Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars193
3.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 November 2011
I must be honest and say that although I bought this as a gift for a friend I just couldn't resist reading it first - just out of curiosity you understand!

The book is not at all pornographic but well written, humorous, and entertaining. If you watched the TV series starring Billie Piper you will see precisely where the storylines originated.To fully appreciate the book you really need to Google the author to discover her reasons for being a call girl and her life since - maybe one day the subject of another book.

On a chilly winter evening with a glass of wine and a good fire most men will find this book titillating whilst their wives or girlfriends will, at first, dismiss it as "porn" but then avidly read it from cover to cover!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
Dreadful read. Why the French name and dates? Is it meant to add elegance or sexiness to a job that is simply prostitution?

We never get to know the person "Belle de Jour" is as she is too busy boasting about her skills as a whore, which ultimately, makes her an unlikeable character in the book and impossible to warm to. She never mentions her true feelings or shows vulnerability as a woman. In fact she has only male friends, most of whom she has slept with. No female friends at all and she doesn't seem to like other women (bar those she sleeps with of course) judging by the negative manner she speaks of them (borderline spiteful and envious, maybe because they have normal lives). She seems incredibly proud of herself...why, I'll never know. The whole book is unrealistic and attempts to glamourise an industry that is seedy and in which women are sometimes physically harmed or at the very least, emotionally damaged.

None of it was erotic or a turn on as the wording was crude and the sex scenes, boring. There are so many anonymous people (A1, A2, A3, A4) that you dont really know who is being referred to most of the time. Clearly this book was ghostwritten, possibly by a man. I do wonder why there are random words with definitions scattered about, perhaps word count was too low. All in all a waste of time and I do not recommend it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2010
Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed (most of) the book, but having recently read the blog archives, I didn't read much in the book that was new. If you've read the blog, then personally I don't think it's worth the extra money, if you've only watched the show, then you might enjoy it, but as earlier reviewers have said, some of it is a bit more 'hardcore' than what you saw Billie Piper doing on TV.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2010
I have been watching Secret Diary here in the US since it came on the air and couldn't wait to read Belle's book. It isn't available in the United States so ordered it from Amazon UK and I'm so glad I did. I wasn't sure what to expect after reading different reviews and watching the television show, but I was pleasantly surprised. There's no denying this book is extremely sexual, but Belle also adds a look into her own life outside of prostitution. She's honest about her life and that honesty is what makes her book appeal to the average woman. Great read, going to order her other book as soon as I can.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2010
I bought this book because I thought it would a good read, after watching the TV Series with Billie Piper in and interview with real Belle De Jour. I have to admit, I was took back after reading the first chapter, as it certainly not like the TV series at all I was hoping that some of the events in the series would be based from the book...but still entertaining.

Belle has written it like a diary, in bite size pieces which is great if you only have 5 minutes here or there to get a quick read in on a bus etc, but it does get confusing as she addresses four of her ex boyfriend's as A1, A2, A3, and A4 and its very hard to remember which is which. She doesnt use names for people which makes it less memorable, she uses things like "the boy" or "N" or "Ten pence bet", sometimes you have to guess when she talks about some men if its "clients" or if its real life dates when shes not being 'Belle'.

It does jump forward and back a few times and occasionally I have had to turn back the pages to recall on the person she refers to. Other than that, I enjoyed it, and tried reading the odd section every time I had 5 minutes. I will be buying a couple of others, just so I can say I read them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2011
Sex, clothes and the empowered woman. The TV show stimulates the eye with an overindulgent dose of glamour and sultriness for the viewer. The book lives up to Billie Piper's visual pleasure and then some. Belle gives the gory details that the reader obviously wants about each client, each laughable event and also each personal memoir. However it's done in a very exposed way, that brings you closer to the real Belle and allows you to see a vulnerability that isn't always show in the television show. There are no gaps in her experiences and no fear, the book presenting a woman that seems to know her own mind and the fact that she is the user- not the used.

The narrative style is not a far cry from Bridget Jones, each chapter title written monthly in French. Just to add that extra bit of feminine mystique to the character. It's chatty, open and over generous with its lashings of detail and moments of exhaled disgust and giggles. It's fun to read, with the occasional darker side that reminds you that this is a book based on reality and creative chic lit. However it's well worth a lazy afternoon on the sofa, as you delve into something a bit naughty but also a bit nice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
Belle is a great racy read. Some reviewers have criticised it for being disturbing or fictional. Don't agree. In fact, I did find The Sex Myth: Why Everything We're Told is Wrong[mass market] written under her own name and is now on my to buy list.

Very brave to reveal your most intimate thoughts.

Reads in nice chunks.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2005
When I first began reading this book I was a little shocked at how explicit it was, but very soon I couldn't turn the page quickly enough; it felt like I was taking a sneaky look into a good friend's journal and after a few pages I began to feel as though Belle is someone I know well. She writes with great humour and her tongue in cheek style reads in an endearing Brigitte Jones' Diary kind of way. A great read, very enjoyable, light-hearted and compelling.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2011
This book was not what I imagined at all! It was written by an itelligent, sophisticated young woman. Who got into the sex industry simply as a way of paying her bills. She wasn't pushed to do it but couldn't find a job that she really wanted to do!
She is witty, funny and entirely down to earth. The sex scenes (if you like) were not horrific and she didn't go into too much detail about the sex as such and she certainly seems to enjoy her job and thats just what it is to her, a job.
She talks of her everyday life trying to find Mr Right and her day to day life with friends and ex boyfriends quite candidly, which is sometimes more interesting!
I wasn't shocked or offended by her story at all, she came across as the girl next door type girl but with a job in the sex industry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2006
Far from being the biographical account of a victim, this book tells the story of a high class call girl by choice. Detailing Belle's personal relationships, and those with her clients, this unique tale is wickedly written and very funny at times. It provides an upbeat and rare insight into the glamorous and not so glamorous parts of selling sex to wealthy clients with varying strange desires! Not to be missed especially for those wishing to pick up professional tips!
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)