Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars30
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
26
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£6.02

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 August 2001
This is a thoroughly enjoyable book for anyone who has shared their life with a dog. The stories focus on the different personalities and ways of dogs and are both touching and amusing. The stories could easily be related to experiences with my own dog and were very funny. This book speaks volumes about how wonderful dogs are and how they bring joy to your life. I have no hesitation in recommending this book. Ideal for any dog lover of any age!
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2001
this is simply a book that you can't put down. If you haven't read james Herriot's books before this will get you started. you'll whant too hear more about Gyp and Jake and Jock. 'READ IT NOW
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2010
This is a lovely read, short stories very enjoyable. James Herriot never fails to entertain !
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 September 2007
If you've read any of James Herriot's books about life as a country vet, then you might want to give this a miss. This book is a compilation of some of the best dog stories from his other books, so it might seem a bit of a waste of money if you've already read them there.

Still though, the stories are great. Heartwarming, timeless (I've already read them, but still had a lot of pleasure reading them again) and if you're new to James Herriot, this is a great place to start.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
Extremely funny and impossible to put down. Suitable for children 10 years old and above. Many of the stories are included in his other books but there are a few which are only published in this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2009
James Heriot is a master story teller for all animal lovers. All his animals are individual characters. In his heartwarming, humane and affectionate rendering of their tales, against the beautiful background of Yorkshire dales, you can't help falling in love with "all creatures great and small". You read the tales sometimes laughing, sometimes crying, but always feeing very close to those animals. Three generations of my family have read and enourmously enjoyed all his books, especially his Dog Stories. James Heriot's Dog Stories is an excellent gift for family, friends and neighbours, who love to cuddle with a good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
I liked it so much that I have bought extra copies to give to family and friends, and if ever I feel rather low, I will dip into it once again
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
Typical wit and artistry of the master, well balanced, highlighting the love of dogs james herriot had, laid out in a nice sequence
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
A must for all dog lovers it's all the things that you want in a book and more
Did not want to put it down
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
The very best from James Herriot. Nobody tells it like he does. I could read his books over and over again and he just makes me laugh and cry with his vivid animal stories. Being a farmer's daughter in Lancashire and also having veterinary nurse experience, these books are the very best in entertainment and so realistic. Vividly portrayed situations told with humour and true compassion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse