Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
12
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 November 2001
This book is phenomenal and is a must have for any Bond fan. I've never seen these posters in any other 007 book and I have them all. Film buffs in general will need to definitely add this breathtakingly beautiful book to their library.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2001
Tony Nourmand assembled a great variety of Bond posters and concept art from the 007 production company archive. Hightlights of the book are certainly the unusual "On Her Majesty's Secret Service" concept art designs and a colour rough from "Diamonds Are Forever". Chapters on "The Living Daylights" up to "GoldenEye" are a little disappointing as for the poster selection. On the other hand "The world is not enough" features some interesting pieces -watch out for the italian poster with the guy in jail. Quality of the poster reproductions is on a very high level. Beautiful presented. The background informations on the campaigns and artists are a little inaccurate in details but this will only be noticed by the advanced poster collector.
It is great to see that the "non official" Bond movies "Casino Royale" and "Never Say Never Again" are presented in the book. When I published an official Bond poster book in 1997 I was not allowed to include these two ! A very nice publication with some errors in details only.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2001
At last a collection of James Bond posters! While I wouldn't say this book is complete in a check-list sort of way, I do think it's pretty darn impressive. This book owes much to a German publication released in 1997 called LICENSE TO THRILL. In fact, it uses many of the same images and utilized the same basic format. But at least with this book I can read the text (or what there is of it).
The best thing about the book is the concept art for OHMSS, DIAMONDS ARE FOREVER, and LIVE & LET DIE. The OHMSS concept art is worth the price of the book alone. It shows you not just variant posters, but a whole different approach to marketing the movie. The "007 and Bride" posters are wild and I think this would have made a great campaign. It certainly would have been the most daring and different campaign ever done for a Bond film and I think perfect for this very special movie. For those of you who love montage art, you've got to see the Thai OCTOPUSSY and NEVER SAY NEVER AGAIN posters (too bad it doesn't have the Thai A VIEW TO A KILL which is in the German book).
The only disappointment (and this was true of the German book as well) is how little space is devoted to the later films, especially the Dalton films. Paramount is the fact that, even though they make reference to it in the text section for LICENCE TO KILL, there are no examples of the unused and vastly superior LICENCE REVOKED campaign by Robert Peak. This is a glaring omission! Also, where's the standard U.S. one-sheets for NEVER SAY NEVER AGAIN and FOR YOUR EYES ONLY? Strange.
But aside from these points, I would say this book is a must for Bond fans, especially if you don't have the German book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2001
I've been a fan for years, so didn't think there would be anything new in this book - I was wrong! The chapter on "On Her Majesty's Secret Service" is particularly good.
10 out of 10.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2001
The book promised interviews with Frank McCarthy & Robert McGinnis - where are they ? The text is very brief and in places innacurate. Daniel Gouzee was the artist for OCTOPUSSY not Renato Casaro ! The UK Quads are runied by having them spread across two pages. This is an inferior book when compared to a similar German release by Thomas Nixdorff. Official it may be but definitive it is not !
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2001
There has never been such a complete guide to the entire history of James Bond movie posters. Bond fans are going to love it... and who isn't a Bond fan !
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2012
Another great purchase from Elite Digital. I was looking for this book a long time ago, and finally found it. It has all the Bond posters from Dr. No to The World Is Not Enough. Essential in any Bond fan Collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2001
A book which is based on EON Productions (the James Bond company)archive could have been a little more accurate as for the facts on artists. I'm also missing the announced interviews and more unusual posters from around the world. Nice but no real surprises for the advanced Bond poster collector !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2010
Very simply, if you're a Bond fan, you'll love this book. The imagery and artwork are stunning and it's great to see the classic posters from the older Bond films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
Really love it.. bigger than i thought, clear pictures and discriptions. Book altho bought 2nd hand is in a great condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)