Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
77
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

"Out Of Africa" was nominated for 11 Oscars, including Sound and Original Score. This recording by the Royal Scottish National Orchestra is nearly identical to the 12 song `official' soundtrack. However, there is an additional seven minutes of music, including the complete Adagio from the Mozart clarinet concerto and some miscellaneous traditional music that was omitted from the film. The sweeping drama is still here and I see little difference between the Original and this recording other than seven minutes. It's a toss-up, but each one will not disappoint.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2004
What is this music? It's beautiful? Whether it is just background to a dinner party or a quiet time when you're soaking in the bath or infromt of the fire.... This is really "feel-good" music. Enjoy!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2009
This is not the original version of the soundtrack written and conducted by John Barry for Out Of Africa, but a 1997 re-recording by Joel McNeely and the Royal National Scottish Orchestra.

In my view, it actually beats the (very nice) original recording. When I want to listen to the soundtrack, I listen to this recording, and not the original. It also benefits from having a couple of extra cues, and misses the dreadful pop song from the end of the film.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2000
This is one of my all time favourite soundtracks. It has a certain epic quality and romance which brings you very much back to the wide angle scenes of the movie and stays with you even after you've stopped listening. It is also quite varied, so you don't need to worry about too much repetition. I highly recommend this one if you're a romantic!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2009
Don't be fooled by Julian's (Peck)review of this release, whilst the John Barry original is undoubtedly fine this is the better recording and more rewarding version. The RSNO (one of the great European Orchestras) under McNeely excels.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2009
I saw the film years ago, and it's one of those films that leaves an imprint on your memory - superb acting by Meryl Streep and Robert Redford, against a breathtaking background, of a time and lifestyle gone by - and the music just adds that depth to the experience. Listening to the tracks now just brings it all back to me, nostalgic as John Barry's scores often are, with that wide-open-spaces and epic quality. Fabulous!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
John Barry wrote the music for this Movie with a little inspiration from BACH. It is a easily recognised musical score. A delight to hear and can simply be described as sublime. The soundtrack is mainly slow movement (ADAGIO). What a simply beautiful piece of music written by John Barry the master of soundtracks and easily can be described as a very successful modern day Composer when you realize how many scores he has done for movie soundtracks. Dances with Wolves & Somewhere in Time are some others including many of he Bonds films. You will not be sorry when you out this soundtrack on and listen to the fabulous soundtrack.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2003
Advert states: "film score [SOUNDTRACK] [SOUNDTRACK]" Don't be fooled. I was. This is not the original (film score [SOUNDTRACK] [SOUNDTRACK] recording from the film but a newly recorded album. Not the same and very dissappointed.
33 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2010
Barry has a unique gift to be able to carry the listener into the world of the 'mental traveller' as Karen would say.

Out of Africa has long been one of my favourite films so discovering this CD has been a delight.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
As there was only 27 mins of music in the film, a lot of which is based on the haunting main theme, the record is somewhat basic. Even then the record has apparantly an extra piece of music on it added by ??? to make up the time, To me this is not in keeping with the theme and is a waste of time. I would much have prefered a differant rendering of the main theme or even something else by John Barry.
Either way it is a very moving piece of music which nearly brings me to tears each time I hear it & I have not seen the film. Noddy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)