Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars36
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 January 2003
This album is amazing. It covers Hip-hop, rock, rare groove, and old soul plus nu. The tracks "Tape You" and "Run to the sun" are my favourites but "Brain" and
"Stay Together" are a close second.
OK, If you've listened to anything produced by NERD (neptunes) previously (its impossible not to have)you will be given the wrong impression by this album. NERD's own style and flavour are slightly different to what they produce as they are producing with the artist in mind. However, if you love the above styles of music and want something different NERD is for you.Listen hard to it, give it some time and you will love it. From a true fan xx
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2002
I was a big fan of the Neptune's production work before I bought the original version of this album, mainly from the strength of Kelis' debut, which was as much their success as it was hers. So when I heard that they were recording their own album, I was quite excited.
On first listen to the album, I was generally quite disappointed - only really Lapdance and Truth or Dare sounded like the sort of stuff they did before. But up on listening more to it, it definitely grew on me more, and I generally find there only to be a couple of duff tunes (Brain and Provider are particular offenders).
I pondered on buying the rereleased and rerecorded version of the album, because some reviews I had read said that they thought the original version was better, but I decided to get it anyway.
One of the first things that struck me when I first listened to this was that it sounded more like a live album - kind of like how Kelis' band sounds live. To me this is what makes the new version better.
The new sounding approach does wonders for Truth or Dare an Am I High, and while it isn't completely noticable on some tracks it still gives them an added bit of dimension.
Would be a 5 star if they had ommitted Brain and Provider, but you can't get everything in life. At least they got rid of the sex noises on Tape You - not that they personally bothered me, but it was embarrassing when I was listening to it and my mum would walk into the room!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2008
You may have noticed that two versions of this album pop up when you type N.E.R.D. into the search engine.

The cheapest and most easily available has a green cover with all of them on it, then there's a version with a photo of shay playing a video game.

I was quite surprised to see that both versions linked to the same customer reviews.

The Shay/videogame cover was the first to be released as a limeted edition (although it didn't sell very well and stayed on the shop shelves for some time). In this version the music is all synthesised. When they completed it they weren't happy with it and wanted to try again. natuarally the record company wasn't so thrilled so they came to the compromise of releasing a limited edition.

This is the version i heard first and fell in love with.

A few months later they released the green cover this time featuring a band called Spymob playing all the instruments - lots of electric guitars.

I found it harder to accept this new version as the songs simply couldn't seem as fresh to me.

but on contemplation i think the green version is probably the better album. but at least two of the songs are better on the original (too much added to the re-release - i'm looking at you rock star, or rock star poser as it's orginally called) and other songs are as good but different.

apart from that the main difference is a different track order and the original has a lot of skits on it, which i've never been a fan of but these one's are quite entertaining - the first time at least.

So buy the green version and if you love it (you really have to love it - the shay video game cover's pricey!) get the original, think of it as a directors cut.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2001
N*E*R*D (No one, Ever, Really, Dies) consist's of 3 members Pharrel Williams, Chad Hugo and Shay Thornton. Pharrel and Chad alone are known as the Neptunes, which today pose as the most successful hip-hop production team ever. Over the last 5 years they have produced songs for the likes of chart toppers (Jay-Z, Mystikal, Backstreet Boys), thuggish hip-hoppers (Noreaga, Ol' Dirty Bastard) and eclectic performers (soulstress Kelis). And just recently finished work with longtime superstars (Janet, Mary J Blige, Babyface, Usher) and alternative ska icons (No Doubt). And thats just the Neptunes. Now introducing N*E*R*D,brings you the great album IN SEARCH OF...This album mixis everything from hard hip-hop beats to black psychedelic pop to classic rock to new wave, it is something completely original and will bring an unforgetable new sound to the music world. So look at the back of some of your old albums to see if the Neptunes produced any of the songs which im sure they did and that alone will make you want the N*E*R*D album. IN SEARCH OF is a clasic and will be known as one of the greats so check it out!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2004
Personally, I think that In Search Of... is probably the best album in recent memory alongside "Black On Both Sides" by Mos Def. The beats are all original, and so are the lyrics and vocal parts. It is an album which cannot be compared to any other albums, as it has its own individual sound. Great tracks are :- The whole album really, but the best of the best are Lapdance, Brain, Provider, Run To The Sun, Tape You, Rock Star, Bobby James and the beautiful Stay Together which is the flagship N*E*R*D song; beautiful vocal, beautiful lyrics and tight beats holding it all together. I have the second version of this album (the green and white cover)and after listening to this i cannot praise N*E*R*D highly enough. If i could i would of given it more than Five Stars!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2003
Usually I keep well away from hip-hop and rap, especially the more commercial side. Most of the best of the genre have either faded (Public Enemy), or tried to cling to former glories (Cypress Hill). Recently, though, groups like The Roots have been going back to the live instrumentation of 70's soul. NERD seem to have caught onto this, and re-recorded their debut album with the help of a live band, giving it a more human feel. Gone are the beats that Neptunes fans are so familiar with, and in is an electric, soulful sound that the original was missing.
Opening with the sleazy funk of 'Lapdance', you'd think NERD were yet another commercial "guns-and-hoes" rap group. Not so, look carefully and it's actually a cleverly made statement on politicians who'd do anything for money. The album is confined to one tune either, although for some reason they do revisit 'Lapdance''s riff on 'Brain', a love song to a partner's mind.
There's the mellow soul storytelling of former single 'Provider', which is one of a few songs which benefits most from the live instrumentation. Then the poppy-love-funk of 'Run To The Sun', another moment which wouldn't seem out of place if it had been released back in the 70s, the backing vocalists complementing Pharrell William's croon.
'Baby Doll' (which was once sublimely covered by political-garage-funk-punk masters The International Noise Conspiracy on their 'Bigger Cages, Longer Chains' EP) sports one of the best basslines on the albums. Oddly enough for someone as hip-hop-orientated as The Neptunes, the best moments on this albums are when they aren't rapping, Pharrell far better at singing than rapping, as he oozes the soul of the golden days of Motown. Further proof is the saddening 6-minute psychedelia of 'Bobby James' or closer 'Stay Together' which sounds like bouncy 70's soul backed by The Beatles' 'Strawberry Fields Forever'. On paper it sounds insane, on record, it's brilliant.
Really, this album is one for fans of The Neptunes (even though as the Amazon reviewer noted they'd probably prefer the original), and people who like the sound of a brilliant modern soul album.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2003
I've always loved Rock music, anything primarily guitar/drum based.. and not a huge fan of 'electronic' music, although i have a fair few pop albums. But i've never brought a rap album before, i like most of the decent singles rap artists bring out, but i find their albums over-produced and full of dead-space.. now i don't know whether to class N.E.R.D as rap artists, i actually don't know if i can class them in one group, and that's what i like about them, they are the bits and pieces i love from hip-hop, all packed into one. I suppose i could sum it up as Rock Rap i can sing along to. It fills me with that adrenaline i get from rock, and the stamina/energy from rap/hip-hop. Most of the tracks do that, and if i could have it my way, i'd like more of the album to be more fast-paced.. but after a few listens the slower tracks have really grown on me, it's one of those albums where i don't feel like skipping at all now! It starts of well with Lapdance, and ends really well with a dance remix of RockStar.. i'm not the biggest fan of dance music, but some stuff i like, and this final track is one of them.. actually one of my fav tracks on the whole CD!!!
I haven't heard the original release, and am curious to see the difference, but i could see how that could be one of those overheavy rap albums i don't like.. this album is pretty darn tight, just needs one or more upbeat tracks, and it would be the ultimate! I'm really looking forward to their next album, if it's even one touch better than this, then it could be one of my desert islands!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2003
I had'nt heard of N-E-R-D until a friend recommended this album and, since buying it, I have'nt stopped playing it.
It's a thoughtful, mature, eclectic mix of rock, dance, r'nb, old skool, you name it. Lyrically brilliant (check out Bobbie James and Tape You), with beautiful vocals and hard tunes, I recommend this album to anyone disillusioned with the current dance/house/rap scene. This so is different and so brilliant. Sheer Brilliance!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2003
As I say not what was expected, but as it goes this album is pretty good! It's kind of more rocky than i thought it would be, but not too much. There's hip-hop of course and the Rap/R'n'B sound to tracks like 'Lapdance' and 'Truth or Dare', but it touches on areas I didn’t know that N.E.R.D. were into, areas that they are pretty good at producing records in. Favourite track has got to be 'Bobby James', a kind of laid back track with Pharrels smooth lyrics running over the top of it. If you buy this album just for 'Bobby James' it will be this the best seven quid you'll ever spend, and the rest of it rocks as well!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2004
undoubtly one of the best albums i have got in my collection the originality of the tracks is amazing all the songs have funky parts which makes u listen and listen i bought this album almost a year ago and im still listening to it because thts how gd it is mi favourite songs are probably lapdance,brain,rockstar,baby doll and bobby james but i like all of the songs tho
but 2 any n.e.r.d fan or neptunes fan this is a must have as it is a beautiful piece of work.
cant wait till there next album!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)