£14.00 + £1.26 shipping
In stock. Sold by Andthebeatgoeson

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

JBO: A Perspective 1988-1998

Price: £14.00
Only 1 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Andthebeatgoeson.
3 new from £14.00 13 used from £1.92 1 collectible from £9.99

Frequently Bought Together

JBO: A Perspective 1988-1998 + A Boy's Own Odyssey-Acid House Scrapes & Capers + A Boys Own Odyssey Vol. 2
Price For All Three: £22.00

These items are dispatched from and sold by different sellers.

Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (1 Sep 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Junior Boys Own
  • ASIN: B0000089F5
  • Other Editions: Vinyl
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 53,436 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Disc: 1
1. Everything's Gone Green - New Order
2. Can You Feel It
3. Sinful
4. Raise (63 Steps to Heaven
5. Only Love Can Break Your Heart (Masters At Work Remix) - St. Etienne
6. Loaded - Primal Scream
7. Loaded
8. Bigmouth
9. Song to the Siren
10. Fallen - One Dove
See all 16 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Salome [Zooromancer Remix]
2. Rez.
3. Muzik X Press
4. Human Behaviour [Underworld Mix]
5. My Mercury Mouth
6. Save Us
7. Get Your Hands Off My Man [Fire Island Dub 4 Junior]
8. Peckings
9. Naked and Ashamed
10. Moaner
See all 12 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By wm99 on 26 April 2000
Format: Audio CD
Junior Boys Own is one of the best and most influential record label's in the world from the 1990's and this compilation shows you why. This recording features the label's finest hours and goes beyond that to include not only the tracks that inspired them to set up the label but also famous and groundbreaking remixes by associates of the label.
A quick list of some of the twenty one tracks on the album should convince you of the quality: New Order, Mr Fingers, St Etienne, Primal Scream, The Chemical Brothers, Underworld, Xpress 2, Bjork and the Black Science Orchestra with remixes from Weatherall and Farley and Heller. There is not a single track on here that doesn't inspire or innovate and quite a few are unavailable elsewhere (Underworld's 'Rez' isn't on any of their albums but is possibly their best track).
Awesome and worth buying even if, like me, you've already got many of the tracks on vinyl. It isn't until you hear the music bought together that you realise how good the label is and what a debt we owe them. I can't praise this album highly enough.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By M. J Perez on 9 April 2004
Format: Audio CD
This CD compilation contains the Andy Weatherall remix of "Soon" from My Bloody Valentine - one of his best remixes that he EVER did under his own name (besides his old 'Sabres of Paradise' and "Two Lone Swordsmen" names now...). This was extremely hard to find on the vinyl 12" (that is...before the world of online auctions made all rare vinyl 12" suddenly within our grasp), but here it is in all its CD-easy-to-rip glory.
Besides that this CD includes a neat remix he did for St. Etienne that is NOT on the American cd single for "Only Love can Break you Heart". You have NOT heard this one, believe me. It's much more dubby & plodding ("slo & lo"..as Andy would say). Classic Weatherall sound(s).
The Zooromancer (U2) remix is cool. The Chemical Brothers track is rare for those who never heard their 1st single (it was previously only on 12" vinyl) but it sounds nothing like the Chemical Brothers sound today (back then it was released as the 'Dust Brother'. Production is not so polished, it kinda reminds me of a dancey Meat Beat Manifesto retro track - in a good way!
The other stuff I already had heard / owned / and heard of, but not actually listened to. The Black Science Orchestra track is bumpin: in a Chicago house, garage way. The New Order track (the 1st track on the cd) made me feel like I was in junior high (retro, retro....!!)
Buy this for the Andy remix tracks, it's worth it just for these.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 1 review
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Essential Compilation for any Dance party 8 Feb 1999
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
This compilation is a must have for any rave type party , or for anyone interested in the evolution of rave music in the UK . All fans of Underworld, Andrew Weatherall and the Chemical Brothers will find some interesting lesser known tracks lurking among such staples as Primal Scream's " loaded" , Underworld's "Moaner " , and One Dove's " Fallen " Other standout tracks include New Order's "Everything's Gone Green " , and U2 - "Salome'" , previously unreleased until now .
There is definitely something for everyone on this album , and is guaranteed to get feet tapping at any party.
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category