Trade in your item
Get a £0.05
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Jim Clark and His Most Successful Lotus Hardcover – 10 Jun 2004

2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£298.40 £47.15


Trade In this Item for up to £0.05
Trade in Jim Clark and His Most Successful Lotus for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £0.05, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Hardcover: 160 pages
  • Publisher: J H Haynes & Co Ltd (10 Jun. 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1844250296
  • ISBN-13: 978-1844250295
  • Product Dimensions: 17.1 x 1.9 x 23.5 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,025,161 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • See Complete Table of Contents

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

'as ever, Young has opened his treasure chest of anecdotes, adding colour to the characters' Motor Sport 'wonderfully detailed' Daily Express 'A very moving story, very well told' Classic & Sports Car

About the Author

Eoin Young - author of It Beats Working, winner of the Guild of Motoring Writers' 1996 Timo Makinen Trophy for outstanding motorsport coverage - has been writing about motor racing for over 40 years and was a personal friend of Jim Clark. He lives in Great Bookham, Surrey.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 22 Nov. 2004
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
A typical Eoin Young book. Most of the book is the history of Clark's famous car - a history that any Clark fan would be able to recite from memory. Nothing new at all. A small portion of the book recounts the tale of the Lotus 25, and where it had been since the 1960's. A few pages are given to the restoration project.
Some Clark fans (like me!) will buy the book anyway, but be prepared to be disappointed.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By tootoot on 22 Mar. 2011
Format: Hardcover
This is a typically excellent Eoin Young book. I found it interesting on a number of levels. It is obviously the history of one particular car as Young follows it from the Lotus factory to what was very nearly it's end as it passed through a number of owners on it's way from the very top of the sport to the very bottom.

There are also many interesting interviews with people who were around the Lotus F1 team as Clark and Chapman made their mark on history. Tales of how a championship winning team went about things all those years ago are worth the price of the book.

A must for Clark and Chapman fans and a good read for anyone with an interest in F1.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 3 reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
A worthwhile read for fans of Clark and Lotus 31 May 2008
By Jerry Harding - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
All in all, this is a good book. The title and subtitle seem to indicate Clark and Lotus 25 chassis R4 get equal billing, but that isn't really the case. The biography of Clark is more of an overview - and the author realizes this. In his introduction he states there are other books about Jim Clark, but that this book "is especially different in that it is the story of one car with the characters and amazing events woven around it."

It does this very well. The history of this particular chassis is well documented after Clark's World Championship winning season of 1963 to over thirty years later when it was restored back to 1963 specs. The book is not an engineering overview of the Lotus 25; you will be disappointed if that's what you are looking for. However, if you want to read a great story about a man and a car, then Eoin Young tells a great tale about the great Jim Clark and the amazing Lotus 25.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
A legend and his legendary car 21 Jun. 2012
By Scott Blake - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
This is a very interesting book about Jim Clark and his Lotus 25 R4, the car with which he won the 1963 World Championship. My belief is that Clark was the best racing driver of all time. There can never be enough books written about him and his career, this is one that is well worth reading.
A Lasting Tribule to Scotland's great Jim Clark 6 Mar. 2015
By William I. Brown - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Another great effort by Young covering Clark's most successful Grand Prix. Great photos, some seldom seen. A lasting tribute to an author that recently passed away. Essential piece to own if you're a Jim Clark fan, as I am.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know


Feedback