The Invention of Everything Else and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Good See details
Price: £1.78

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading The Invention of Everything Else on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Invention of Everything Else [Paperback]

Samantha Hunt
3.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (53 customer reviews)
RRP: £8.99
Price: £8.46 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10. Details
You Save: £0.53 (6%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Saturday, 29 Nov.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details
‹  Return to Product Overview

Product Description

Review

Page Turners: Paperbacks We Rate `her portrait of Tesla buzzes with vitality'. -- Metro

`a fascinating blend of fact, fiction, history and... science fiction surrounding the weird and wonderful life of Nikola Tesla'
-- Dovegreyreader

Review

`a fascinating blend of fact, fiction, history and... science fiction surrounding the weird and wonderful life of Nikola Tesla'

Book Description

The Invention of Everything Else is a tremendously powerful and moving exploration of human loneliness and isolation, and the opposing powers of emotional and scientific imagination.

From the Back Cover

'A beguiling mix of love, death, pigeons and time travel, it's a gem of a story about the power of imagination' Marie Claire

Louisa is an imaginative and curious chambermaid who, while cleaning rooms at the New Yorker Hotel, stumbles across a man living permanently in room 3327, which he has transformed into a scientific laboratory. Brought together by a shared interest in the pigeons that nest in the hotel, Louisa discovers that the mysterious guest is Nikola Tesla, one of the most brilliant - and most neglected - inventors of the twentieth century.

The Invention of Everything Else charts the relationship of the girl and the genius during the last week of Tesla's life, when sinister forces are closing in on him. However, as well as being an engaging literary mystery, this exceptional novel movingly tells the life story of this extraordinary man and also recounts the heartbreak and redemption of one ordinary family..

'Samantha Hunt is an exciting find - a fresh original voice...a fantastical love story...literary gold... It should appeal to fans of The Time Traveller's Wife and Donna Tartt' Sunday Express

'Intelligent, compassionate...beautifully conjured' Daily Telegraph

'Weird and wonderful debut novel' Red

'Remarkable...Hunt wears her historical and scientific learning lightly' Financial Times

'An ambitious conflation of fact and fiction' New Scientist

'Samantha Hunt's fantasy comes closer than any biography to solving the riddle of Tesla's commercial and personal failings ... The Invention of Everything Else is perfect for nights spent in the wrong hotel, once your travel plans have, as usual, gone subtly awry' Literary Review

About the Author

Samantha Hunt's fiction has been published in the New Yorker and McSweeney's and she is also author of the novel, The Seas. She received the '5 under 35' award from the American National Book Foundation in 2006 and currently teaches writing and bookmaking at the Pratt Institute.
‹  Return to Product Overview