Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars12
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2012
Superb study of racing car transporters in action over more the a century. What makes this book stand out is the atmosphere it evokes - long vanished tracks, long lost drivers and days past when it was possible to mingle with the stars and their cars in the paddock unhindered by the need for electronic passes and bunker-like pit garages.
Author's Cross and Kjer have amassed, in team-by team format, a fantastic photographic record of some wonderful purpose built, home-made and sometimes plain cranky vehicles transporting often supremely exotic( or just wonderfully esoteric) race cars ; Ferraris, Cobras, Maseratis, ERAs, BRMs, Lotus',Bugattis, Auto Unions, Mercedes Benz, Jaguars, Aston Martins and so forth. There are masses of period colour shots and a mix of professional and amateur work that brings the subject, the sport and the atmosphere to life before your eyes.
Hats off to the designers who have resisted the usual temptation to include large single photos over two-page spreads (which is always a mistake as it loses so much of the image!) and to the publishers who have ensured top quality printing on top quality paper and given us a book that looks and feels it's cover price. The only complaint is the unrepresentative cover photo (which is not the one shown on Amazon) and the title which you could easily overlook and which is in any case rather inaccurate as many of the photos are from outside of the paddock itself, at factories, on the road or even on the tracks themselves.But thats a tiny gripe, the book itself is superb.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2012
A great Book that reminds the reader of all the Racing Car & private Entrants that used to fill the Paddock, many would be forgotten if it were not for Books like this. Also provides many atmospheric Shots of Paddocks as they used to be with "Real" people, not the so called Celebrities that haunt the Grids today. Buy It.!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
A well documented book full of interesting detail.

Covers very well an often overlooked and little thought about area of motor sport.

Glad to see some thought given to those unsung heros of the sport, in a very well
documented and interesting book.

Glad I bought it, a very enjoyable read.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2012
I received a copy of this as a gift and what treat it is. I've been fascinated by racing car transporters since I was five and I can trace this interest back to two things; my Dad's Corgi Ecurie Ecosse transporter, and a trip with him in a more modern transporter to the Nurburgring in 1976. Inside The Paddock is wonderful, to gather this many good quality photographs of these vehicles is noteworthy in itself, but the pictures and informative captions also provide a fascinating insight into the working environment of a race meeting. In that way Inside The Paddock is a must for any motor racing enthusiast, especially if you are fond of the golden age of motor racing.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
I think possibly you need to be of a certain age to fully enjoy this book, when one looks around an fi paddock today only on television, thanks to sponcers and money being more important than genuine enthusiasts it makes you long for the old days.
Anyway a great book that will take you back.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
A fascinating read accompanied by a host of interesting photographs, some more noteworthy than others, in all an enjoyable book. I particularly liked the ERA vehicles and the pre war German outfits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
Some odd and unusual transporters along with the more expected. The book gives a look at another side of the racing scene in a very nice layout and with lots of photos never before seen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
I am perhaps biased as one of my transporters appears in the book but I am very impressed with the depth of knowledge expressed by the authors. Their research must have taken years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
This was a birthday present for our son, but a beautiful book with lots of archive photos. He loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
Excellent book. Great photos and informative captions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)