2007]
Price For Both: £12.98

Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Format: Colour, DVD-Video, PAL, Widescreen
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: German, Italian, Spanish, Swedish, French
  • Region: Region 2 (This DVD may not be viewable outside Europe. Read more about DVD formats.)
  • Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 1.77:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Classification: Exempt
  • Studio: Classic Rock Legends
  • DVD Release Date: 29 Jan. 2007
  • Run Time: 65 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • ASIN: B000LE1ENW
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 173,905 in DVD & Blu-ray (See Top 100 in DVD & Blu-ray)

Reviews

Critical review of the music of the 'man in black' Johnny Cash, featuring rare interviews, archive footage and comment from leading critics and working musicians.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
0
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful By John R. Gidley on 15 Feb. 2010
Format: DVD Verified Purchase
a great pity that this documentary fell into the usual trap and showed clips that were talked over ,it ruined my enjoyment of this dvd
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4 reviews
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
A Splendid Introduction and Superb Addition 18 Sept. 2007
By C. C. Black - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD Verified Purchase
Whether you are new to Johnny Cash or own every record he ever made, this contribution to the British series "Music in Review" is well worth having. The DVD is exceptionally well produced, chronicling with accuracy the many phases of Cash's career, from its Sun-rise with Sam Phillips to sunset with Rick Rubin's American label. Performances of many Cash classics are intercut with informative, sometimes hilariously risqué interviews with such important figures as W. S. "Fluke" Holland, Bob Wooton, and "Cowboy" Jack Clement. (The latter's encore performance of "Hernando's Hideaway" has nothing to do with the proceedings but is a madcap bonus suggesting why Cash loved having Clement around.) The delightful surprise, however, is the well-illustrated, 72-page booklet that accompanies the disc. More than mere liner notes, it fleshes out in some detail (and only a few errors) the artist's life and work without repeating what can be seen and heard on the disc.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Not the same issue- Cheaper with no booklet 28 Jun. 2008
By Steve Ramm - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD
I noted that the same reviewer gave this release a 5 star review and posted the same review on the 2007 release of this DVD. He lauded it for the 30-page booklet included, among other things. BE AWARE that the 2008 release is not the same packaging. There is no booklet. And no additional features other than a "photo gallery". That said, I'll now comment on the 2008 DVD issue.

The positives - The producers used important folks in Cash's career - members of his band in most cases - and got some great stories. Unlike many of these "Review" documentaries (all coming from the UK), there are less "music critics" as talking heads. And the footage included is stuff that's rarely seen. Taken from Danish TV, German TV, the BBC and even Polish TV! The quality of the prints is only passable but I've never seen much of this before (though no complete performances are shown).

"Cowboy" Jack Clement, who was producer of "Ring of Fire" and played on many of Cash's records as well as other Sun records, is really funny. (There's a great DVD doc on Clement out there as well - on Shout Factory).

The negatives - Besides no booklet - which I didn't really need anyway - the MAJOR defect is that the DVD is not "indexed" and is one long hour-long track so you can't go back to find your place without fast forwarding through it. The copyright notices for each excerpt of performance are prominently shows at the top of the screen that I'm sure will annoy many viewers.

The 3 stars I gave were for the interview content and chance to at least see some of these non-US performances - though brief. Without this, I'd probably cut another star off the rating. True Cash fans will want to see this at least once. But don't base you purchase on the first 5 star review. It's a different package (and much less expensive).

Steve Ramm
"Anything Phonographic"
An excellent overview of "The Man In Black' 7 Jan. 2009
By Geraldine D'Onofrio - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD Verified Purchase
Country music was not an interest during my "swing" days, but once I discovered "Hi, I'm Johnny Cash have purchased most books and videos. This particular DVD: Johnny Cash: Music in Review is highly recommended.
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Deffective Disc 10 Oct. 2008
By Allen L. Myers - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD Verified Purchase
While I enjoyed the content of this DVD, it ultimately turned out be defective. The disc froze and skipped in several places. It did this on both of my DVD players and in my computer. I returned it to Amazon.com and received a replacement. Unfortunately, the replacement did the same thing and in the same places. Maybe, when new stock arrives at Amazon, it will not contain these defects.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback