Inquisition and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
Price: 1.77

or
 
   
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Inquisition on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Inquisition [Paperback]

Alfredo Colitto
3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 2.99  
Paperback 5.69  
Paperback, 5 May 2011 --  

Book Description

5 May 2011

In 14th-century Italy, Mondino is a university anatomist - a man of science in a land governed by the brutal Inquisition. But the corpse brought to Mondino's laboratory one stormy night defies natural law: The victim is a Templar knight, and his heart has been transformed into a block of iron.

Is it alchemy? Or the diabolical work of an ingenious killer? Aided by his headstrong student Gerardo - a young man concealing a deadly secret identity - Mondino must outwit both ruthless Inquisitors and vengeful Templars if he's to stop a murderer who threatens to shake the very foundations of Christendom.



Product details

  • Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Sphere (5 May 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1847444784
  • ISBN-13: 978-1847444783
  • Product Dimensions: 15.4 x 23.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 897,068 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Book Description

A masterful thriller for fans of CJ Sansom and Rory Clements.

About the Author

Alfredo Colitto is the author of six novels. He lives in Bologna.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback
A physician autopsies the body of a Templar knight and finds that the man's heart has been turned to iron. And then all hell breaks loose -- it's the time of the Inquisition, and the only thing worse than being a Templar is being a scientist.

This is glorious stuff. I like CJ Sansom and have been looking for another historical fiction writer to read in between Shardlakes, and although I haven't much liked SJ Parris or James Forrester, Inquisition absolutely did it for me. It's smart but fun, full of interesting details about the Inquisition and the science of anatomy, and it's a cracking murder mystery to boot. I read online that the author has written two more books with these characters, and I want to read both.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good historical murder-mystery 27 April 2011
By Keris Nine TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
The Inquisition is an intriguing proposition for fans of historical murder-mystery fiction, written by an Italian author, set during the early Renaissance with the university city of Bologna at the centre, where the whole nasty business of a gruesome killing is mixed up in the affairs of the Knights Templar, the Inquisition and the eternal quest for the secret of alchemy. While the murder-mystery aspect of Inquisition turns out to be fairly conventional however, the period, the setting and the characterisation make the novel much more interesting.

The premise is relatively straightforward - three Knights Templar scattered throughout Europe, in Naples, Cyprus and Toledo, have been sent a letter that piques their interest, the promise of the secret of alchemical transformation waiting for them in Bologna accompanied by a finger that has been turned into iron, but the letter hints at another dark practices. When a victim subsequently turns up in Bologna, his body mutilated, his heart transformed into a solid block of iron, Mondino de Liuzzi, a physician and lecturer at the Bologna School of Medicine becomes involved helping out a young Knight Templar who is in danger of being accused of the crime, a clearly satanic act that is likely to be judged very harshly by the church and its chief Inquisitor in the city, Uberto da Rimini.

The Inquisitor has other reasons for wanting the young Knight Templar convicted of the murder, and it's very much to do with the order falling into disrepute, with its heretical views that threaten the authority of the church during a period when its power is being challenged.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not wild about it 23 Aug 2011
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I had high hopes for this, thought it would be really good, having read a lot of CJ Sansom and the reviews said if you liked CJ, you would like this. It is translated, which makes some of it a bit stilted. Plot line is good. Did not have the real-world grip that Sansom has. I just did not feel like I was immersed in this world, and the main characters lacked development for me. Overall it was okay, but nowhere near the calibre of the Sansom novels.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but not taxing 16 Jun 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
'A brilliant thriller to rival CJ Sansom' says the blurb on the jacket. Well it's not brilliant, it's not very thrilling and I don't think CJ Sansom has any need to worry about this rivalling him. Having said all that, 'Inquisition' is an entertaining, quick read that is enjoyable and a little bit different.

Set in Bologna in the 14th Century and base around themes of alchemy and science, Colitto has linked different concerns adeptly. The central character Mondino is a physician who is determined to progress scientific knowledge, even if that brings him into conflict with the Catholic Church and the Inquisition in particular. The trial of the Templar knights sits in the background whilst the central narrative is about the gruesome deaths of two templars.

It's not a hard read, it's not highbrow but it is good fun.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great holiday read 21 Oct 2012
Format:Paperback
If you like this sort of thing then buy it as it is really one of the better examples of the medieval murder mystery religious conspiracy genre. I agree with just about all the reviews here but still think this is worthy company to CJ et al
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant historical novel 14 Nov 2011
By Keen Reader TOP 100 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I really really really enjoyed this book - I'm always a little bit wary of books translated into English - sometimes they just don't seem to flow as I imagine they would in their native language. But this book, and its translation, really flowed beautifully. The language was perfect.

But even beyond that, the story itself was absolutely brilliant. What a great concept - the mysterious death of a man who appears to have been a Templar, at the time when being a Knight Templar was in itself a dangerous occupation. The novel is set in Bologna, already a city in a region torn by long-standing Ghibelline and Guelph allegiances. More than that, the Church under Pope Clement V and King Philip IV of France are setting up actions against the Templars, and attempting to make those stick across the whole of Europe. The Inquisition in Bologna is keen to do their duty by the Church, particularly under the auspices of the really nasty Uberto. So when Mondino, an anatomist who really just wants to be left alone to work on his medical theories (also a touchy point with the Church at this time), finds himself caught up in conspiracy theories and unsolved mysteries which also seem to involve occult powers, it really becomes a race against so many factors to work out what's going on and why.

The characters are really well-developed in this book - they all stand out from the page, and are well characterised. The story races along - I found myself turning the last 50 pages at the rate of knots, absolutely frantic to find out what was going to happen next. The setting is very evocatively drawn for the reader - medieval Bologna, the Church, the life led by the people in these places at these times - it all rang true, and worked really well - there was nothing that jarred my historical senses at all.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
1.0 out of 5 stars Review of inquisition
I chose this rating because the book kept me captivated right until the end never guessing the real culprit of the crimes being committed. Good page turner and read.
Published 13 months ago by susan bonnett
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok - not as good as CJ Samson
Not as good as CJ Samson...a little on the far fetched side for me.
Still a good 'holiday read' as the Middle Ages atmosphere is well portrayed.
Published 17 months ago by Topolino
4.0 out of 5 stars A misleading title
I was unsure initially whether to award this book a three star or four star rating. In the end I opted for the four star simply because I enjoyed the read and as the book... Read more
Published 18 months ago by Mont Blanc
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting promise but...
it didn't quite fulfil it. A bit rush and childish ending.
I felt left a bit empty and wanting to know more about the fate of the main characters.
Published 18 months ago by Cicvarek
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so great
Good start, and I liked the main character Mondino, but the action scenes weren't page-turners and the love interest was very stilted and cliched. Far from a great read. Read more
Published 22 months ago by C. Harris
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than Dan Brown!
Let's be honest - this is not great literature and you'll probably struggle to remember it in a year's time, but it is a good, rollicking read. Read more
Published on 2 Feb 2012 by Gruber
5.0 out of 5 stars A story that grabs attention
This is an excellent story with interesting characters set in the background of an era of religious intolerance and the persecution of the Templars. Read more
Published on 30 Oct 2011 by Scrivener
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback