Johannes Cabal: The Fear Institute: The Fear Institute and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
£8.99
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 3 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Trade in your item
Get a £1.09
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Johannes Cabal: The Fear Institute (Johannes Cabal 3) Paperback – 16 Feb 2012


See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£11.99
Paperback
"Please retry"
£8.99
£4.95 £2.35

Frequently Bought Together

Johannes Cabal: The Fear Institute (Johannes Cabal 3) + Johannes Cabal the Detective (Johannes Cabal 2) + Johannes Cabal the Necromancer
Price For All Three: £25.17

Buy the selected items together


Earn a Free Kindle Book
Earn a Free Kindle Book
Buy a book between now and 31 March and receive a promotional code good for one free Kindle book. Terms and conditions apply. Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Headline (16 Feb 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0755348001
  • ISBN-13: 978-0755348008
  • Product Dimensions: 13.1 x 2.3 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (50 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 121,064 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Jonathan L. Howard is a game designer and BAFTA nominated scriptwriter of some twenty years experience.

He's been a novelist since 2009, débuting with the darkly humorous "Johannes Cabal the Necromancer." Since then the sequels "Johannes Cabal the Detective" (2010) and "Johannes Cabal: The Fear Institute" (2011) have also seen print.

A new Cabal novel is set for publication in late 2014.

2012 saw the publication of the first novel of his Russalka Chronicles trilogy, "Katya's World," a YA science fiction story that takes place on the dangerous and unforgiving ocean-covered world of Russalka. The first sequel, "Katya's War," was published in 2013.

2014 saw the beginning of the "Goon Squad" project, an ongoing story of mismatched superheroes, published in monthly episodes.

Jonathan L. Howard lives with his family in the English West Country.

Product Description

Review

'Readers, rejoice; Johannes Cabal is back... Howard's Dreamlands will thrill fans of H. P Lovecraft, but Cabal leaves a permanent mark on even the most fluid of landscapes, and Howard's writing shines, sketching out a personality both fascinating and heartbreaking, on an adventure that reverberates from Dreamlands to the waking world, with a future that every reader must hope involves many more stories to come' (www.bookgeeks.co.uk)

'There are thrills. Laughter. Tears. I am almost inclined to say this is the best Johannes Cabal book yet. Until the next one, I suspect. Read it. You'll be hooked' (Dracula Society Newsletter)

Book Description

The third novel in this fantastic new series, a must for fans of Terry Pratchett and Tim Burton

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 16 Oct 2011
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Let's start off by saying I have read the other two books before this one and was already a fan going in to this third novel. There are other reviewers saying this book stands alone (if that's how you wish to read it) however I must recommend reading the others first.

There is a progression in character for Johannes Cabal through the books. It's a subtle change but enjoyable to see through the three novels. Then there will be the odd mention of a character or event from one of the past adventures. Though fans of the series may be sad to see certain characters not making a reappearance.

To be completely honest I don't know why anyone would read this first but perhaps others aren't as fussy when it comes to books as I am. And I suppose the three books all do seem to have their own "flavour" after all. The first, a mad race to beat the devil. The second, a murder mystery detective novel. Then this one, a boy's own adventure in to the strange dreamlands.

The fun of Johannes Cabal is, for me at least, in Johannes Cabal. A man that walks a fine line. He could be easily unlike-able but isn't. There's fun in reading his thoughts on whether or not to just shove his employers over a cliff and have the stupid adventure over and done with. Herr Cabal is a man not afraid to kill if it means having his way or not having to listen to someone's annoying chatter anymore. He's smarter than those around him which leads to a constant sarcastic tone.

The setting of the book, The Dreamlands, is a wonderful exercise of the imagination. The idea is that it is a land created by people's dreams. Time is subjective and things don't quite happen how you would expect them to.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 11 Jan 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Johannes Cabal novels just keep getting better. While I liked them all, in the first one he was a touch too maudlin for my taste, and in the second one he fully found his delightful sarcastic self but I thought the detective story a bit boring. In this one however, we experience Johannes at his sarcastic best, together with a great story line. I absolutely love his attitude as well as the incredible amount of lovely nasty offhand one-liner comments (other reviewers have quoted some).

I really liked how different the 3 Johannes Cabal books were - the first one while funny had quite a lot of tragic undertones, the second was a genuine detective story, and this one is a merry tale heavily playing with the worlds of H.P.Lovecraft. I'm really hoping there's more Johannes Cabal books coming.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Max on 29 Nov 2011
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
The Fear Institute is a story about the necromancer Johannes Cabal, who is commissioned to enter the world of dreams in order to seek out and kill the Phobic Animus, the embodiment of all the fear in the world. Of course, entering the world of dreams turns our seemingly objective world into an inconveniently subjective one. If you think something is going to happen, it just as likely will happen. And if you fear something, unfortunately there's a very good chance your fears will become reality (or whatever passes for reality in the world of dreams). Most inconveniently, the world of dreams is also the world of nightmares, leading to some encounters with some pretty imaginative monsters. And lots of ghouls.

Howard can write very well, which meant that as I read the first few chapters of The Fear Institute, chuckling to myself at the dry humour, I though I was onto a winner with this book. That feeling only strengthened as Cabal and his fellow fear-hunters entered the dream world - Howard's imagination is more than equal to the task of describing a subjective world made of dreams.

Sadly, though, the plot lets the book down. When you strip away the layers of imagination and wit that jump out at you from the page, the storyline is conventional and a bit boring. Cabal goes somewhere, fights some monsters/archly saves his companions from a terrible fate because his instincts for danger are so good/has a conversation with a god pretending to be a ghoul or something similar. The party moves on to the next place and the same thing happens, three or four times until suddenly they're where they've decided the Phobic Animus is, and the finale happens. I found myself losing interest in the second half of the book - and once that happened all the wit and imagination couldn't make me give this book any more than three stars.

Howard is a writer to watch and enjoy, but I hope he has a better book than this one in his back catalogue or up his sleeve.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
In this rationally cautionary tale I detected an undercurrent of H.P. Lovecraft, with a slight eddy of M.R.James, not bad influences for any author indulging in otherworldly adventures.

Rudely disturbed by a trio of disreputable, yet strangely diffident, small-town businessmen intent on an excursion not altogether connected with the usual 'business' type of junket, our anti-hero leads his ill-assorted force on a mission into a landscape through which many of us, our author included I'll warrant, trek on a nightly basis.

Herr Cabal is apparently the very antithesis of his fellow travellers, although those whom they encounter populate the dreams of most of us, being not entirely unlike our celebrated and feared necromancer, nor I should imagine too unlike our inner selves, what say you to this Messrs Freud and Jung? It's enough to make you want to stay awake forever.

If nothing else our business gents are meticulous planners, every and any eventuality prepared (However ill) for, including 'Attack by Soft Furnishings'. How heartily I endorse such an expedient, having frequenly been assailed by airborne cushions intent upon cranial damage. Once I even found myself in the Constrictor-like grip of a behemoth of a velvet curtain which I was attempting to hang, however, it was bottle green which shows the potential to be a particularly aggressive colour. Strange behaviour nonetheless as cool colours are supposed to retreat not advance, I suppose I must have backed it into a corner.

The Dreamlands it transpires are not the only place replete with unusual, not to say bizarre, settlements and conurbations '...Arkham lies in a region of reality where the weft and warp have worn dangerously thin...
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback