Jail Bird and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
Price: 2.22

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Jail Bird on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Jail Bird [Paperback]

Jessie Keane
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (136 customer reviews)
RRP: 7.99
Price: 6.39 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
You Save: 1.60 (20%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 7 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Thursday, 18 Sep.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 3.49  
Hardcover, Large Print 20.99  
Paperback 6.39  
Exclusive Extract
Take a peek at the prologue and first chapter of Jail Bird.

Book Description

27 May 2010

Murder, loyalty and vengeance collide in Jessie Keane’s gritty fourth novel.

Lily King has spent years behind bars

Convicted of murdering her husband, London villain Leo King, she hasn’t been missed. Everyone believes she got what she deserved, but Lily knows she was fitted up.

Now she’s out, and she doesn’t do forgiveness. In her absence, things have moved on and the old order has changed. But now she’s ready to reclaim her position as head of the King family.

Fuelled by vengeance, Lily King is back, and some people aren’t going to know what’s hit them.


Frequently Bought Together

Jail Bird + The Make + Nameless
Price For All Three: 15.84

Buy the selected items together
  • The Make 5.59
  • Nameless 3.86

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product details

  • Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Harper (27 May 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0007349408
  • ISBN-13: 978-0007349401
  • Product Dimensions: 19.6 x 12.7 x 3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (136 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 28,731 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Jessie Keane is the best-selling author of hard-hitting gritty dramas like No 1 Heatseeker Dirty Game, Black Widow, Scarlet Women and Playing Dead - all part of the Annie Carter series - and also Jail Bird starring Lily King, and The Make, starring Gracie Doyle.

NAMELESS, the 1st Darke family story, was published on August 30th 2012.

RUTHLESS, the 5th book in the Annie Carter series, was published August 2013.

LAWLESS, the 2nd book in the Darke family story, is due out in 2014.

For more details go to www.jessiekeane.com

Product Description

Review

Praise for Jail Bird:

'Fans of Martina Cole will love this' Teesside Evening Gazette

'Keane's have a grittiness and strong sense of place and character that make them especially compelling' Choice Magazine

Praise for Jessie Keane:

‘This is a riveting story, with gutsy, gritty characters and a genuine feel for the period.’ Books Monthly

‘A cracking story from a great new writer’ Mandasue Heller

'Jessie Keane gives us a fascinating insight into the rivalries and lifestyles of those who make fortunes out of a criminal way of life and of the lowlifes that carry out their orders.' Lincolnshire Echo

'Perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Lynda La Plante' Glamour

'Gritty and powerful, Martina Cole fans will love this addictive novel' Closer

'This is the sort of competition Martina Cole could do without and if Keane does hit the No. 1 spot it could be handbags, or more likely knuckledusters, at dawn' The Northern Echo

About the Author

Jessie Keane is the bestselling author of Dirty Game and Black Widow. Her most recent novel, Scarlet Women, the third in the Annie Carter trilogy, shot straight into the Sunday Times bestseller list. Jessie lives in Hampshire.


Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She gets better with each book she writes! 10 Jun 2010
By Best Crime Books TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Jessie Keane is an author that had her debut novel `Dirty Game' published in 2008. It was the first in the Annie Bailey series of books and was followed by `Black Widow' and `Scarlet Women' in 2009.

I read her first book and was hooked. Annie Bailey was such a great character and I was fearful that Jessie Keane would follow the all too predictable path that others do of relying too much on a good thing.

After reading all three in the Annie Bailey Series I was even more worried. How on earth could she top her last three books? Not only did I love her style of writing but I fell in love with the characters. How would I feel with a new lead character? Would it be any good or would she fail at the first hurdle? To my absolute relief Jessie Keane is made of sterner stuff. Through my letterbox came her latest offering entitled Jail Bird and I excitedly ripped it from its box and settled myself in for the duration.

Lily King has just been released from prison. She has spent the last 12 years of her life behind bars for the brutal shooting of her husband Leo King. When she is released she is determined to set the record straight. Not only does Lily have to prove she didn't kill her husband, she has to find out who did. She is battling not only Leo's family who want her dead, but her own daughters who can't stand the sight of her.

This book was an absolute corker and I read the book cover to cover in 2 days. It is everything Jessie Keane does but better. We meet a great leading character in Lily, she has guts and determination and is absolutely focused on finding the truth. She has her battles along the way and the characters that make up the King family are right on the money.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy it, read it... upset when finished ! 30 Jun 2010
Format:Paperback
Oh Jessie Keane, what an unusual book, I couldnt put it down, read it
in two days. such colourful characters, we have all met people
just like them.. cant wait for the next book by Jessie Keane..
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jail Bird 7 Jun 2010
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Great read. Don't want to put it down. Better than Jessie's previous 3 books. Great if you're a Martina Cole fan too.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 July 2010
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Jessie Keane never ceases to suprise me, I loved this book and can't wait for her next one. Very enjoyable and although the character Annie Carter wasn't in it, it was excellent.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Review of "Jail Bird" by Jessie Keane 4 Sep 2013
Format:Paperback
TWO DISCLAIMERS:

1) THE FOLLOWING ARE JUST MY OPINIONS.
2) I AM NOT A FAN OF CRIME FICTION. (I bought this book because it was cheap and because I like to have a working knowledge of popular, contemporary writers across the genres).

Yes, I wanted to know "whodunnit", but I did not enjoy the journey to the answer.

In her quest for revenge for being framed for the murder of her husband, Lily King, proves a courageous and gutsy character with unfailing love for her two daughters despite the barrier between them (owing to Lily's murder conviction, naturally). That is just about all there is to her character, however - she lacks any real interest and charm and I could not truly engage with her. Moreover, as she was knowingly married to a notorious Essex gangster (with the life of luxury that goes with it), I found her sensibilities towards his serial infidelity unrealistic and crass. The constant reminders of the humiliation and pain that her husband's repeat affairs have caused her only irritated me more (rather than filling me with sympathy for the character of Lily, as I believe was Keane's intention with this element of the story).

There is lots of repetition in the story, in fact. This weakens further what is already a weak and cliched story.

The rest of the cast are stereotypical crime fiction characters: baddies and tarts offset by one or two likeable characters.

The character "whodunnit" is, as I tend to find in crime fiction, a weak, unconvincing choice and left me feeling highly dissatisfied. In other words, I felt as if I had read the book for nothing. In fact, the circumstances around the murder, as presented in the last four of five pages, I again consider over-contrived and crass (and quite insulting!).
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good read..... 24 April 2012
By pippin
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
i have just finished reading jail bird by jessie keane on my amazon kindle and another superb story by miss keane
very much in the style of martina cole but without so much bad language. i will continue to read her books as and when
available on kindle.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. 24 Feb 2012
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I read a lot of reviews that said this book was not Jessie's best but i read it anyway and i thought it was brilliant. Half way through the book i was convinced i knew how it was going to play out but was pleasantly surprised. Would recommend to anyone who likes Mandasue Heller or Kimberley Chambers. Cant wait to read more of Jessie's books.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read 10 Dec 2010
By Max
Format:Paperback
I loved this book,lots of twists, didn't see the ending coming. Jessie Keane is a new writer to me, I picked this book because I loved Martina Coles books, however hers are becoming a bit 'same old'. I am on my 2nd Jessie Keane and will continue through all of them, bye bye Martina!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
read kimberley chambers.. she is the best of the bunch 1 4 Feb 2012
See all discussions...  
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback