Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
Price: 2.80

or
 
   
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Jaguars Ripped My Flesh [Paperback]

Tim Cahill
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback --  
Paperback, 1 Sep 2003 --  
Audio, CD, CD --  
Audio Download, Unabridged 17.25 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial

Book Description

1 Sep 2003
Tim Cahill has clambered up Mount Roraima in the Guyana highlands, searching for the site of Arthur Conan Doyle's Lost World. He's dined on baked turtle lung in the desolate northeast of Australia and harvested poisonous sea snakes in the Philippines. He's watched a wrestling match between a shark and an "underwater zombie" during a horror movie shoot off the coast of Mexico. In this classic collection of adventure travel writing, Tim Cahill writes evocatively and often hilariously about these close encounters. He also briefs us on gorilla etiquette, porcupine vendettas, and the loathsome fate awaiting those who disturb ruins in the jungles of the Amazon. JAGUARS RIPPED MY FLESH is an exhilarating roller-coaster of a book, by a writer who gives new meaning to the expression "going to extremes".

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product details

  • Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Black Swan; New edition edition (1 Sep 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0552771589
  • ISBN-13: 978-0552771580
  • Product Dimensions: 19.4 x 12.8 x 2.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 913,519 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

'This book would be a valuable resource to students of disability studies and to health and social care staff and other professionals who work with disabled people'- Disability and Rehabilitation --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Book Description

Extreme travel writing for fans of Bill Bryson, Peter Moore, P.J. O'Rourke, Tim Moore.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
First Sentence
Two fourteen-year-old rock climbers, Jim Deering and Ryan Angus, were stranded. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Curiously addictive reading 14 Feb 2005
By Kali
Format:Paperback
This was yet another charity shop purchase for under a pound and it was a dollar well spent. Tim Cahill's travel writing is punchy, funny and downright irreverent in places. It is also poignant, and darkly humorous, a travel book with a difference. Peru, Africa, Austrailia and even America are discussed from his unique point of view.
An especially good chapter is "Life and Love in Gorilla Country" a journey through Rwanda and the secret world of the Gorilla. It is not a sentimental chapter, it is brutal, sometimes funny but more often that not eye opening. He talks about how Gorillas have died at the hands of poachers and mentions the work of the Naturalist Dian Fossey.
This travel book is not for the squeamish or faint-hearted. Also it meanders a lot, jumping from place to place, subject to subject. You have to prepared to read it as a series of essays, travel logs articles that Cahill has written over the years and then put together to make up this book. However in this case it works and it is excellent from page one onwards. If you want a read with a sting in its tail, then this is definitely the book for you.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tim Cahill knew my father 21 May 2009
By Herbie Green VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
My father was at the launch of this book in Penguin Paperbacks when it came out, and we all met Tim in a pub - he is an amusing and interesting conversationalist, conveying equal excitement to the mundane as to the 'on the edge' experiences in life....and that's just how he writes. Reading his books is like have a conversation with a sincerely interesting person.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars As advertised 2 Aug 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Based on previous orders I almost said "good" more appropriate than "vry good", but I guess the best condition is "like new", so it was as stated, yes, And arrived in good time. Happy bunny here.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   



Feedback