Instinct and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Buy Used
£0.01
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by momox co uk
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Please allow 1-2 weeks for delivery. For DVDs please check region code before ordering.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Instinct Mass Market Paperback – 9 Dec 2010


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback, 9 Dec 2010
£0.01
Available from these sellers.


Product details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 512 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin; Airside ed edition (9 Dec. 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0141046570
  • ISBN-13: 978-0141046570
  • Product Dimensions: 11.1 x 3 x 18.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (21 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 3,704,388 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Ben Kay is an author, blogger and advertising copywriter. His first novel, Instinct, was published in the UK by Penguin on December 9th 2010. His blog at www.ben-kay.com has been described as an acid-tongued commentary on the advertising industry. He was born in London in 1973 and now lives in Primrose Hill with his wife, two kids and two cats.

Product Description

Review

Self-confessed "gore fan' Ben Kay has outdone himself with this new novel.
In a secret underground lab in the South American jungle, scientists have created the most deadly weapon known to mankind. Thousands of genetically modified wasps have been bred as killers and soon they'll be used to take over the world.
A genuinely terrifying, occasionally disturbing read and not one for the faint hearted. Fans of Stephen King and Michael Crichton will lap it up. --News Of The World, December 12, 2010 --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

About the Author

Ben Kay was born in London in 1973. He has worked in advertising as an award-winning copywriter and creative director. Since 2006 his blog, ifthisisablogthenwhatschristmas, has provided an 'acid tongued' commentary on the industry. Instinct is his first novel.

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Penman_101 on 20 Dec. 2010
Format: Paperback
..I would really enjoy this book. And I did. If you're looking for deep and meaningful insight into the human condition and answers to life's larger questions then you may be better off giving Instinct a miss. However, if you're looking for not a little gore, more than a little action and a book that's a fast-paced page-turner then this could well be for you. The scene in which a female character gets eaten, from the feet up, by a giant cockroach was a personal highlight! It's highly entertaining and worth spending some time with.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By N. Davies on 17 Jan. 2011
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This is one of those books where you have to take off your "Serious Literary Critic" hat and just enjoy it for what it is. If you take that approach, you cannot fail to be entertained by what is a damn fine read.

The basic premise is one that's been done many times - man interferes with nature, nature bites back. Yes, it's full of stereotypes, yes there are factual inconsistencies, but this is, after all, a work of fiction. The bottom line is that this is a book that will keep you awake at night - initially because you can't put it down, then again because it will give you nightmares. If you like your gore to be ladled on by the bucket-load, if you like to play the "guess who's going to die next" game, then get this book. I'll be first in line for the film when it - hopefully - gets made.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Simon Veksner on 23 Feb. 2011
Format: Paperback
Signs of a good read:

1. I read the whole book in one sitting. Even skipped dinner.
2. Reminded me of Michael Crichton.
3. Would make a brilliant movie.
4. Lashings of gore.
5. After finishing the book, I went downstairs to get a glass of water, came upon a not-very-large cockroach in the kitchen, and completely freaked out.

Buy it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By dinky on 13 May 2011
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Wow! I really enjoyed this book and sat up until silly o'clock last night to finish it. I have read all the other reviews and while someone with a better knowledge of entomology or the military might find it inaccurate, as an avid reader of all types of fiction my main objective is to be entertained and Instinct definitely did that! My main observation was that this is definitely a Hollywood film in waiting and would make the transition from novel to screenplay easily. It isn't the sort of book I would usually go for; although I have read all of Stephen King's work and can see it would probably appeal to many King fans. There were several `laugh out loud' lines followed by some incredibly graphic gory moments, one in particular made me screw my face up in disgust much to the amusement of the man sitting opposite me on the 08:00 to St Pancras who leant across to ask me what on earth I was reading as my facial expressions were a picture of revulsion! I for one will be looking out for Ben Kay's next offering and of course the movie!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition
Well, this one was interesting. An impulse buy from Tescos of all places (and we all know how prestigious a bookshop Tescos is), i was drawn in by the concept of giant wasps being used as a military weapon. Unfortunately, this subject is barely mentioned, and serves simply as a vehicle for sticking a bunch of forgettable characters inside a Lab with a bunch of oversized insects that fancy some scientist chow. This in itself isn't necessarily a bad premise, it would make an excellent B movie or Crichton novel, but Kay lacks the scientific knowledge to make it even remotley plausible, he just stay with "uh, ok guys. I found some insect miracle grow, lets put into a tactically unfeasible military project".
His plotting comes across as generic at best, and downright silly at worst. For example, there is a point in which two people fall through the same small hole in the floor, but land hundreds of meters apart. The use of giant wasps as a military weapon is poorly justified, but that's not the point, is it? The only reason the book exists is to serve the authors gore fetish, as he under describes or omits nearly every detail necessary to make the story believable, except for the endless scenes of wasps tearing people into Confetti.
And wasps aren't all that there is... realising that he can't keep the reader entertained with any more wasps, he then decides to introduce every single insect that was in his scary bugs book that he had as a kid, and proceeds to give us scenes of each and every one munching another forgettable character.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 15 Jan. 2011
Format: Paperback
An excellent and fast paced read. A little gory in places but that just adds to the horror. I would recommend this to anyone who likes Michael Chrichton. Couldn't help thinking that this would make a really good film.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Dr. D. A. Mackonochie on 11 Jan. 2011
Format: Paperback
I had no idea what to expect.I haven't finished it but felt motivated to write review before the end or even the middle
More please.
Doris
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Janette Warner on 6 Jan. 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
The idea of a book is to sit curled up on the sofa and lose yourself in the story. This book does exactly that. Having read the reviews of some, I guess a good read with a fast pace and decent storyline passed them by.
I thought this was a dam fine read if you let your imagination go off the scale.
Anyone who has seen Starship Troopers will realise that this book is a movie in the making!
Now, where did I leave that bug spray!!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback