Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars27
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 10 May 2014
I wasn't entirely sure whether this would be a good thing to start watching, but it really has been! I am always a little dubious of animated things like this, suffering from either weak stories or clearly being aimed at children. This is neither.

Each episode is one story but there is a theme running through them all which makes the show much more interesting. The animation is very good and visually it looks great streamed in HD. It's also something to see familiar names in the credits.

I am currently watching this with my 10 year and he's enjoying it too. There are occasional questions about what's going on which I think shows it being aimed away from kids (without being unsuitable in content).

For a Batman fan I don't think this will disappoint.

Good on Amazon for bringing this to Prime and allowing UK viewers the opportunity to watch. I will be carrying on and hoping for another season or two.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
Best Batman series ever! At first I was worried that the CGI wouldn't be on a par with the other animated series, but in fact it was excellent with a clean visual feel of the cartoon series. Each adversary is wonderful in their construction. Magpie, a delusional and vicious whack-job to rival any Catwoman. Prof. Pyg & Mr Toad as the upper-class British gents who defend animal rights with twisted and deadly force that's bold and hilarious. Anarchy another whack-job who instigates and aids chaos throughout. Killer-Croc, brutish and true to his Croc form... and finally Deathstroke, the culminating knife-edge story who frankly would have have made an excellent adversary in a feature film (less said about a Bane with a muffled British accent the better!)!!

In short.. CAN'T WAIT FOR SEASON 2!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 February 2015
This is a brilliant interpretation of Batman. It's sort of 90s Batman The Animated Series meets the Nolan/Bale trilogy influences done with modern CGI. I really liked the bold design of it all and the subtle use of lighting is superb. It is set as the early years of his crime fighting and does a great job of using mostly the less obvious bad characters that your average Bat-fan would know combined with stories that follow on from each other while also being mostly viewable as stand alone episodes too. The series has loads of action but no episode ever felt overly rushed. In 20 minutes an episode they fit in a superb balance of character, plot and action. It was great to see Alfred get a more beefed up MI6 history and a strong place in training the young Bruce rather than just being very loyal. The female characters get much more to do with than usual in Batman animation, Katana is a superb sidekick to Batman. Great theme tune too!

WARNING: It is a very violent series as a crime fighting vigilante would be. Do not mistake it as appropriate for young children stick to the Lego or maybe Brave And Bold version for that. This easily earns the PG rating if it has been with actual actors it would be a 12A or 15. The series went with laser guns/weapons but the hand to hand is brutal with the odd head butt, ear slap, knee to the stomach, plenty of kicks/punches/chops/throws, choke holds and even threatening uses of blades all with some crunching sound effects!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
Took some getting used to in the beginning, but just got better as it went along. Great story arc, voice acting, Deathstroke was class! Really hoping WB will produce a second season soon.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
Many cartoon aimed at younger viewers have very poor story line and even weaker story arcs, such as Avengers Assemble the cartoon. This on the other hand has a great story arc that makes this compelling watching not just mindless noises and moving images.

My only minor gripe is what whilst I do enjoy this CGI graphic style, sometimes a little more background detail would be nice .
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
I have really loved these series.... Now, where is season 2... I CANT WAIT!!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
It's amazing. The new take on Alfred as a younger man, and the partnership of Katana rather than the overdone sidekick thing. It's also superb the way the villains develop, particularly Two-Faced. Too bad it's no longer in production.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2015
Wasn't sure about this series, but after watching the first episode I was hooked. Dark and brooding, not bright and cheerful like other Batman cartoons, just the way I like it.

When is series 2 coming out?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
I've really enjoyed this series of cartoons. Who would have thought that a fifty year old like myself would be a fan of cartoons but I am with this. Well worth the time it wastes while watching.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
Definitely worth a watch, especially if you are a batman fan. Good animation and a decent storyline, unusual for the audience it's aimed at.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)