£29.99
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Intermediate Persian: A G... has been added to your Basket
Trade in your item
Get a £7.96
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Intermediate Persian: A Grammar and Workbook (Grammar Workbooks) Paperback – 16 Aug 2013


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
£29.99
£19.90 £29.93
£29.99 FREE Delivery in the UK. Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • When you trade in £15 or more you’ll receive an additional £5 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card for the next time you spend £10 or more.

Frequently Bought Together

Intermediate Persian: A Grammar and Workbook (Grammar Workbooks) + Basic Persian: A Grammar and Workbook (Grammar Workbooks) + Media Persian (Essential Middle Eastern Vocabularies)
Price For All Three: £69.97

Buy the selected items together


Trade In this Item for up to £7.96
Trade in Intermediate Persian: A Grammar and Workbook (Grammar Workbooks) for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £7.96, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Routledge (16 Aug. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0415616557
  • ISBN-13: 978-0415616553
  • Product Dimensions: 22.9 x 15.2 x 1.5 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 143,277 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • See Complete Table of Contents

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

"As with English, there’s a lot more to Persian than meets the eye, or ear. It needs an all-round practitioner to teach the subtleties of this apparently easy but eloquently idiomatic and multidimensional tongue. Saeed Yousef fits the bill: an experienced teacher, a connoisseur of his own and several other languages, and a poet. His book is an essential vade mecum for all who have decided to make Persian their own." John Perry, Professor of Persian (Emeritus), The University of Chicago, USA

"Intermediate Persian: A Grammar and Workbook is an excellent complement to the core texbook in the classroom. Its structure is methodical, the units are easy to navigate, and the explanations are refreshingly low on jargon. The appendices (in particular the appendix that deals with the language of politeness, and the one on the Tehrani colloquial) are a great addition to an already comprehensive grammar." - Dominic Parviz Brookshaw, Stanford University, USA

About the Author

Saeed Yousef is Senior Lecturer of Persian at the University of Chicago, USA. He is also a poet and has published books of literary criticism and translations.

Hayedeh Torabi was a Lecturer of Persian at the University of Chicago, USA. She is a published writer, essayist and translator.


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
0
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I am one of the many readers who loved Routledge's Basic Persian Grammar and Workbook, and was of course pleased to see that the same author would write a second book, this Intermediate Persian Grammar and Workbook. Their first book is a tough act to follow, as it enjoyed rave reviews and more or everybody loved it. Or perhaps not THAT tough, since using the same formula would have been half-way there...

Unfortunately, this book is not as good as the 'Basic Persian'. One thing I (and many others) loved in the first book was that all new words used in a chapter were introduced at the start of the chapter. This great feature is completely absent from this Intermediate grammar, which is a great shame as it lowers the value of it quite a bit.

There are good aspects as well. As in the first book, the grammar explanations are very good and helpful. There are several useful and interesting appendixes, including one on poetic and archaic language, and one on the spoken language of Teheran. The latter appendix could have been a few pages longer, and didn't teach me anything I didn't already know, but it's still a nice feature.

All in all, this is a very good and helpful book, but learners who expect to get the same great formula as in the authors' Basic Persian might still come away a bit disappointed.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Renata on 4 Nov. 2014
Format: Paperback
I was precisely looking for a book directed towards topics rarely covered by most books in the market, which tend to cover only the most basic characteristics of Persian grammar, and i found in this book exactly what I was looking for. Everything is explained thoroughly jargon-free to allow all kind of students to understand all the topics and many pertinent examples are given, the exercises are very useful and the key at the end of the book is very helpful. Also, the appendixes are equally helpful although I expected the taarof chapter to be longer and more detailed. Highly recommended.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 2 reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Good, but not as great as 'Basic Persian' by the same authors 13 Jan. 2014
By Gwilym - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
I am one of the many readers who loved Routledge's Basic Persian Grammar and Workbook, and was of course pleased to see that the same author would write a second book, this Intermediate Persian Grammar and Workbook. Their first book is a tough act to follow, as it enjoyed rave reviews and more or everybody loved it. Or perhaps not THAT tough, since using the same formula would have been half-way there...

Unfortunately, this book is not as good as the 'Basic Persian'. One thing I (and many others) loved in the first book was that all new words used in a chapter were introduced at the start of the chapter. This great feature is completely absent from this Intermediate grammar, which is a great shame as it lowers the value of it quite a bit.

There are good aspects as well. As in the first book, the grammar explanations are very good and helpful. There are several useful and interesting appendixes, including one on poetic and archaic language, and one on the spoken language of Teheran. The latter appendix could have been a few pages longer, and didn't teach me anything I didn't already know, but it's still a nice feature.

All in all, this is a very good and helpful book, but learners who expect to get the same great formula as in the authors' Basic Persian might still come away a bit disappointed.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
does not disappoint 17 Jan. 2014
By S. Lohrens - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
A wonderful book for both reference and practice, teaching very subtle and fine grammatical points at an advanced level. (The 'Basic' volume by the same authors was in fact somewhere between 'basic' and 'intermediate', and I find this volume to be somewhere between 'intermediate' and 'advanced'.)
I am familiar with this "Grammar and Workbook" series that Routledge is publishing for different languages (each with a 'Basic' and an 'Intermediate' volume). Nicely printed and everything jargon-free explained. As in any 'series' of this kind, there must be limitations regarding the number of pages or words allowed by the publisher, and this probably led to dropping one of the good features of the 'Basic' volume, i.e. the word lists at the beginning of each unit. But a comprehensive glossary (56 pages) more than makes up for that: I finally had to learn the order of the letters of Persian alphabet to use the glossary with more ease, and now I even enjoy it.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know


Feedback