Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars44
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 December 2004
This is a nicely produced book on the art of Scottish artist Jack Vettriano. If you are looking for an illustrated guide to the work of Jack Vettriano - then this is the book for you. Even though some of his better known works are missing from this volume it is still a good selection.
The reproductions are well thought out and presented, with the exception of one or two. These suffer the same fate as other books on the artist in that they are printed across the spine of the book.
If, like some, you are looking for an insight into the life of the artist, then you may be dissapointed here for there is very little narrative and, what is there is well known already. There is still room for an in depth look at the artist as well as that other vital ingredient, the artist's models.
This is an excellent illustrative guide to the work of the artist with a large number of well presented reproductions. Highly recomended for both the new-comer and the dedicated Jack Vettriano fan.
11 comment78 of 80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2009
Although published in 2004, 'Jack Vettriano: A Life', remains currently the most comprehensive visual reference book on Vettriano available to date covering, as it does, works from 1992 to 2004. The paintings are helpfully arranged both chronologically and around the fifteen exhibitions held of Vettriano's work during this twelve year period. This is the first book to list the paintings that appeared in Vettriano's exhibitions and as such, provides useful information for anyone wanting to study the artist's work and career in detail. A selection of paintings not featured in exhibitons are also illustrated in this book. Until a definitive catalogue raisonne is published of Vettriano's work, this is the book to go for if you are looking for a broad overview of the artist's career. The text is provided by Anthony Quinn, film critic for The Independent and himself a collector of Vettriano's work; it is biographical in content covering the artist's childhood through to his rise to prominence as an artist and ending in 2004, the year in which Vettriano was awarded an OBE for Services to the Visual Arts, was featured in a major documentary for The South Bank Show and the year in which The Singing Butler sold for just over £740,000. If you are looking for information on Vettriano's working methods, his cultural influences and his influence on mainstream culture, you should take a look at Jack Vettriano: Studio Life, published in 2008. Studio Life has very few illustrations of Vettriano's paintings but it features an in depth essay by Tom Rawstorne on Vettriano's work and how his life informs his work.
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 January 2008
The introduction and subsequent text is very brief, and provides a glimpse into the artist's background and rise to success. The text makes little if any critical comment about the artist's work, perhaps leaving the paintings to speak for themselves. The book concludes with a list of the artist's paintings and exhibitions. The book really is all about the pictures.

There are about 160 full colour reproductions of Vettriano's paintings of which about half dozen are small images illustrating the text, there are over thirty full page bleed pictures many of which in fact amount to a page and a half and include one double page spread (the best in the book?). However the bulk of the illustrations range from almost full page images to those which occupy about half a page or occasionally less. The quality of the reproduction is excellent, and the varied and attractive layout suits the images well, bold yet without detracting from the work.

For those of us who are perhaps used to seeing Vettriano's paintings merely as small reproductions adorning cards and the like, it is a revelation to see them produced so well and to a good size. Seeing them so it is easy to label his technique as commercial and slick; but there is no denying the immediate appeal and impact. Whether or not you are a fan of Vettriano's this is a book worth having, it shows the range of his work, from the dark and sensual to some very appealing high key paintings. Altogether it is a most sumptuous volume.
0Comment28 of 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 April 2010
My skin rarely tingles when I read or view an art book. It does when that artist is Jack Vettriano. This particular offering has several strengths - decent size reproductions of the paintings, a very good range, which includes many lesser known works, a chronology of the exhibitions that made him - with full listings of the works exhibited. This appeals to the aesthete in me and the geek in me, as well as the voyeur! I recommend this book as the best intro to Vettriano, both for fans and those who don't 'get' him at all. (Although I will say that those who fail to get Vettriano are just being wilfully snobbish.)Have a good stare at the less sexual offerings and consider their power as mood poems. Have a good stare at the more sexual ones and consider how much they say about things other than sex.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2011
It is pleasing to note that at least one Scottish gallery- The Scottish National Portrait Gallery -has finally recognised the importance of this artists work by hanging a self portrait.
The stupidities,jealousies and disdain of the so called experte of Edinburgh and Glasgow remain with only one gallery in Kircaldy-his home town-showing his pictures.
The boook is divided into 4 parts,
1987-1993 Tales of love and other stories
1994-1996 The passion and the pain
1997-2000 Lovers and other strangers
2001-2004 Affairs of the heart
All pictures are excellent many demonstrating menace and intense human relations.
It is high time the Scottish galleries mounted a retrospective exhibition of this artists work.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2011
this book is a smaller version of one which I purchased a couple of months ago and I was very disapointed that the pictures were crammed on a much smaller page giving the book less impact perhaps when you advertise the size of the book should be included
22 comments2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2010
I love Jack Vettriano - and I love this book, a true coffee table art book, full of wonderful text and photographs of his work. Really inspirational. You get to see the story behind the paintings, can clearly see the brushwork if you're up to copying or if you want to imitate his style of painting! This is a great book about the man Jack, and the history of his painting. A worthwhile buy, a good present if you have an art lover as a friend and want to spoil them!
This book is picked up regularly by friends and family alike and they drool over these exquisite paintings. A good size book, a great buy and great paintings!!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2006
I have been a Vettriano fan for many years and am delighted at his rise to fame, so this book is a delight to me. I love the rawness of the subjects, the earthiness. Times past-alas. I nice book and it would make a nice gift to someone who is "new" to Vettriano.

Rina
0Comment17 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
This book contains a great collection of Vettriano's most well-known paintings. The quality of the paper and the colour reproduction are excellent, however the layout could be improved, as some of the images are split across the spine of the book.

The book also includes a limited amount of historical information on Vettriano's life, but this does not have a great deal of depth. The book is primarily intended as a collection of Vettriano's paintings however, and so I do not feel that the relative sparseness of information detracts from the book.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2010
My husband and I both Vettriano fans. Some time ago we found this book in a shop and briefly flicked through the pages. Not only were the well known paintings featured by also some, what can only described as risque prints! However, all done with extreme taste. We did not buy the book and have not seen it since until I discovered it through Amazon. I have decided to put this book in with my husband's Christmas present and I know he will be thrilled with it.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.98
£9.98

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Extra 40% Off When You Buy Today! Buy Vettriano Artwork On Sale Now.
  -  
Shop High Quality Prints For Less. Save Big With Our Discount Prices!
  -  
Extra 40% Off When You Buy Today! Shop Jack Vettriano Prints & Canvas