Trade in Yours
For a 2.08 Gift Card
Trade in
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Incredibly Strange Films (Re/Search) [Illustrated] [Paperback]

V. Vale , Andrea Juno , V. Vale and Andrea Juno


Available from these sellers.


Trade In this Item for up to 2.08
Trade in Incredibly Strange Films (Re/Search) for an Amazon Gift Card of up to 2.08, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Book Description

1 May 1994 Re/Search
A functional guide to important territory neglected by the film-criticism establishment, spotlighting unhailed directors - Hershell Gordon Lewis, Russ Meyer, Larry Cohen and others - who have been critically consigned to the ghettos of gore and exploitation films. Includes biographies, genre overviews, filmographies, bibliography, an A-Z of film personalities, articles, quotations... All in that inimitable Re-Search style.


Product details


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.8 out of 5 stars  12 reviews
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Life-Changing, for All Fans of Art and Film 10 Sep 1999
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
This book changed my approach to writing, filmmaking, and life itself. It's an extremely unaffected yet affecting tome, which allowed a half-intellectual such as myself the unashamed ability to love the dumb things I love. It's a striking example of how art and entertainment lie in the world of heart, commitment, and sincerity, as much as in the world of craft or ability. Without it I would not have been able to write the filmmaking book I wrote with Lloyd Kaufman, All I Know About Filmmaking I Learned from the Toxic Avenger.
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book offers an intelligent take on a neglected subject. 24 July 1997
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
RESearch's Incredibly Strange Films is an exhaustive and intelligent look at a neglected subject: "weird," low-budget, and exploitation movies, and the folks who make them. This is basically the book that canonized cult directors like Frank Hennenlotter, Herschell Gordon Lewis, Russ Meyer, and Doris Wishman.

Celebrating--and analyzing--genres like Mondo, sexploitation, LSD films, and today's most recently fetishized genre of "educational films," the essays in this book are jubilant and informed. Also provided are a number of interviews with cheese film luminaries like Ted V. Mickels (The Corpse Grinders), Herschell Gordon Lewis (Wizard of Gore), and Larry Cohen (It's Alive!).

Essayists Joe Morton and now-infamous Boyd Rice provide terrific commentary. Haven't you always wanted to read Boyd Rice interviewing Herschell Gordon Lewis about gore and direct mail marketing?

Although the book is a bit out-of-date now (published in 1986), it is still a valuable source of information on these brilliantly bizarre, and often ignored, movies. Everyone from fans to film scholars should check this one out.
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best analyses of a frequently trivialized area of film 26 Aug 2006
By A. Pavlicek - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
It's been a year since I bought this book and read it; I still frequently go back to it. This is one of the best books on the subject of forgotten and low budget films, primarily exploitation. One of the key elements that makes this book stand out is that it does not view the films as a novelty or apply that so over used term "So bad their good." There's a real sincerity, respect, and intelligence regarding the subject, which is unfortunately rare. This book can see beyond the simple aesthetics, most of which are product of budget or lack there of, and get to the meat of what is significant and interesting about these films. The interviews and essays are interesting and intelligent, and the film list in back has yet to disappoint me. This book was able to articulate and intellectualize something I've felt ever since I saw Plan 9 from Outer Space when I was 11 and thought "I must get a copy of this." The Introduction alone is one of the best critiques of cinema I've come across, and I went to film school for two and a half years. A very valuable book in anyone's collection from a frequently fascinating source, Re/Search.
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Better Guide to Strange Films 15 Jan 2003
By Toby Levin - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
This book is an excellent guide to the odd side to film. It really made me enthusiastic about low-budget, high-creativity films. Besides excellent interviews with strange film-makers, it has a great guide to the many genres of strange films and an even more amazing guide to strange film personalities. I recommend this book for anyone, whether a film enthusiast or not, as an excellent way to find good entertainment and great reading.
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars required film school reading 26 Jan 2000
By TJ Karstens - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
As with all the Research Series books, Incredibly Strange Films lavishes the reader with little known information on a marginal subject with great detail. I originally received this book in 1986 and was immediately impressed with the exhaustive research of all our forgotten films as well as the profiles on directors such as H.G. Lewis. It also includes a helpful index (as far as I can remember) that will send you running for the video store. I haven't written a book on films but I know that you need not be a film buff or major to enjoy this book. The photos are reason enough to buy this book.If you don't believe me, just view the cover!
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
Film on the front cover of the book 0 16 Sep 2012
See all discussions...  
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback