Start reading It Had to Be You on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

It Had to Be You
 
 

It Had to Be You [Kindle Edition]

Ellie Adams
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (51 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £2.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £4.00 (57%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £2.99  
Paperback £3.85  
Earn a Free Kindle Book
Earn a Free Kindle Book
Buy a Kindle book between now and 31 March and receive a promotional code good for one free Kindle book. Terms and conditions apply. Learn more


Product Description

Review

"LOL-fest tale of a girl who becomes an unwitting online star. Five stars." (Heat Magazine)

Book Description

Have you walked past your true love today? A hilarious and heart-warming modern love story for fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Lindsey Kelk.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1353 KB
  • Print Length: 449 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0552166855
  • Publisher: Transworld Digital (28 Aug 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00HFALCKA
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (51 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #5,577 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Format:Kindle Edition
There are some books you just know are going to be fantastic as soon as you read the opening chapter. It Had to be You is one of those books and dare I say it, it is possibly the funniest book I have read so far this year. Yes it is chick-lit but this is chick-lit at its very best, I loved practically everything about this book and I found very little to fault with it. Previously writing as Jo Carnegie this is the first book from Ellie Adams and I hope it won’t be the last. If she continues writing stories with such fun, quirky characters who provide us with plenty of laugh out loud moments than sooner rather than later Ellie will even be giving Sophie Kinsella a run for her money.

It Had to Be You introduces us to Lizzy Spellman and her two constant friends through thick and thin - Nic and Poppet. Lizzy is at a friend’s fancy dress birthday party dressed as Henry VII. Forced into karaoke, before she knows it she is being dumped in front of numerous people by her boyfriend Justin. Poor Lizzy thought he was going to ask her to move in with him or maybe he might propose marriage. Instead she finds herself being filmed at a humiliating point in her life. But Lizzy is not standing for the brush off and she head-butts Justin leading to instant internet fame. From then on the life of Lizzy Spellman changes for ever.

What’s so likeable about Lizzy is that she is an ordinary girl facing everyday problems which any girl looking for love can relate to. She seemed a real, nice, genuine down-to-earth person who was willing to go out and have a laugh and party with her friends .Yet she experienced low points like many of us. OK she works in P.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review: 'It Had to Be You' by Ellie Adams 3 Sep 2014
Format:Paperback
Lizzy Spellman is having the worst night of her life. While she is expecting an exciting surprise from her boyfriend Justin (him asking her to move in with him or maybe even a proposal, who knows?), she ends up being dumped at a fancy dress party while wearing an uncomfortable Henry VIII costume. And to make matters worse, someone decided to film it all and put the video up on Youtube. It feels like Lizzy’s life is one big mess and her job at a PR company trying to promote all kinds of ridiculous products isn’t making things any better. Then she meets Elliot, who is incredibly rude at first, but who fascinates her at the same time. Lizzy decides he is her new mission in life, but will this new ‘project’ work out the way Lizzy hopes?

Ellie Adams is a pseudonym for author Jo Carnegie, whose novel ‘Party Games’ I read and reviewed last year and loved. As soon as I found out Ellie Adams was actually Jo Carnegie, I immediately got excited and couldn’t wait to read ‘It Had to Be You.’ I was hoping for a wonderful chick lit novel and that’s exactly what I got. I fell in love with this book from the first chapter, mainly because this first chapter has to be one of the most amazing and funny starts to a novel ever. I was straight away taken in by the story and it was incredibly easy to warm to the main character Lizzie, who is realistic, relatable and loveable.

Next to Lizzie, I specifically enjoyed reading about her two best friends Nic and Poppet, who are incredibly different from one another but really added a lot of fun to the story. Then, of course, there’s Elliot; a chick lit novel is not a chick lit novel without an intriguing and handsome man, and Elliot fits that description perfectly.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and brilliant! 21 Sep 2014
By Chloe S "Chick Lit Chloe" TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
Lizzy is dumped in a pretty embarrassing fashion at a birthday party, wearing a rather fetching fancy dress outfit as well. The break-up was filmed by a kind bystander and soon Lizzy is recognised everywhere she goes after the clip goes viral on YouTube. Despite her misfortune, Lizzy is determined to prove that she can find love out there, even when she meets who she thinks is the rudest man she has ever met - TV journalist Elliot. Elliot has a terrible attitude which only fans the flames for Lizzy - she is sure she can show him even the most unlikely people can find love... even controversial YouTube stars!

Ellie Adams is the pen-name for already established chick lit author Jo Carnegie. However, this book is a move away from the usual books she writes, so I can understand why she has chosen a pen-name for this - it would certainly open up her readership more to those who were perhaps not so fond of her raunchier early novels (I did love the Churchminster series myself!). However, this book retains all of Jo's brilliant writing, her humour and whatever it is that makes her books so readable, so there's definitely a big reason to pick up this book! The cover is a nice, bright yellow - not a colour you see much in book covers these days so it's certainly a stand out book.

What I loved about this book was the characters inside it. Lizzy is a funny old character - she is very funny, always getting herself into awkward situations, and copes admirably even when she finds herself to be a YouTube star for her break-up and consequent reaction! She works in P.R., the scenes of which lend themselves to the funniest scenes in the book that honestly had me laughing out loud - how people can advertise these things with a straight face I will never know.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Daughter loved this book
Published 1 month ago by neill
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read
this was a great little book with good story & humour. thoroughly enjoyed it!
can't wait for more by this author!
Published 1 month ago by natalie
5.0 out of 5 stars pure enjoyment
I have wanted to read this book ever since a magazine recommended it.I love Lindsey Kelk,Sophie Kinsella et al and Ellie Adams is right up there with them. Read more
Published 2 months ago by Deb Leigh
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable funny book
Really really enjoyed this book, laugh out loud funny. Just passed it onto my friend for her holiday reading.
Published 2 months ago by Chick Lit fan
5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this book because it felt so real
I really enjoyed this book because it felt so real. Her friends, her family and her life felt like someone I knew. Read more
Published 2 months ago by Carol Clarke
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely a great laugh out loud book
V. Funny! I took this book on holiday, and it was perfect for the beach. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it (I’m not usually a chick-lit kinda person! Read more
Published 2 months ago by Charlotte
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommend for Bridget Jones fans
A Bridget Jones for the YouTube era, properly funny & heartfelt.
Published 2 months ago by Sam H
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
So good
Published 3 months ago by stephanie
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny must read!
Fantastic fun feel-good read. Prepare yourself for laughing out loud! :)
Published 3 months ago by Miss Jessica Webb
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent write by author Ellie Adams (Jo Carnegie)
Couldn't put it down. An excellent write by author Ellie Adams (Jo Carnegie), despite being quite different to previous books she has written. Read more
Published 3 months ago by Sarah thomas
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category