Instinct and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Instinct on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Instinct [Paperback]

Ben Kay
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (20 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £2.99  
Paperback £5.92  
Paperback, 9 Dec 2010 --  

Book Description

9 Dec 2010
Hidden in a remote corner of the South American jungle is a clandestine research facility known simply as MEROS. Here, working in laboratories buried a thousand feet underground, military scientists have developed the most astonishing and deadly weapon known to man . . . Meanwhile, on the other side of the globe, a Chinook helicopter lands a highly trained squad of special forces soldiers deep in hostile territory – their mission: to clean up a black-ops killzone. As they enter the cave, they hear the faint buzz of the weapon – like the beating of a thousand pairs of insect wings . . .

Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed


Product details

  • Paperback: 512 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin; Airside ed edition (9 Dec 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0141046570
  • ISBN-13: 978-0141046570
  • Product Dimensions: 11.1 x 3 x 18.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (20 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 2,869,172 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Ben Kay is an author, blogger and advertising copywriter. His first novel, Instinct, was published in the UK by Penguin on December 9th 2010. His blog at www.ben-kay.com has been described as an acid-tongued commentary on the advertising industry. He was born in London in 1973 and now lives in Primrose Hill with his wife, two kids and two cats.

Product Description

Review

Self-confessed "gore fan' Ben Kay has outdone himself with this new novel.
In a secret underground lab in the South American jungle, scientists have created the most deadly weapon known to mankind. Thousands of genetically modified wasps have been bred as killers and soon they'll be used to take over the world.
A genuinely terrifying, occasionally disturbing read and not one for the faint hearted. Fans of Stephen King and Michael Crichton will lap it up. --News Of The World, December 12, 2010 --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

About the Author

Ben Kay was born in London in 1973. He has worked in advertising as an award-winning copywriter and creative director. Since 2006 his blog, ifthisisablogthenwhatschristmas, has provided an 'acid tongued' commentary on the industry. Instinct is his first novel.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instinct told me... 20 Dec 2010
Format:Paperback
..I would really enjoy this book. And I did. If you're looking for deep and meaningful insight into the human condition and answers to life's larger questions then you may be better off giving Instinct a miss. However, if you're looking for not a little gore, more than a little action and a book that's a fast-paced page-turner then this could well be for you. The scene in which a female character gets eaten, from the feet up, by a giant cockroach was a personal highlight! It's highly entertaining and worth spending some time with.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Signs of a good read: 23 Feb 2011
Format:Paperback
Signs of a good read:

1. I read the whole book in one sitting. Even skipped dinner.
2. Reminded me of Michael Crichton.
3. Would make a brilliant movie.
4. Lashings of gore.
5. After finishing the book, I went downstairs to get a glass of water, came upon a not-very-large cockroach in the kitchen, and completely freaked out.

Buy it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely Entertaining 17 Jan 2011
Format:Paperback
This is one of those books where you have to take off your "Serious Literary Critic" hat and just enjoy it for what it is. If you take that approach, you cannot fail to be entertained by what is a damn fine read.

The basic premise is one that's been done many times - man interferes with nature, nature bites back. Yes, it's full of stereotypes, yes there are factual inconsistencies, but this is, after all, a work of fiction. The bottom line is that this is a book that will keep you awake at night - initially because you can't put it down, then again because it will give you nightmares. If you like your gore to be ladled on by the bucket-load, if you like to play the "guess who's going to die next" game, then get this book. I'll be first in line for the film when it - hopefully - gets made.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instinct 15 Jan 2011
Format:Paperback
An excellent and fast paced read. A little gory in places but that just adds to the horror. I would recommend this to anyone who likes Michael Chrichton. Couldn't help thinking that this would make a really good film.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant-can't put it down 11 Jan 2011
Format:Paperback
I had no idea what to expect.I haven't finished it but felt motivated to write review before the end or even the middle
More please.
Doris
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down 13 May 2011
By dinky
Format:Paperback
Wow! I really enjoyed this book and sat up until silly o'clock last night to finish it. I have read all the other reviews and while someone with a better knowledge of entomology or the military might find it inaccurate, as an avid reader of all types of fiction my main objective is to be entertained and Instinct definitely did that! My main observation was that this is definitely a Hollywood film in waiting and would make the transition from novel to screenplay easily. It isn't the sort of book I would usually go for; although I have read all of Stephen King's work and can see it would probably appeal to many King fans. There were several `laugh out loud' lines followed by some incredibly graphic gory moments, one in particular made me screw my face up in disgust much to the amusement of the man sitting opposite me on the 08:00 to St Pancras who leant across to ask me what on earth I was reading as my facial expressions were a picture of revulsion! I for one will be looking out for Ben Kay's next offering and of course the movie!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Format:Kindle Edition
Well, this one was interesting. An impulse buy from Tescos of all places (and we all know how prestigious a bookshop Tescos is), i was drawn in by the concept of giant wasps being used as a military weapon. Unfortunately, this subject is barely mentioned, and serves simply as a vehicle for sticking a bunch of forgettable characters inside a Lab with a bunch of oversized insects that fancy some scientist chow. This in itself isn't necessarily a bad premise, it would make an excellent B movie or Crichton novel, but Kay lacks the scientific knowledge to make it even remotley plausible, he just stay with "uh, ok guys. I found some insect miracle grow, lets put into a tactically unfeasible military project".
His plotting comes across as generic at best, and downright silly at worst. For example, there is a point in which two people fall through the same small hole in the floor, but land hundreds of meters apart. The use of giant wasps as a military weapon is poorly justified, but that's not the point, is it? The only reason the book exists is to serve the authors gore fetish, as he under describes or omits nearly every detail necessary to make the story believable, except for the endless scenes of wasps tearing people into Confetti.
And wasps aren't all that there is... realising that he can't keep the reader entertained with any more wasps, he then decides to introduce every single insect that was in his scary bugs book that he had as a kid, and proceeds to give us scenes of each and every one munching another forgettable character.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Trust your Instinct... 24 Oct 2011
By Moofo
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I purchased this when I bought my Kindle but for some reason I did not read it straight away.
I should have trusted my initial instincts because I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Giant killer wasps on the loose in an underground research facility - and a few surprises along the way also.
Very enjoyable read.....
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Was this review helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback