Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars361
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£4.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 August 2013
One of the latest new trends in Hollywood is to take age old fairy tales and turn them into big blustering blockbusters. So far the results have been a little lacklustre. Alice in Wonderland was a hollow, boring example of lazy filmaking and the recent Hanzel and Gretel also hasnt done much to pursuade the general public that all of this is a good idea.

So it is with some pleasure and a little surprise that Jack The Giant Slayer is actually good! Okay, so not a classic by any means and if you want a little brain with your brawn you are definately in the wrong place, but for a bit of fun for a couple of hours you could do a lot worse.

We all know the story of Jack and The Beanstalk so there is no point re-treading old ground. This version takes things a step further by adding a whole array of giants and getting them into a war with the human world.

When Jack's house is lifted into the sky by the fast growing weed taking the kingdom's princess with it, he springs into action. Or, more accurately, climbs into action. He and a bunch of hapless knights head into the clouds to find themselves at the mercy of the giants.

The giants have been waiting a long time for their chance to enter the human world again, so they waste no time in waging war.

The giants themselves are rendered well and given some nice personality traits. If anything it would have been good to spend a little more time with them on their turf, but this film is not about to waste time on bulding character and worlds.

Generally the action is good but a bit more would have been welcome. The final battle starts off great and watching the giants tear apart an army and lay siege on the castle is great fun, but it ends rather suddenly. Just as it feels like it is going to get even bigger it stops, almost as if the money dried up!

Nicholas Hoult and Ewan McGregor are good for the money and seem to be having fun with this. However this is firmly all about the giants and they steal the show. Whilst the film is fun it just felt like there could have been more of everything. If ever a film was screaming for some sort of sequel this woud be it. It would be good to venture back into the giants domain and explore their world a litle further.

For a bit of light fun, this really does the job.
11 comment24 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2015
I saw Jack The Giant Slayer on board a transatlantic flight to the U.S.A two years ago and even in this pan and scan version I thought it was terrific. So when I purchased a 3D tv one of the first Blu-Ray 3D movies I purchased was the above title.

The special effects are vg and even though the story is familiar the alterations to the tale in my humble opinion improve it, and with widescreen and stereoscopic (3D) views it is superb entertainment for all ages.

PS The lead giant (two head) is voiced to my amazement by Bill Nighy who I have always associated with sophisticated smooth roles.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 April 2013
Not one of director Bryan Singer's best films and after a somewhat slow start, Jack The Giant Slayer does turn into a fun family fantasy adventure film with a good cast and impressive effects. The plot is basically the classic fairy tale Jack And The Beanstalk with farm boy Jack trading in a horse for some magic beans which ends up becoming a giant beanstalk after a thunderstorm and Jack climbs up the beanstalk along with a group of knights to rescue a princess and ends up fighting an army of giants. The film is basically a panto on the big screen. The mostly British cast are all good and hamming it up for all its worth and having fun. Nicholas Hoult is good as Jack though it's Ewan Mcgregor who gives the best performance as a knight and Stanley Tucci chews the scenery as a villain you want to boo at and Ian Mcshane is good as the king. The giants look very impressive on screen lead by Bill Nighy and while it might be a bit scary for young children it is a fun film the whole family can enjoy.
0Comment39 of 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
Hollywood loves a well-known IP and especially one that is out of copyright; hence the influx of Bible, Shakespeare etc. films released every few years. Add to this the fairy tale. No one owns the rights to ‘Jack and the Beanstalk’ so you can pretty much do as you wish with it. Bryan Singer has chosen to create an old fashioned feeling adventure film starring Nicholas Hoult called ‘Jack the Giant Slayer’. The movie follows the basic fairy tale; magic beans, giant stalk etc. but adds flesh to the bones by trying to give the characters more depth.

Jack is a country lad looking for adventure and it comes his way one day in the form of Princess Isabelle. She ends up at the top of the beanstalk so Jack goes along with the king’s royal guards to search for her. As a visual feast the film looks great. There is defiantly something magical about CGI used well like it is here. There is a great sense of scale, not only in the height of the beanstalk, but the giants themselves. Although they are obviously animated, it is done well, bringing to life creatures not unlike the BFG, but with a penchant for human flesh.

Where the film is lacking is in clear narrative structure. There is an enthusiasm as the film bounds forwards, but seems to have no clear direction. I liked the characters of Jack and company, but Singer fails to flesh them out like all the characterisation was meant to do. There is a cartoonish feel to ‘Jack the Giant Slayer’ that means it remains empty headed and never becomes anything more than a fairy tale. It lacks the heart, or the laughs, of something like ‘The Princess Bride’ a film is feels like it was trying to emulate. However, despite its flaws the film was perfectly watchable.

The CGI in ‘Jack’ is a little iffy at times, but impressive enough overall that the BluRay should be the option if you get the choice. On the BluRay I saw there was a cumbersome way of accessing some middling behind the scenes featurettes and a gag reel.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 March 2013
I liked this film and together with my 12 years old daughter we spend a nice moment watching it. It is however definitely not recommended to little children, like 11 and younger. This review contains limited SPOILERS.

This retelling of old tale of Jack and the Beanstalk is pretty well done, with many key ingredients of fairy tales well in place. There is a brave and clever farm boy (Jack), a cute and quite likeable damsel in distress, a noble king, his brave knights, a vilainous treacherous scoundrel, powerful magic items, a really REALLY BAD alpha (and beta) giant and a whole batallion of other giants, almost as dangerous as their two-headed leader.

Past the first 10 minutes, the film is rather quick paced and visually it is very pleasant: the sky domain of giants, the giant beanstalks and the mighty royal fortress are really impressive. The desperate fight of royal army against the giants besieging the great royal castle is a particularly well done thing - I certainly appreciated that both humans and giants fight in a rather logical way and human army is definitely not a push-over...

The best character in the film and a scene stealer is Elmont, a sarcastic noble knight commanding royal guard, played very VERY convincingly by Ewan McGregor who seizes this occasion to remind the public, that he once played Obi-wan Kenobi and that after all he killed Darth Maul and General Grievous and defeated and mutilated Darth Vader... Frankly, I almost expected Elmont to finally use his light-saber and I was very surprised when he didn't...

Stanley Tucci who plays the main villain Roderick is another scene stealer, with his quasi Monty Pythonesque style - it is clear he had tons of fun playing in this film. Ewan Bremer, who plays his slightly deranged murderous sidekick Wicke, is another delight to watch.

Compared to those three characters and to all the gallery of giants, both Jack and the Princess seem a little pale - this is the reason I give this film only four stars instead of five.

Children younger than 11 can find this film TOO SCARY, as there are numerous scenes when giants EAT PEOPLE - and even if there is no gore and everything is shown fast and from some distance, the scenes are explicit enough to leave no doubt that a character had just his head and shoulders ripped of the rest of his body and swallowed by a enormous, ugly, very strong, very fast and very agressive monster.

But bottom line, I liked this film and I spend a good moment watching it - and I think I will buy the DVD when it is available. Although not a masterpiece, this is a nice, easy, visually very impressive film.
33 comments21 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
Yes, it's a big blockbuster of a well known fairy tale but it was missing bite and to be honest, I felt the need to skip a few chucks of "character building" at the beginning. At no point was it edge-of-my-seat stuff but at the same time towards the end I did feel it drag me along for the ride. There were also moments of humour which helped loads. If they had played it completely straight, I would have hit the stop button before halfway. Something to watch in the background whilst doing mundane-but-important-tasks.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
A rather simplistic fairy tale about beans (something that has to be consumed by great quantities, irrespective of your likes & dislikes, if your parents are keen on vegetables), giants and treasure, gets a longish updating in this film, involving secret worlds, mythical crowns, nasty conspiracies, valour, love, luck etc. etc. My daughter had enjoyed it considerably, and so did I. Although a bit excessively serious at times, the film is definitely watchable.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
The film has two halves. The first half builds character as it effectively draws parallels between Jack (Nicholas Hoult) and the Princess (Eleanor Tomlinson). It becomes a classic rescue tale. The second half is more akin to a fight scene from LOTR.

The giants are based on the legend of the Titans. Our characters are very stock and the dialouge was dry. The princess who is supposed to be some independent fighter speaks poetically and is lifeless...Kristen Stewart could have done better. The giants reminded me of Orcs and at times they were rather disgusting.

I wonder who this film was for? For adults the plot is rather simple. I can't imagine the background of Giants who eat people and drop the F-bomb (two headed giant near the end) as being suitable for children. PG-13 indicates that is the appeal factor: Tweens and young teens who would indeed rate it 5 stars.

This production is riding the coattails of the successful fairy tale productions that preceded it. It doesn't have a good script. It lacks crisp dialouge. It doesn't have the star appeal. It is for the younger generation who only care about the CG effects for which I will give it 3 stars.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
0Comment6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
Good family film, quite enjoyable for what it is. The 3D bluray version is incredible through surround sound.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
I went to see this in 3D with my son, who worked on the film for around three weeks, only to find he had been edited. I then bought the DVD because of his credit. The story is based around the fable with enhancement by CGI. I did not think the 3D was that good and in some sequences the CGI is a bit 'iffy'. Not a bad film as my grandchildren really enjoyed it. It's worth a look if you haven't seen it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse