Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars10
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2012
Brilliant format of letters which can be easily dipped into. Diana Athill was candid, sympathetic and extremely generous in her friendships. I was particularly interested in her reporting of her personal circumstances and relationships. Her work with Andre Deutsch over many years, in publishing, gives an insight into her professional stamina.
Very enjoyable.
0Comment17 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2012
Yet another stunning read from Diana Athill. My admiration just grows and grows. I am fascinated by the way in which she manages to look back at her life in such a dispassionate way, while conveying all the passion that was there at the time. She is truely a role model for how to age with not an ounce of self-pity or too much regret - and someone who inspires me more and more (although I suspect that the very idea of being an inspiration to anyone would horrify her!)
0Comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2012
The letters make for fascinating reading due to the honesty, integrity and self-deprecation of the author. At times sad but also at times made me laugh out loud. I certainly want to read more by Diana as she shows such humanity and humour.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
This compilation of letters gives the reader just a glimpse here and there into the life of an amazingly interesting lady. I'm not normally a fan of biographies but I enjoyed meeting Diana through her letters and have since gone on to read more of her memoirs. Its so interesting being involved in the correspondence of old friends who lead such interesting lives and Diana becomes the perfect companion for long journeys.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
What a remarkable woman and wonderful correspondent. It was a privilege to be let in on her wonderfully warm, witty and observant musings to two obviously dear friends.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
I loved this book as I love her writing, her style, her literary knowlwdge. I was also able to get her to sign it at the OLF, so it makes it very special.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
A credit to the writing skills of Dianna Athill that you only read one side of the correspondence but you feel completely involved.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
I love all of Dianas work she is a natural writer and very engaging at all times very quick and easy to read
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2015
Touching postings from a life well lived for friendship and books
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
I'm sure I'd like it if it was mine. Now you'll tell me I have to put in a ton of extra words, so here they are and this is annoying me, so no more reviews.
0Comment0 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Gather & store special memories in this unique keepsake for friends.