Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars7
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 June 2010
I was introduced to this book by a Spiritual Director who had attended the original expedition during a Lent Course. Having used it for preparation I needed one of my own and sought it out.

I has wonderful pictures and a detailed bibleography of each one including historical perspectives.

Recommended for those who seek to use imagarey in their prayer and spirtual life.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2012
Phaidon's whole series is excellent: Annunciation; Last Supper; Crucifixion; Descent. However, when Phaidon published a new edition of the series, it omitted the 'Descent' volume - why? I had to get a second hand hard cover version of that volume - disappointing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
Our parish priest had put this on display for a weeks and we had to buy our own copy. The reproductions are excellent and the text immensely useful and inspirational. Recommended highly.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2016
This book arrived , as used, by the provider in what can only be described as almost new. The book is copiously illustrated with colour pictures of religious painting (many of which are in the National Gallery) sculpture and artifacts relating to the life of Christ. The varios monographs by the experts are informative and superbly written. Highly recommended for not only art lovers but for those interested in the pictorial representation of our Lord. A real treasure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
An interesting choice of images, some of them quite mesmerizing. Good commentary too. Overall I am very happy with my purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2003
This beautifully presented catalogue accompanied the exhibition at the National Gallery in February - May 2000 and BBC Series presented by the Gallery's Director, Mr Neil McGregor, before he moved to the British Museum. It is a book of great interest and influence in the History of Art, or if one simply enjoys looking at paintings of great beauty. Don't be put off by the religious connotations - I nearly was. If you love art, enjoyed the exhibition or BBC programmes - you'll almost certainly be delighted with this book.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
Purchased as part of a project.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)