Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2014
This is a very good reference book. As the name suggests it is not very detailed as such a book on java would come into several volumes. This book is good for beginners or for experienced programmers who want to quickly go through new features of new releases of java.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2009
This is a very good introduction to the Java language, although in some places experienced-programmer readers will find the pace a bit slow. I think "Complete" is an over-ambitious title; there are parts of the Java standard libraries that are glossed over. Obviously it would be impossible to cover absolutely everything in one book, but I felt some of the more advanced material was pushed out by the need to cater for beginners. Having said that, it's very hard to write a one-size-fits-everyone programming book, and this is probably one of the best in that category, so full credit to Schmidt for that. But personally, I would have preferred him to have split it into two books: one for beginner-programmers, and one for those experienced in other languages, but new to Java. He could then have catered better for both audiences.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2011
I like this book, it covers a lot of JAVA ground.

I gave it a 4 star because of the way its explained, i think if i didn't had JAVA experience it would of been a little hard to understand all of the concepts. The book would really need more explaining on some sample codes in there.

Overall its a good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2009
Another very good book by Herb Schildt, a comprehensive guide to Javas begginer topics such as collections, multi threading, I/O and Networking.

Does not cover any Enterprise/Advanced concepts such as RMI or Security packages.

I would highly recommend this for anybody learning Java as i was, its is to this day still a great reference book and covers all the basic concepts required for the JSCP exam
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2011
Great book, it explains in details and provide alot of examples to make one understand, it is worth having it, I recommend it to most beginners and experienced programmers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2011
This is one big and long read, perhaps too extensive as a learning manual.
Unfortunately this used copy had someones scribbles in red ink in various places throughout the pages which was annoying.Not the most practical of learning aids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
great complete ref
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2011
This book is not only an exaustive reference on Java programming language, it is also an excellent starting point on object-oriented principles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2009
Absolute must if you are going to be serious about JAVA... All you ever need in one book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2009
i just started uni in sept and i bought this book to help with my java course its ok n some bits help but it dosent explain to much and is slightly more advanced than i hoped still keeping it as a ref book but aint much help atm but as i get to grips with the subject it will make more sense. btw i havent read it properly i didn buy it for that i wanted a quick refernce book but this is a lil to indepth for that use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)